? 8/16 Noodles AMPS 335 +2 220 +5 166 +6 193 +8 149 +10 131 PMPS 122/124

Sara&Noodles

Member Since 2020
I was just wondering if anyone could take a look at my spreadsheet. I just switched to Lantus yesterday from Prozinc. I started at .5U yesterday and that was too much so I couldn’t do a pm shot so I reduced it to .25U today and I’m still getting a number too low to shoot. I’m currently stalling and will check again in about 15 minutes but last night it didn’t rise fast enough for me to be comfortable shooting. I had this issue a lot with the prozinc too but I was more comfortable with shooting at lower numbers because I knew she usually started rising pretty fast. Do I need to lower the dose even more? I know with the prozinc if I went below .25U it would barely move her mid cycle numbers.
Thanks
 
Did you switch to U100 syringes when you switched to Lantus?

Can you take a picture of the syringe that shows how much you're giving?
 
Did you switch to U100 syringes when you switched to Lantus?

Can you take a picture of the syringe that shows how much you're giving?


Yes I switched to the U-100 syringes. This is a picture of the one I gave her this morning. I used the magnifier on my iPhone to try and get it right.
 

Attachments

  • 815211CC-09F4-4741-BCAA-11D236A57B41.png
    815211CC-09F4-4741-BCAA-11D236A57B41.png
    205.3 KB · Views: 98
Do me a favor and compare the "zero" line on several syringes. The lines on the syringes can be up to .5 unit off from syringe to syringe. In humans, it's no big deal but in our cat's, it's a huge difference.

You might want to consider using calipers to get those tiny doses as consistent as possible. Here's some information on Dosing with calipers

In the meantime, there's no reason you can't drop back to .1 so we can hopefully find a dose that you can give twice a day without being so scary for you. 124 is a shootable number but I understand that you don't have a lot of experience, especially with Lantus.
 
Do me a favor and compare the "zero" line on several syringes. The lines on the syringes can be up to .5 unit off from syringe to syringe. In humans, it's no big deal but in our cat's, it's a huge difference.

You might want to consider using calipers to get those tiny doses as consistent as possible. Here's some information on Dosing with calipers

In the meantime, there's no reason you can't drop back to .1 so we can hopefully find a dose that you can give twice a day without being so scary for you. 124 is a shootable number but I understand that you don't have a lot of experience, especially with Lantus.


Okay. I will drop the dose in the morning and see how that goes. I was actually reading about the calipers earlier today because it was so much harder to adjust to the .25 on the u100 compared to the u40. And yes if it was the morning I would give her the shot but nervous about it being night time. I’ll check her +2 tonight too so I can hopefully get more comfortable with the lower numbers.
Thanks again.
 
Back
Top