8/18 KittenCat AMPS #89

When you get a lower preshot, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20 minutes. Cats usually rise. You are so new I would skip. It does call for a reduction on SLGS. Your new dose is .25. Congrats!
Unfortunately I don't have that option for her weekday AM shot. I have to go to work. Only if I had a hypo incident would I be able to stay home for a while to monitor her. :(
So do I now lower her dose on her PM shot too? Or just the AM? I have scanned the two main methods for dosing so I could get an idea of what I was doing but haven't gone in depth to learn all the rules and guidelines yet.
 
First ear prick! Awesome possum!!

And congrats on the reduction!
Thanks! The ear prick is so much easier as far as the actual poking. It just slides right in and blood comes right out. It is NOT easier however to get her to let me do it. She doesn't really like her ears touched, never has.
I'm excited to get home and test her and see where she's at. My vet will not be as thrilled with the reduction but i already started half dosing her without his blessing and it worked out, so.......
i saw on your spreadsheet that your vet dumped you!!!! OMG!
 
Thanks! The ear prick is so much easier as far as the actual poking. It just slides right in and blood comes right out. It is NOT easier however to get her to let me do it. She doesn't really like her ears touched, never has.
I'm excited to get home and test her and see where she's at. My vet will not be as thrilled with the reduction but i already started half dosing her without his blessing and it worked out, so.......
i saw on your spreadsheet that your vet dumped you!!!! OMG!
Oh KittenCat! Try to touch her ears sometimes without the poke and give her a treat while you do it. Hopefully she will get used to it. Butters didn't like her ears touched, either, but she sure liked getting treats!

I had forgotten I put that incident in my spreadsheet :facepalm:. It was at that moment when I made the commitment to stick with the board. She didn't approve of the TR protocol, but actually broke up with me because she said Butters was too difficult to regulate. Turns out she is just a cat who bounces after experiencing a more normal blood glucose number:). Not really a unique situation.

I think you said it best! He wanted you to dose KittenCat only once per day and it is working out with twice per day:). Most important is that KittenCat is safe and well, and that you are confident with what you are doing. You have a lot of support here and you're doing great!:D
 
My vet will not be as thrilled with the reduction but i already started half dosing her without his blessing and it worked out, so.......

Here's a thought...don't tell him. LOL! I found that it was best if I told the vet that Luci is diabetic - we're here for xyz...yes, I'm treating her with insulin and I keep a log of all her tests - showing them the SS - their eyes usually grow wide! At that point some vets have said WOW! Others have said, call me next week and I'll advise you on changing the dose (up or down)...at which point I respond...uh huh...thanks...and that's the end of that. It's better to leave the other animal health issues to the vet and keep your FD issues here.

This group has proven itself time and time again - more collective experience and wisdom here than I've ever gotten from any vet encounter - E.V.E.R.

You're doing great already for KittenCat! You'll have to teach her that touching her ears isn't the worst thing in the world...my Luci was a regular hellcat when we started...it took two of us to hold on to her and get a test - every single time - she didn't like it one bit and let us know of her displeasure...but I would tell her this is life or death Luci - yours! So get with the program and we'll get this test done...and do you know what? After a while she started to PURR, yes, PURR while I stroked her with the rice ball sock - I always warm it in the microwave and she just fell in love with that sock...and now she gets onto the testing towel and purrs the whole time..but it wasn't that way until after we'd been at it for a few months I think...it was always a struggle before that...

So hang in there...you two will get it!

One other suggestion for you to consider: You might want to think of getting her first test as soon as you get up in the morning - then get your shower, get ready for work, all that - so you can get another test just before leaving. IF you encounter a lower than expected number, you'll have a little cushion of time to wait 20 minutes, then re-test; then proceed with shot or no shot decision.

I know people who get up at 4:30 in the morning to test their cat so there's time for all the shenanigans before leaving for work...it's a process...so having a bit of extra time in the morning for all this FD fun is a lot less stressful than shooting and running out the door...

I hope you'll think about it...

Have a lovely evening!
 
Here's a thought...don't tell him. LOL! I found that it was best if I told the vet that Luci is diabetic - we're here for xyz...yes, I'm treating her with insulin and I keep a log of all her tests - showing them the SS - their eyes usually grow wide! At that point some vets have said WOW! Others have said, call me next week and I'll advise you on changing the dose (up or down)...at which point I respond...uh huh...thanks...and that's the end of that. It's better to leave the other animal health issues to the vet and keep your FD issues here.

This group has proven itself time and time again - more collective experience and wisdom here than I've ever gotten from any vet encounter - E.V.E.R.

You're doing great already for KittenCat! You'll have to teach her that touching her ears isn't the worst thing in the world...my Luci was a regular hellcat when we started...it took two of us to hold on to her and get a test - every single time - she didn't like it one bit and let us know of her displeasure...but I would tell her this is life or death Luci - yours! So get with the program and we'll get this test done...and do you know what? After a while she started to PURR, yes, PURR while I stroked her with the rice ball sock - I always warm it in the microwave and she just fell in love with that sock...and now she gets onto the testing towel and purrs the whole time..but it wasn't that way until after we'd been at it for a few months I think...it was always a struggle before that...

So hang in there...you two will get it!

One other suggestion for you to consider: You might want to think of getting her first test as soon as you get up in the morning - then get your shower, get ready for work, all that - so you can get another test just before leaving. IF you encounter a lower than expected number, you'll have a little cushion of time to wait 20 minutes, then re-test; then proceed with shot or no shot decision.

I know people who get up at 4:30 in the morning to test their cat so there's time for all the shenanigans before leaving for work...it's a process...so having a bit of extra time in the morning for all this FD fun is a lot less stressful than shooting and running out the door...

I hope you'll think about it...

Have a lovely evening!
Haha! i just got a giggle out of your life and death comment. LoL! That's the kind of crap I say to my animals :)
She is getting better about testing and that's actually how I was able to do her ear. She was all hunkered down trying to deter me from getting at her paw but still purring and not running.Just kind of side eyeballing me. So I started playing with her ears to distract her and she was all for it. So I figured that was as good a time as any to attempt an ear prick. Maybe she'll sit still long enough for me to poke her. And she did! Didn't even flinch. I found the treats she likes the most and am stopping to get more on my way home tonight. Your story is encouraging and something to look forward to! yay!

And honestly, I have issues with waking up. Like a little bit of narcolepsy. I shower and do everything the night before because I 100% will not be able to wake up early. I don't even wear makeup or anything because of it. Just trying to get her AMPS test and shot in has been a challenge. I pretty much told my boss and my volunteer coordinator that I'm going to be little late every morning for a while until I get this routine down....... Sounds silly or like I'm joking but it's 100% real and it sucks. I'm doing my best though to make sure she's taken care of :)
 
You are doing a good job. I know it’s hard to go against your vet’s advice. I even briefly had two spreadsheets. One was just for him. He soon stopped giving dosing advice and said I managed Max better than any client he had. That’s thanks to the FDMB.
 
Back
Top