8/17 Tableau Dosing advice requested

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehsuan

Member Since 2011
Hello, everyone. First, thanks so much for the support I've received from all of you over the last few weeks - both to those who've checked in on my posts and all of you who post - I learn so much from reading about you and your cat friends' journeys. It makes this whole process seem doable and not as overwhelming as it initially seemed, so thank you , thank you, thank you!

I'm in a quandray as to what to do with Tableau's dose this coming am at 9 a.m., PST. Technically, this would be his 7th cycle on an increased amount of Lantus. Although, I'm pretty sure one of those was a fur shot, so don't know if technically that's correct. But, I gather from the protocol, that given his numbers (he's definitely had a great response and a nice downward trajectory in his numbers since we increased his dose) we should keep him at the 1.25 for a few more cycles, until a reduction is warranted.

Here's my concern, though... this evening he pretty quickly dropped down to the green. He exhibited signs of a hypo, even though his lowest number was 74 (@ +2.5), at which point I gave him Karo and he shot up to 146. So I don't know how low he would have gone, had I not given him the Karo, and had he reached his nadir around + 4 or +5. So I'm worried about giving him the same dose, knowing that I have to go to work and will not be able to come home and check on him until +4 or +5. I'm worried that he might have a hypo while I'm go. So I'm wondering if I should go ahead and decrease his dose (from 1.25 back to 1 or fat 1) for tomorrow. I hate to interfere with the good progress he's making, but I am worried.

Things are a bit compounded tomorrow as I will not be able to give him his evening dose at his regular time, so I fear we will have to skip it (I usually give it to him at 9 PM but won't be home until midnight.)

Incidentally, we think we determined his strange behavior was due to an appetite stimulant, and not a true hypo, given his numbers ( he never went below 74 and I did check with his backup meter which was within 3 points of his regular meter).

As always, your advice and input is greatly appreciated!
 
The first time you see green, there's this tendency to panic and reach for the Karo! It's hard to know if Tableau would have earned a dose reduction with a fast drop that early in the cycle. Next time, review the starred, sticky note on shooting and handling low numbers.

Some cats do have reactions to appetite stimulants. It's good you sorted that out. Given the fast drop into numbers your cat hasn't seen in a while, it's also possible that did not make him feel good. He'll get used to those lower ranges.

I think there's a good chance Tableau will bounce by AMPS. If so, I think you should be fine shooting the 1.25u. Unfortunately, it's hard to predict where his numbers will be. (Also, is the +4 correct on your SS?)

If you need to skip, you'll skip the shot tonight. Consider it a fur shot.
 
Hi, Sienna.

Thanks for your post. yes, you are right, his amps was high (457) so no worries about the 1.25 this morning.

Yes, the +4 was correct, once I gave him the karo he shot up like a rocket.

Thanks, Sienne. I appreciate your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top