8/17 Jasper PMPS 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leslie and Jasper

Member Since 2012
yesterday
Jasper seems to be holding this dose and staying steady in the green, so far so good! :-D Naturally we are looking forward to starting OTJ trial, I would like to start trial this weekend when we are both around and ensure we complete the trial with time to prepare for our cat sitter for our Sept vacation. Jasper was diagnosed after our last vacation and our sitter has not tested him or given him shots and she is willing but we are not sure how that would go.

Assuming Jasper does not go low to push the button himself this time, what is "enough" cycles to be reasonably confident we are seeing the effects of the current 0.1u dose? Any other criteria or guidance or suggested reading to start OTJ trial? What do the experienced folks here think about starting Jasper OTJ this weekend, do you think we are ready? Thanks in advance for advice and wisdom.
Have a great day all!
Leslie
 
Re: 8/17 Jasper AMPS 72, start OTJ trial this weekend?

Exciting stuff, Leslie!!

Okay, now about the OTJ trial. Generally, we advise that an FD cat be given insulin as long is it is safe to do so, because that way, the pancreas gets the maximum possible amount of time to heal and recover, wherever possible. Jasper has shown a definite readiness to dip into the 40s when he's ready for a reduction. I know his SS shows a couple of BGs in the 40s on the 0.1u dose, but that (on the 14th of August) was, I would say, still action from the 0.25u dose.

I understand completely how excited and eager you are to start Jasper's trial. But personally, I would give it just a little longer. I would want to give Jasper the best possible chance of a successful trial.

I'm sure the others will weigh in. This is my two cents' worth. Hope it helps.

You're soooooo close! Amazing stuff!
Jane
 
Re: 8/17 Jasper AMPS 72, start OTJ trial this weekend?

Nice AMPS for Jasper! No advice here. I just wanted to stop by and tell you how good Jasper is looking and I hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 8/17 Jasper AMPS 72, start OTJ trial this weekend?

Jasper should be at the current dose for 7 days -- unless Jasper dictates otherwise.
 
Re: 8/17 Jasper AMPS 72, start OTJ trial this weekend?

What beautiful GREEN numbers Jasper is getting!
They look so beautiufl on his SS!!
Keep up the great work Jasper... :thumbup
 
Re: 8/17 Jasper AMPS 72, +2 66

Thanks for the input! If things stay on track, we will plan to start his OTJ trial after 7 days at this dose so pm Tuesday unless His Catness decides otherwise.
 
Re: 8/17 Jasper AMPS 72, +2 66, +4 62

So close - so close... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Steady now Jasper, your bean has the most wonderful ideas for your OTJ party.

And we all know how you LOVE a good party. Okay, WE all love a good party too and are looking forward to yours!!

Shai
 
Re: 8/17 Jasper AMPS 72, +2 66, +4 62, +6 69, +9 67

Nice green surf for Jasper today. Good luck on starting the OTJ trial soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top