? 8/17 Ivy AMPS 400, + 3 273, + 7 222, PMPS 267, +3.5 164 Night Drops - Ideas?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-221-5-196-dose-question.280508/#post-3095005

Ivy is having nightly drops in PM Cycles daily, lately.

Drops begin around +1.
I am feeding small snacks from +1,2,3, 4, (even through +6). Sometimes I need to feed every 30 minutes in the first 3+ hours of cycle.
If her regular 1-2 tsp 12% MC lamb homemade diet won't bring her up (usually won't) I will add a 1/2 to 1 tsp of FF 15% MC to try to SLOW the dives. (that will usually give a small boost, short lasting).
She's not carb sensitive.

She usually will boost up around PM +4 to +5, then I can finally get sleep around 11pm to 12 am. Most times it's a high bounce up that follows the drops.

Then her next AM cycle will be a higher AMPS, and she will begin another drop around AMPS +3. I am also giving small regular diet snacks at AM +1,2,3, sometimes +4. If needed if she's dropping, and will add a tsp of FF mc gravy lovers 15% to try to SLOW the dives. She then steadies and surfs around +5.

Am I missing anything I should be doing other than feeding the curve constantly with small snacks?

I'm afraid to go out in the evenings, since she require so much constant small meals if dropping. I do use an auto feeder, but many times she requires more snacks than the auto feeder is set up for.

Thanks for any other ideas you may have.
 
Including below graph for reference of the steep drops. It’s about the steep drops and that I’m having to keep boosting her up so she doesn’t go too, low too fast.
I understand we want her in lower numbers, it’s just the speed that she constantly drops that mostly concerns me.
upload_2023-8-17_14-21-9.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-17_14-21-9.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-17_14-21-9.jpeg
    21.2 KB · Views: 115
Cats are often lower at night. That wasn’t too low anc came back up. Maybe Libre error.
The only reason she didn’t get too low was that I was feeding her every 30 minutes for several hours.
It wasn’t a Libre error. The same pattern happens each pm cycle. (And some am cycles, same pattern).
I just showed the graph to illustrate how sharp the drops are. (They are typical of Ivy’s fast drops).

I’m still trying to understand how to tame these steep fast drops.

Is there anything else I can do other than constantly feeding her for hours on end?
 
Get rid of the Libre? I’m joking of course. seriously the insulin is doing what it’s supposed to do. Sorry but I just don’t see anything abnormal. The following hour her bg was up about 100 points. Normal bg is 50-100 for a non diabetic cat.
 
Get rid of the Libre? I’m joking of course. seriously the insulin is doing what it’s supposed to do. Sorry but I just don’t see anything abnormal. The following hour her bg was up about 100 points. Normal bg is 50-100 for a non diabetic cat.
I’m not getting it then (for sure). she went from 306 pmps to 119 at + 4, but I had to feed her every 30 minutes along the way to prevent going very low all at one steep drop (had I not intervened with carbs the whole time).
How is that considered normal? Am I just supposed to let her drop all the way to possible hypo numbers and not feed carbs to try to slow her drop?
 
I see she only went down to 119. That’s with the Libre and it reads lower. Some cats have a big drop and then stop. I don’t know how to help you. Maybe somebody else can.
 
I see she only went down to 119. That’s with the Libre and it reads lower. Some cats have a big drop and then stop. I don’t know how to help you. Maybe somebody else can.
Sad face.
She doesn’t seem to stop the drop on her own.
Is there anyone you can think of who may have a suggestion? I appreciate your trying to help, Elise.
 
Some cats just like to dive! Feeding the curve is what works for most eventually and getting them to stay longer in more normal bg. It’s easier with TR because reductions are taken if under 50 so you dint need to take as many reductions. I used to call it a night if Max was over 100 and later if over 60-70. I never used a Libre. I think it gives too much information. She might drop but go right back up. I was a testaholic but I think too much information is alarming you. If nobody is responding to your condo I guess nobody has any other suggestions.
 
Some cats just like to dive! Feeding the curve is what works for most eventually and getting them to stay longer in more normal bg. It’s easier with TR because reductions are taken if under 50 so you dint need to take as many reductions. I used to call it a night if Max was over 100 and later if over 60-70. I never used a Libre. I think it gives too much information. She might drop but go right back up. I was a testaholic but I think too much information is alarming you. If nobody is responding to your condo I guess nobody has any other suggestions.
You were very brave, but I guess you knew Max was not going to drop further.
Thank you again for trying to help me.
 
One last thought is the only way to know a cat won’t drop is to experiment. You have the tools should it happen.
 
I think what Elise is saying is that you have the tools to bring her up if necessary (mc and hc and karo etc) so maybe see what her numbers do without bumping her up with carbs (or try with less than usual…experiment). See how low she goes without or with less intervention, but monitor closely in case she does in fact go too low. Hopefully someone will correct me if I misunderstood!
‘I know it can be intimidating and scary. Good luck!
 
I think what Elise is saying is that you have the tools to bring her up if necessary (mc and hc and karo etc) so maybe see what her numbers do without bumping her up with carbs (or try with less than usual…experiment). See how low she goes without or with less intervention, but monitor closely in case she does in fact go too low. Hopefully someone will correct me if I misunderstood!
‘I know it can be intimidating and scary. Good luck!
Thanks, Amy.
Scary for sure. Constantly trying to tweak the process. Don’t feel like I’m making any progress for her.
 
Back
Top