8/18 Charlie PMPS 439 +2 405 +4 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Called the vet yesterday and she said that the urine culture & sensitivity test confirmed that Charlie NO LONGER has an infection! You guys were right. Those "on the spot" urine tests are no good because 3 of them have confirmed that Charlie has leukocytes, and apparently this one says she no longer has leukocytes. The vet agreed that we should increase the dose to 1 unit and keep up the steady progress on getting Charlie's numbers stabilized (or at least trying)!
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie +12 281 shoot or stall?

I would say yes. That value is high enough (above 180) that you don't worry about the drop very much. And 281 is not all that different than the last reading of 310, considering meter variance. It's nice to see better numbers!
Liz
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie +12 281 shoot or stall?

Will you be able to test Charlie today? Looks like the dose increase is working...Do you have test strips, Low carb, med carb, and high carb foods available & possibly karo syrup or honey? This is your hypo kit that everyone of us has in case our kitties should go low at any time ..I just gave Moonie MC as she went to 67 at +5.5-- I looked at your SS and Charlie has been high for quite a bit, so I can understand your concern--
I would shoot and monitor her as you have been...You are doing a good job..This is a safe number to shoot.
 
8/18 Charlie AMPS 392

We'll be around for the first part of the day (next 5 hours or so) and will test and monitor. We have LC and HC food + maple syrup.
Shot her AMPS at 7:30am (30 minutes later than usual) after 2 tests showed her numbers going back up again.
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie +12 281 shoot or stall?

Perfect on the maple syrup and perfect on the foods!! Lantus usually nadirs about +6( lowest point in cycle), so She should be safe--Of Course Every Cat Is Different (ECID)--so they all may have different nadirs, like Moonie's is at about + 4.5-+5, so she has already hit hers..You can see when Charlie's is by looking at the lowest pt. in cycle in her SS over a period of days of monitoring--Have a peaceful night--Hugs from us!
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AMPS 392

Thanks guys. If you look at Charlie's SS, we find it very hard to find the nadir point. Sometimes, like last night, she even seems to have a double dip. In any case, we'll test a few times this morning to get more data. Once she eventually stabilizes, this should become more clear.
Thoughts on when Charlie's nadir might be?
 
Re: BUMP 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 Feed H

Charlie's numbers at +6 are on the low side. Just fed her some LC to start with and will test again in 15 minutes. Or should I be more concerned?
 
Re: BUMP 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 Feed H

58 isn't too too low, and she is just about at nadir, right? I haven't looked at your ss yet, but I will.
You could have just tried some LC first to see if that brought her up.

I think you'll see a rise after the food. Sometimes it takes about 20 minutes or so for the food to affect the BGs, so I'd wait 20 minutes in this instance, since she's not dangerously low.

I'm going back to read your entire post and look at your ss now.
 
Re: BUMP 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 Feed H

I just read through your condo. Do you have to leave, soon? I would make sure she's coming up, before you leave if you are still planning to go. We generally like to see 2 (sometimes 3) rising numbers without food, before telling someone it's safe to go back to bed, or to leave her unmonitored.

Please let us know what her next test number is.
 
8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58 Feed HC

Tested at +6.5 (2:30pm) and she was the exact same (58 in US numbers). She's hiding behind the couch in her normal spot where she goes when she's not at her best, or doesn't want to be disturbed. I will test again in 30 minutes. We were supposed to leave at 3pm, but looks like that may not be happening. We will until we have evidence of rising numbers, like you suggest. Thanks for the feedback.
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58 Fee

What food did you give her and how much?
 
8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58 +7 61

Tuna at each test (small amounts) + Low carb food called "nature's health" lamb. She ate about 1/4th can.
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58

Okay, that sounds good. You don't want her to get too full.

She's surfing a little now, but I think she'll be coming up soon.

She's probably hiding because she's not used to these normal numbers, yet.
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58

If you want, you can add two or more numbers in one square on your spreadsheet. It's easier to see everything at one glance, rather than looking down at the bottom of the spreadsheet for the corresponding comments. See J.D.'s spreadsheet on 01/23 or 03/5 or 04/01 or 04/08 as a few examples. You will have to manually add the color to the square.

I'm glad you do have to leave, right now.
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58+7 6

I would try not feeding her, now, and testing again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58+7 6

Charlie is
sporty41.gif
along nicely. Hopefully, you'll still be able to go out, a little bit later.
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58+7 6

Nice looking surf!!

I think Dyana was suggesting that you stack the numbers in the cell. (Take a look at Gabby's SS as an example.) I also think it's easier to track what you're doing if you put any comments in the Remarks section of your SS vs. a footnote. Your SS is so long that people may not scroll to the bottom.

(FWIW, you may want to use the green smiley face icon rather than the star. We typically use the star for informational posts.)
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58+7 6

Will try to figure out the SS improvements later. Not a lot of time right now, and not even sure I know how to deal with the google version of excel manual entry. Will take a look later. About to do our +7.5 test in 10. Let's keep up the surfing with the surfboard upwards, Charlie!
 
Re: 8/18 Charlie AM392 +2 292 +4 151 +5 88 +6 58 +6.5 58+7 6

Okay, I predict her next test will be 70 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/18CharlieAM392+2 292+4 151+5 88+6 58+6.5 58+7 61+7.5 7

Ah, I was going to say that. Not really :lol: I was going to say 72, but didn't want to be too optimistic. One more rising test without feeding and you can go out. You can even test in 20 minutes, if you're in a hurry. I think she's on her way back up.
 
Re: 8/18CharlieAM392+2 292+4 151+5 88+6 58+6.5 58+7 61+7.5 7

Just caught up on this, I see Charlie girl took a dip in the green pool, glad she leveled out without going to deep. :mrgreen: Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/18CharlieAM392+2 292+4 151+5 88+6 58+6.5 58+7 61+7.5 7

FanTASTic surf there, Charlie! Great stuff. Keep it up!

I'm glad you got the all-clear on the infection-issue, Jill, what a relief! Now all that's left is to get Charlie nice and regulated :mrgreen: Great progress so far!

FYI, this is what stacking numbers in a cell on the SS looks like (in an excerpt from Sienne/Gabby's SS):

524486_10100311988390173_1026756940_n.jpg


Happy Caturday!
Jane
 
Re: 8/18CharlieAM392+2 292+4 151+5 88+6 58+6.5 58+7 61+7.5 7

Great job, Jill and Charlie! What a nice surf! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 8/18CharlieAM392+2 292+4 151+5 88+6 58+6.5 58+7 61+7.5 7

Oooh. What a good day for Charlie!

Surf in the Good numbers, Charlie! Green is a nice color on you! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top