8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122;+3.5 127;+4 139;+5 137 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/15/11

Since we waited last night AND shot the new reduced dose (maybe not the best decision to shoot new reduced dose and stall) it was a pink end to that cycle and a pink start to this one. And then, he also ate lots of HC yesterday. Oh, and he's a cat. I'm hoping he doesn't jump the express elevator today. After yesterday's fest, a poke break is needed by all!

Yesterday's summary
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any
+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%
+10 102, 2 semi soft treats - not interested in HC food, probably full!
+11 112, no food
PMBG +12 117, no food, will wait an hour.
+13 116, freeze dried chicken, didn't think we would shoot, but FDCK has not affected his BG before
+13.5 - PMPS 134, 1st cycle at new earned reduction s1.5, fed 2t. 13% carbs
+1 143, ate 3t. 13%
+2 146, ate 2t. 13%
+3 149, ate 2t. 15%
+4 200, ate 2t. 17%, left out 2t. 13% at bedtime
+9 334, had eaten food left out
+11.5 349

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 349, 2nd cycle at s1.5u, ate 2t 11%

Since he was up in the pinks this morning, I shot 25 minutes early to help get us back on schedule.

Hope everyone has a good Monday in LL!
 
Re: 8/16 Zener AMPS 349;+2 298 A Trak

Okey dokey, down we go. Since Zener has dropped 50 since his AMPS, I'll get a +3 and see how things look. Gave him a little 13% MC food to see if we can avoid the express elevator to the basement. Poke break needed! ;-)

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 349, 2nd cycle at s1.5u, ate 2t 11%
+2 298, 2t. 13%

More to come....
 
Re: 8/16 Zener AMPS 349;+2 298 A Trak

the kitty express train is off and running, apparently! crazy days! hope you ladies have a great day!
 
Re: 8/16 Zener AMPS 349;+2 298 A Trak

Hi guys .. sorry to see zener starting out pink today .. at least he's dipped his toes onto the yellow floor .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8/16 Zener AMPS 349;+2 298 A Trak

Thanks Julie and Peter for stopping by Zener's condo. We had a rip roaring day yesterday and earned a reduction - whoop whoop!

Zener's +3 - 275.
It looks like Zener has switched from the express to the commuter train for now - paws crossed we keep cruising slowly through yellow and back to the blue bayou! :smile:
 
Re: 8/16 Zener AMPS 349;+2 298;+3 275;+6 214 A Trak

The nice slow slide through yellow continues...

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 349, 2nd cycle at s1.5u, ate 2t 11%
+2 298, 2t. 13%
+3 275, 2t 13%
+6 214, 3t 13%, asking for food for first time in weeks not induced by appetite stimulant!

Continuing a nice, slow steady decrease on his second cycle at the new decreased dose and giving himself and beans a little poke break so far today. :thumbup
 
Re: 8/16 Zener AMPS 349;+2 298;+3 275;+6 214;+10 273 A Trak

Isn't this how it goes...glad to have a little poke break, then disappointed to see a pinky yellow cycle! ;-)

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 349, 2nd cycle at s1.5u, ate 2t 11%
+2 298, 2t. 13%
+3 275, 2t 13%
+6 214, 3t 13%, asking for food for first time in weeks not induced by appetite stimulant!
+9 FDCK treat
+10 273

Today, Zener lept up about 2 feet from a box on the floor onto a file cabinet to look out an open window. We didn't actually see him do it, but there he was. He hasn't done such a trick in a very long time! So, even though it's been a yellow cycle, he is definitely feeling better.
:-D
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272 A Trak

Started the day in pink, then slow slide down and up the yellow brick road. We all got a break from the poke fest.

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 349, 2nd cycle at s1.5u, ate 2t 11%
+2 298, 2t. 13%
+3 275, 2t 13%
+6 214, 3t 13%, asking for food for first time in weeks not induced by appetite stimulant!
+9 FDCK treat
+10 273
PMPS 272, 3rd cycle at s1.5u, ate 3t 11%

Zener's appetite has been much better today. He even asked for food, instead of looking at his bowl (with me chasing him around) like "oh, not this again, didn't I just eat?" If his appetite continues to improve, I may start trying to mix the 11% carbs he seems to like best, with some 8% and see what happens. His lack of appetite has been our biggest challenge, but then we had to transition him from a lifetime dry kibble diet when we started lantus 2 1/2 months ago.

Hope everyone is having a lovely evening, wherever you are in LL!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272 A Trak

Today's numbers could have been a bounce from yesterday's 68, so not to worry, he's on his way down..
You are doing a great job with him & yes, all the kitties need a pokey break!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Have a great night-Hugs from us!
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272 A Trak

Just saying hi!

It looks like he really loves to bounce up to Pink after any taste of Green. But it has been a nice few days of Blue. I hope he keeps it up for you!
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272 A Trak

Thanks Roni! I wondered if it could be a bounce from yesterday. Since I wasn't used to it being a bit lower, not in the colors that shall not be named, and also going down after one cycle, I think I just forgot that maybe it was bounce behavior. He is feeling better and so much more alert, even starting to get a bit feisty! Maybe we are starting to turn a corner, but i'm almost afraid think it! :lol:
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272 A Trak

Sam and S'mores said:
Just saying hi!

