8/17 MORON HAD SEIZURE

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgriffith

Member Since 2012
Hello,
Here is what is going on. Moron has had problems with food forever it seems. I recently found Primal raw turkey and he eats it.
His poop is finally firm.
He seems to have a problem with something in processing rather that the protein itself.
Well stupid me I did not reduce his insulin and have not be able to do a curve. I feel awful. So this morning he seized
at +8.5 and gave Karo and he ate gravy FF. I tested him after he finished his food +9 in was 296 His SS will not show the last few cycles because I forgot to grab his meter before leaving for work:(. I fed him again at PS TIME and left some frozen raw to thaw for him, but skipped his shot. He was in the 400's
He obviously needs a decrease but how much? I do not post here regularly like most caregivers because I have no internet service at home only work. I do appreciate any help. Thanks, Jill
 
Oh, dear, poor Moron and poor you. (((Jill))) Do you think the seizure was a hypoglycemic episode? What did he do? It will be hard for the dosing experts without the recent data.
Liz
 
Liz's point is on target. Do you have any idea if the seizure was due to low numbers or some other medical issue?

Raw is not zero carbs -- many varieties run about 4%. Many of us have switched to raw food (and back) and have not had numbers plummet when feeding raw or jump way high when going back to canned. It does look like Moron's numbers were coming down. Obviously, you don't know how much they came down since you don't have test data on your SS. I'm not sure what to tell you without data. If this was due to hypoglycemia, Moron may be very sensitive to insulin for a few days. From what you said, his numbers have been high today. I would probably reduce the dose to 0.25u but I'm guessing here.

Is there anyone who you know and trust that you can have post for you and help you update your SS. If you can have them post for you and update your SS, that will help. I also cannot emphasize strongly enough that this is exactly why it is important to get spot checks when you can.

I would suggest getting Moron checked by your vet. Seizures can occur for any number of reasons that have nothing to do with blood glucose levels.
 
I will post Aug 16th-18th tonite on SS if I am able to get some WIFI.
I have a vet appoint for Monday. I will give just .25 until then. Thanks so much, Jill
 
I am bringing him to a different vet on Monday. I am not going to give him any insulin at all until then.This was recommended by my new vet. I am going to test him still. I feel like such an idiot!!!! grr_red
 
Hi Jill. So, if you're going to do what your new vet told you and stop giving him his insulin, then I would be testing for ketones every chance you can get, at least once a day, and I would be watching how Moron acts, eats, and feels.

We'll be checking for your updated spreadsheet later tonight. Hope everything goes well for you, but please be careful.
 
(((jill))) sending you and moron the best wishes! when you see a preshot of 65 (8/9) you do have to wonder how low he went in the night before that.

i hope the trial is just what moron needs & he feels better right away. many hugs!
 
Hi. I have no advice for you, but just want to provide my support. That must have been very upsetting for you, but I'm so happy that you were able to take care of it with Karo!
 
Jill

I have to agree on several points but one thing that really concerns me is the vet not seeing him until Monday. While it is very difficult to say if this was a hypo incident, that kind of rise in 30 minutes from karo seems awfully quick unless he was already on the way up. Did you see him have the seizure? Did he act like anything might be wrong with his eyesight?

I'm asking these questions because many things can cause seizures and some, like high blood pressure, should not wait to be checked. If there is any way you could get him to a vet tomorrow and have his BP checked, I think it would be well worth it. I don't know what vets there charge for it but mine charges $15 and when she detected it in my Gus, she immediately put him on amlodipine and his BP has been normal since.

Hope he will be ok...I'm sure you are very scared and worried. And Dyana is right on target that if you don't want to give him any insulin, you should be checking ketones. I think giving him a small, token dose of insulin as Sienne suggested would be prudent as long as you test and watch him closely.
 
His seizure woke me up. It was at 7 am . +8.5. I saw him while he was seizuring but not before. I gave him Karo plus canned food with gravy.
I no longer am feeding canned. Only raw. He has diarrhea on every brand except raw. I will ask for Blood pressure test and I will test for Ketones too.
Thanks for all the help and kind words, Jill
 
I agree with the others here--I would take him to an ER vet tomorrow, as you do not know what really caused the seizure & you Dont ant him to have another!! Please try to see if he can be seen..Not sure the new vet has the experience with FD cats,so I would check with another--Sending Healing Vines to Moron ands hope he will be well-Hugs from Us!
 
Just popping in to let you know you've got other eyes on you in addition to those posting. Sending you my best for Moron's care.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top