8/17 Reuben AMPS 500+/ +5 473 KETONES OKAY

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Reuben's Condo from Yesterday

KETONE TESTING UPDATE:

The test strips just arrived for my OptiumXceed glucose/ketone meter.

Here is the information that came with the test strips:

Normally, levels of β-OHB are expected to be less than 0.6 mmol/L.
β-OHB levels may increase if a person fasts, exercises vigorously or has diabetes and becomes ill1,3. '

Reuben's Ketones are 0.2 mmol/L

----------------------------------

And this is from the site 'Diabetes.com' talking about how to read the results of the Optium Xceed/Freestyle meter I am using:

'Results are read as:-

Less than 0.6 mmol/L. - Normal

0.6 to 1.5 mmol/L. (moderate) - Contact your healthcare provider, drink plenty of water and keep checking, this can become serious..

Greater than 1.5 mmol/L. (high) - This is serious and you must contact your healthcare provider and stress the urgency of the situation. You are possibly developing ketoacidosis. Give short acting insulin if so advised.

Greater than 3.0 mmol/L. (very high) - Get someone else to take you to the Emergency department of your hospital immediately! Do not drive yourself.'

------------------------------------------------------------------------'

Good Morning All :-)

My meter does not give readings over 500, it only says 'HI' (how intimidating is that!) so I am writing '500+' when I get that reading.

The ketone test strips are sceduled to arrive today, thank heavens! Reuben threw up last night, and his stomach was upset. I gave him grilled chicken bits as treats yesterday, and he couldn`t digest them. He is animated today, sitting outside under the porch swing right now watching the rain.

Good news about the box of supplies for Reuben that was MIA coming from Indiana -- it was returned to the sender as there was an error in the address. So, all is not lost, Yeay!, and it will be re-sent.

Dale: I`m still not sure how to make the transition in conversation from one day to the next, so my answer to your message last night is here Reuben's Condo from Yesterday Thank you :-)
-Alexa & Reuben
 
Re: 8/17 Reuben AMPS 500+

Hi Alexa,
Sorry Reuben is HI today, I know its distressing and I hope he comes down soon.
Nice job making the link to your last condo, see we learn something new every day. :smile:
Most people start a new condo with their AMPS for the date, whatever time of day that is for them. That keeps each condo from getting too long. The link to the last condo is handy especially if people were up late in the wee hours the night before.
Glad your supplies are coming soon, I know you will feel better when you can test his ketones.
Hope you and Reuben have a great day!
 
Re: 8/17 Reuben AMPS 500+

It looks like you're still adjusting shot times. If Reuben's numbers are high, you can move shot time by an hour. I would get a test at +11 and if he's in the 400s or above, give the shot.

Also, I would encourage you to raise Reuben's dose. He's been at 1.0u for 6.5 days (13 cycles). That is sufficient time for the depot to form. I'd increase to 1.5u. HOWEVER, you need to start getting at least one spot check during the PM cycle.
 
Woot! the meter came and I can stop worrying about the ketones now! what the vet said about under 0.6 being normal is upheld by the information supplied with the meter, and from the diabetes site. Reuben is at 0.2! - (down from 0.5 on the day the vet tested him). so, onward and upward :-). I feel like today a new phase has begun in this process; with the ketone issue resolved, the peeing outside of the box resolved, the throwing up hopefully helped if not basically resolved by feeding on a schedule and giving him metoclopramide before each meal - (it helps his digestion), testing on an empty stomach, the impending increased dosage and testing at night. Did I leave anything out? haha, this seems like enough good news to do a little dance about!

Leslie - Re: the condo links... so i just answer messages from the previous day (if i`m answering late) on the new day's condo, and people know to look for them there? Sorry, I know this is reallly 'message board 101' stuff!

Sienne - Should I wait until the AM shot to increase the dose, or can I start tonight as long as I do a test during the night? The time adjustment will only be by half an hour, if that makes any difference.

Dale - Thank you so much for taking the time to explain everything, and after loosing the first draft too - argh! you are so kind! And your kind words letting me know that I am doing okay with everything are going a long way :-) So, I started today feeding him meals about 2.5 or 3 hours apart. I will feed him 2 hours before the pre shot test , and then right before the shot. Actually, he is usually eating AS I am giving him the shot, as it makes him less interested by what I am doing :-) I am very interested to see the BG tests without food.
 
Hi Alexa,

You are doing so well! Pat yourself on the back. :-D Reuben is going to do just fine.

You can do your dose increase at night if you test but I don't recommend it unless you expect to stay awake for the first 6 hours at least and test often. The problem is you don't have a lot of data yet and don't really know when he will go low. I have a lot of data with Racci and know her cycles very well and still don't do increases at night, only decreases.

I'm glad your supplies arrived and you were able to test for ketones! You should test periodically a couple of times a week, more if he's not feeling well and in the case of pancreatitis or just getting over it, everyday and whenever he seems off.

Don't pay too much attention to the high on the meter. It's made for a human and a human would be really high at 300 yet for a cat that really isn't that high. No matter how you look at it 500+ is no fun, but it's not as seriously high as it seems from them not even measuring it.

Melanie & Racci
 
Hi Alexa, Glad no worries about ketones! You are doing a great job figuring stuff out and taking care of Reuben!
Message board 101 is funny, I just joined my self last month and this is my first message board too, I am slowly figuring it out. When we do something that is a problem dont worry someone finds a way to let us know. Today I decided to try to visit all the condos and look at spreadsheets, think I got to maybe half of them. I diid look for todays date to figure out which ones were the latest. The norm is one condo per day per cat, people here are in all different time zones, you may be up all night, you decide when its the next day for you.
Have a great evening!
 
I'm very happy you got your ketone test strips and that the reading is so low. I have no reason to believe the reading you got is dangerous for a cat vs. a human, but it might be something you can look into tomorrow if you are the worry wart type. (Can you tell I am? ;-)) For now, I'm thrilled that you got a reading, and you know it's very low. That's great. Most of us don't have that option with our meters, and we have to wait to catch pee. Fun! Fun!

What's most important is how the cat is acting, as always, and it sounds good! I second the suggestion that you wait until morning to increase the dose unless you will be gone all day tomorrow, and you can stay up half the night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top