It looks like he really loves to bounce up to Pink after any taste of Green. But it has been a nice few days of Blue. I hope he keeps it up for you!
Thanks for dropping by and hi back at you! Yes, it does seem a visit to green, however brief, sends him scurrying back to high numbers. He was on humulin N for 2 months following diagnosis and it took me a little while to find the wonderful people here, so I think his body got used to high numbers. We are so grateful for all the help and support of everyone here!
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes! A Trak

Just when I thought we might have a quiet night and not another poke fest, Zener dropped 150 from his PMPS to his +3. Guess I should have checked at +2. :roll:

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 349, 2nd cycle at s1.5u, ate 2t 11%
+2 298, 2t. 13%
+3 275, 2t 13%
+6 214, 3t 13%, asking for food for first time in weeks not induced by appetite stimulant!
+9 FDCK treat
+10 273
PMPS 272, 3rd cycle at s1.5u, ate 3t 11%
+3 122, fed 3t 17%, 3 semi soft treats to stop drop

Looks like I'll be checking again to see how things are at +4. It may be a long night...
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes! A Trak

he's almost predictable in his unpredictability . . . if ya know what i mean!?

good thing you're checking him tonight, and good thing he got a break from the pokey fest earlier today. the small blessings of high numbers . . . at least you get a break!
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes! A Trak

julie1220 said:
he's almost predictable in his unpredictability . . . if ya know what i mean!?

Gosh, we were just saying that tonight - the only pattern we see is there is NO pattern! It makes it quite a challenge for us. And this is just his 3rd cycle with the new reduced dose.

julie1220 said:
good thing you're checking him tonight, and good thing he got a break from the pokey fest earlier today. the small blessings of high numbers . . . at least you get a break!
There really is no other option, if he is dropping like a stone. I need to try to steer it away from the cellar. Fortunately, he is alert, feisty and hungry. He is not terribly carb sensitive, so I brought out the high carb gravy when I saw this big drop and gave him a couple of semi soft treats that have glucose in them. He gobbled it all down. I may check in 30 minutes, just because I'm a little anxious about the such a big drop so early in his cycle.
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes!;+3.5 127 A Trak

Why do these big drops always seem more anxiety producing at night than in the daytime? I got a +3.5 and no real change.

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 349, 2nd cycle at s1.5u, ate 2t 11%
+2 298, 2t. 13%
+3 275, 2t 13%
+6 214, 3t 13%, asking for food for first time in weeks not induced by appetite stimulant!
+9 FDCK treat
+10 273
PMPS 272, 3rd cycle at s1.5u, ate 3t 11%
+3 122, fed 3t 17%, 3 semi soft treats to stop drop
+3.5 127, fed 3t. 15%

I'll keep monitoring for a few hours and see if things won't level off a little.
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes!;+3.5 127 A Trak

i'm going to give you an Awesome Steerage award - you really do a super job of managing his numbers with the carbs. if only i had a medal to send you . . .

could be that a flat 3 and 3.5 is a good sign. maybe zener's going to level off soon for you.
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes!;+3.5 127 A Trak

julie1220 said:
i'm going to give you an Awesome Steerage award - you really do a super job of managing his numbers with the carbs. if only i had a medal to send you . . .

Wow, really? I feel like I'm stumbling around in the dark most of the time wishing the light at the end of the tunnel wasn't a train! :shock:

julie1220 said:
could be that a flat 3 and 3.5 is a good sign. maybe zener's going to level off soon for you.
Well, looks like he is a little up at +4 - 139. Probably the HC & treats kicking in. Normally, I would save them for the below 100s, but I really wanted to try to get him up a little so that I can go to bed before midnight (MST or PDT)! I'll stay up another hour, get a +5 and see where he is then and if I feel okay getting to bed. Right now he is on the prowl all over the house, wide awake and feeling sassy!
dancing_cat
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes!;+3.5 127;+4 139 A Trak

little squirt. they always know when you want to sleep! i think zener's reading his condo and enjoying confusing you with his weirdities. :lol:

stumbling around in the dark - i think that's what experts do. ;-) nah, seriously, i do think you've done great at this. maybe you feel confused, but it doesn't show. ok, well, the "yikes" might show it, but not most of the time. :-D
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes!;+3.5 127;+4 139 A Trak

Thanks Julie, your vote of confidence is very reassuring! :thumbup I mostly only "yikes" at night! ;-)

It will be a challenge next week when university starts up again and I go back to work. I've had the luxury of being home all summer to monitor the big guy, so I am a little worried about how he will do with us not here all day.
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes!;+3.5 127;+4 139 A Trak

you know - one thought - someone told me not to try new things on the petsitter - just thinking about that - if you think you might want to use frozen catsickles (dilute canned cat food with water and freeze in muffin pans) or a timed feeder, you might want to try it out this week to make sure zener will use it.
 
Re: 8/16 Zener PMPS 272;+3 122 Yikes!;+3.5 127;+4 139 A Trak

julie1220 said:
you know - one thought - someone told me not to try new things on the petsitter - just thinking about that - if you think you might want to use frozen catsickles (dilute canned cat food with water and freeze in muffin pans) or a timed feeder, you might want to try it out this week to make sure zener will use it.

wow, catsickles - I never heard of that before, very clever. We'll have to see how that goes over!

We thought about timed feeders and aren't too sure that will work, but we might try one. He is not doing a very good job of self-feeding and we usually have to put food in front of him to encourage him to eat. We are trying to work our schedules out so that one of us sticks around in the morning until +2 or +3, then one of us comes home during mid-day to check on him and make sure he is eating.
 
PMPS 272, 3rd cycle at s1.5u, ate 3t 11%
+3 122, fed 3t 17%, 3 semi soft treats to stop drop
+3.5 127, fed 3t. 15%
+4 139, fed 2t 13%
+5 132, fed 3t 17% - using the higher carb again to see if he will surf while I go to bed! I'll leave some HC out, just in case.

Did the large glass of water alarm clock and will check him again when I get up to use the bean litter box! ;-)

Goodnight Julie, and thanks for all your help! I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top