8/16 Karamelle AMPS 160 +3 309 +6 345 +9 417 PMPS 355

JoM

Member Since 2023
8/15 Karamelle AMPS 126 +3 289 +6 363 +9 361 PMPS 379 +3 344 +9 223

We are on our 6th cycle since the dental when I lowered the dose for the day. So I think since she hasnt hit any greens and only 2 blues, its probably time to raise the dose again.
I managed to get enough food into her with the wet, but shes really gone off her dry. She only ate 8 grams yesterday when she normally eats 40-50 grams. But I did get 192 grams of wet food into her. Only had to finger feed some on the am meal.
She still didnt eat as much wet as Id like this morning. I put 40 grams in the bowl and she only ate 31G. I decided to lower the Gabapentin dose to 25mg 2x (it was at 50mg- 2x) in case that is causing her to not want to eat as much. It could be the antibiotic still tho. We still have 4 days left of that.
 
Last edited:
Jude has taken antibiotics a lot because of his UTIs, and eventually, he stopped eating with Clavamox, and he developed diarrhea. As a consequence, the vet only gives antibiotics by syringe now to avoid stomach upset.

I'm glad Karamelle is eating better. I hope this means her teeth are feeling better. Good luck with the increase, if you decide to take it.
 
Good luck with tweaking the meds and I hope she eats more on her own.
It stinks what the antibiotics do to their GI system.
I hope she will feel much better once that’s over.
Have a great day, Jo 🌊🏄‍♂️💖
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
8/15 Karamelle AMPS 126 +3 289 +6 363 +9 361 PMPS 379 +3 344 +9 223

We are on our 6th cycle since the dental when I lowered the dose for the day. So I think since she hasnt hit any greens and only 2 blues, its probably time to raise the dose again.
I managed to get enough food into her with the wet, but shes really gone off her dry. She only ate 8 grams yesterday when she normally eats 40-50 grams. But I did get 192 grams of wet food into her. Only had to finger feed some on the am meal.
She still didnt eat as much wet as Id like this morning. I put 40 grams in the bowl and she only ate 31G. I decided to lower the Gabapentin dose to 25mg 2x (it was at 50mg- 2x) in case that is causing her to not want to eat as much. It could be the antibiotic still tho. We still have 4 days left of that.
The antibiotics can really cause them to feel bad. Are you giving her ondansetron and cerenia still? And I think you said you are giving her probiotics at a very different time than the antibiotic.

You know, my vet and I were recently discussing the use of Gabapentin and then I also read from another vet that it only helps with nerve pain or to sedate a cat like Staci has to do with Ivy. I would think the buprenorphine alone is best for extraction pain and that is what I’ve always used. I’ve never given any of my cats gabapentin because our anesthesiologist (who does pain mgmt) also only uses it for nerve-associated pain (in other words, not for arthritis or injuries, or even post surgery) and also because it can cause severe respiratory distress if not given exactly at the right dose whereas with buprenorphine, you have a range so you can start at the lower end and increase if you need to.

A dose increase is a good idea. Your call whether you want to start at night or in the morning.
 
The antibiotics can really cause them to feel bad. Are you giving her ondansetron and cerenia still? And I think you said you are giving her probiotics at a very different time than the antibiotic.

You know, my vet and I were recently discussing the use of Gabapentin and then I also read from another vet that it only helps with nerve pain or to sedate a cat like Staci has to do with Ivy. I would think the buprenorphine alone is best for extraction pain and that is what I’ve always used. I’ve never given any of my cats gabapentin because our anesthesiologist (who does pain mgmt) also only uses it for nerve-associated pain (in other words, not for arthritis or injuries, or even post surgery) and also because it can cause severe respiratory distress if not given exactly at the right dose whereas with buprenorphine, you have a range so you can start at the lower end and increase if you need to.

A dose increase is a good idea. Your call whether you want to start at night or in the morning.
She still gets 4 mg Ondansetron 2x a day. No cerenia. The probiotic Ive been trying to give right in the middle of the 2 antibiotic doses. I use Gabapentin for my cat Oscar and it seems to help him. But normally I would agree that Buprenorphine is a superior pain med. She is getting it 2x a day right now. It used to be once a day. I think I will increase tonight.
 
Can you syringe feed her? Do you have anything like Hills a/d or one of the higher calorie recovery foods around your house? Or even baby food that only has meat and no vegetables or gravy in it?
I just finger feed her regular low carb food. The Weruva hydrating pates are a bit like baby food in consistency. I take a gob on my finger, open her mouth and rub it on her tongue. Shes very good, but she doesnt like it and protests with noises. I have tried syringe feeding in the past and that wasnt as successful. So I just do what works.
 
Back
Top