? 8/17 Dexter M AMPS 68 +1 84 +3.5 67 +6 76 +9 129 PMPS 122 +2 94 +7 118

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
I tested him ~5.5 hours ago and he was still high @154.

This was with a shot of 0.25u. We skipped this shot for now, coming and asking for advice.
 
He ate before that after the PMPS test. ~12 hours.
When on insulin, he needs to eat small meals through the cycle - rather than 2 large meals twice a day. They can drop without food.
Do you think you can feed at PS, +2, +4, +6 or similar? Some people do PS, +3, +6.

His BG tends to go up and down quite unpredictably. But we have had too many variables in the last week, so it's hard to pin it down to any one thing.

See how he does today. Maybe go down to 0.10U. But if you give insulin, you will need to stagger his meals.
 
When on insulin, he needs to eat small meals through the cycle - rather than 2 large meals twice a day. They can drop without food.
Do you think you can feed at PS, +2, +4, +6 or similar? Some people do PS, +3, +6.

His BG tends to go up and down quite unpredictably. But we have had too many variables in the last week, so it's hard to pin it down to any one thing.

See how he does today. Maybe go down to 0.10U. But if you give insulin, you will need to stagger his meals.

Do you have an auto feeder?

Didn't know that was a requirement, thought it was just a suggestion.

I can't do +3s I don't think, I have an auto feeder and might be able to do it twice instead of once every 12 hours.
 
Didn't know that was a requirement, thought it was just a suggestion.

I can't do +3s I don't think, I have an auto feeder and might be able to do it twice instead of once every 12 hours.
It’s like a requirement but makes it possible to feed mini meals when you aren’t home or are sleeping. Many use the PetSafe 5. It can be programmed. Amazon sells as well as pet stores.
 
Didn't know that was a requirement, thought it was just a suggestion.

I can't do +3s I don't think, I have an auto feeder and might be able to do it twice instead of once every 12 hours.

For some cats "feeding the curve" makes a big difference to managing the numbers. I'm not saying Dexter is such a cat. We don't know his behaviour on insulin yet.

I think he would benefit from a couple of meals between the pre-shot meals. The meal times are not set in stone.
 
It’s like a requirement but makes it possible to feed mini meals when you aren’t home or are sleeping. Many use the PetSafe 5. It can be programmed. Amazon sells as well as pet stores.

Oh, no, I meant feeding more often than every 12 hours.

I have a hopper-fed auto feeder that can split up meals and dispense them however often I want (dry kibble) but only goes as low as 1/8th cup I believe.

That'd mean 1/8th cup every 6 hours. Probably still better than 1/4th every 12.
 
For some cats "feeding the curve" makes a big difference to managing the numbers. I'm not saying Dexter is such a cat. We don't know his behaviour on insulin yet.

I think he would benefit from a couple of meals between the pre-shot meals. The meal times are not set in stone.

He seems to jump up consistently around ~6 hours in. Maybe his body runs low on glucose and starts pulling it?

All theories right now, but I'll set up the feeder and slightly overfeed him today giving 1/8th cup every 6 hours.
 
Feed him at shot time, then 2-3 hours later. If you wake up to grab a test, feed a little then.
Same for the day - feed a little when you test.

My only issue doing that long-term is I can't be at home with him as I'm starting work again soon and my fiancé has started working away from home again more often. I'll try it for the next few weeks and see how it goes.
 
All theories right now, but I'll set up the feeder and slightly overfeed him today giving 1/8th cup every 6 hours.
Yup. Right now we don't have enough data. All I'm saying is he will need more than 2 meals a day. Feed when you can. :-)

We also ask people who are on low doses and close to OTJ trials to feed at +9 to see if that brings down the PS.
 
Feed him at shot time, then 2-3 hours later. If you wake up to grab a test, feed a little then.
Same for the day - feed a little when you test.

Should he be shot this morning? I know 68 isn't terribly low but considering how much he dropped on it, I'm curious.
 
Should he be shot this morning? I know 68 isn't terribly low but considering how much he dropped on it, I'm curious.
How long is it since his shot was due? You would have to shoot not sooner than 11.5 hours tonight if you shoot now. Does your schedule allow that?
 
Not much of a bump even after food. PS below 90 is a skip with SLGS. Try 0.10U tonight if he is high enough to shoot.

I'm under the impression he got into something high-carb yesterday and spiked himself lol. I do my best to clean up everything before we go to bed but crumbs are his specialty.

Good to know about skipping under 90, I thought it was only under 50. 75 is a reduction, right? Thank you again for the advice. Hopefully Bandit gets under full control.

Maybe his issue is literally he needs to be fed more often instead of big meals. This is such a learning curve even my fiancé gets lost when I'm typing stats and asking questions & stuff out here. She told me to go back to bed because he wasn't too low this morning, not realizing that giant of a drop isn't normal I guess lol.
 
We gave a very tiny dose, the end of the plunger JUST over the first line. I don't know how much to monitor past this point tonight, as I'm exhausted from dealing with this all day everyday.

Should we do a +2 or just test in the morning?
 
Yes, please test and feed at +2.

Hang in there. He is doing much better than most newly diagnosed cats. Fingers crossed that you won't have to do this for very long.

I know and appreciate that he is pretty well regulated, just frustrated because he causes some of his own problems as well. He literally stopped eating his food, walked into our room and pushed the other cat out of the way, and ate his food.

He had food leftover after the incident but he's proud of himself.

Little did he know I took that food and put it up plus ~ a TBSP extra for Sofi lol.
 
Back
Top