8/18 Crowley || AMPS 310 +2 266 +4 253 PMPS 243 +1.75 244 +4.25 242

Crowley

Member Since 2026
Yesterday

Starting to see some lower numbers! Still yellows, but mid to lows instead of high! I also had to spend all of yesterday bringing my cats to the feeder BUT they managed it at night, so I think they were just trying to drive me insane during the day <3

Still debating switching to TR protocol. I also think I may have started Crowley at the starting dose for TR anyway 😅 So I had been going for .5u and I was like oh, the first line. But no, that's not not how it works. The first line would be 1u, wouldn't it? Can someone confirm I was dumb earlier, ugh. I included a picture below (ignore where the plunger is)
 

Attachments

  • 20260818_135537.jpg
    20260818_135537.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 7
Last edited:
Okay, I've been really dumb, because I've actually been filling it up to like the 0 line. So he's been getting trace amounts. But he's at least he's responding to getting very small amounts of insulin I guess. But I feel incredibly stupid. Also not sure how I should record his prior entries because .5 isn't accurate. Trace? Because he's clearly getting something. I will do a proper .5 dose at am shot.
 
No worries, I'm glad you asked. Once I started using calipers I figured some of my badly marked BD syringes had at least 0.25 units under the zero line. And it's better than misinterpreting and giving him too much. Seen that too. :eek: My vet told me a story of his (now former) tech showing a client how to draw 2 units, but it was actually 20 she showed them. Thankfully cat had acromegaly and needed a high dose and survived. Client asked vet when she went through a vial a lot quicker than she thought she should.

Putting trace in the units cell works, just add an explanation in the Remarks. Good luck with the 0.5 unit dose.
 
Ahhh!! Okay, at least I'm not a vet tech making these errors. But yes, I'd rather go too low than too high.

I definitely want to do more research on calipers at some point, but my basement flooded with sewage like a week before Crowley's DX so it's been kind of a lot. Gotta get things stable here first.

TY for your help! Happy Crowley pic from earlier :)
 

Attachments

  • 20260818_150607.jpg
    20260818_150607.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 4
Some cats are sensitive to small changes, some not. In spite of my girl being on higher doses, she was sensitive to it, so going to calipers made a difference in dose consistency. Plus the BD syringe markings were really off in some bags, so calipers eliminated that issue. And it helped if hubby was the one giving insulin, to make sure we both gave the same dose. Not everyone needs calipers though, and not rush for you at this point.
 
Back
Top