? 8/16-GIDEON BLUE - PMPS=619!

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
Mornin' All-
Gideon was a bit low this morning at 165. He was given a teaspoon of higher carb food, and 10 mins later was 183. Vet tech gave 1.25 units of Lantus. Pet sitter will retest at 10am and 1pm. I suspected this morning value since he is continuing to bounce. Last night at PMPS he was 520!

Sorry, I am in my phone typing, also haven't updated spreadsheet. Also, didn't hook yesterday's thread to this.

Thank you for holding my hand while I am away from my fur babies.
 
Last edited:
That's a big bounce last night! Sounds like he may have gone lower during the day - I hope someone can update your SS for you...hard to 'see' what's going on without it.

Hang in there!
 
Thank you for posting Gideon's thread from yesterday. The internet is not working at the moment. I will update the spreadsheet when I can. So far, Gideon is running a bit low, except for a spike to the 500's last night. I don't think it was a bad strip based on his history of bounces. I am trying to keep track of his tests since I left him.
Sat 1p=193-fed Nulo 8-9% carb food
Sat 7p=520...my bouncy boy!
Sat 10p=241. I was asleep & didn't see this number. I will now instruct pet sitter to feed a MC food if he is below 300 at 10p. She can't test later than 10p.
Sun 7a=165, then fed higher carb food. Re-test at 7:15a=183. Lantus 1.25 units given.
Sun 10am= 119, gave Nulo, 8-9% carb food.
Will retest at 12n, and will give higher carb food if necessary.
 
Sun 7a=165, then fed higher carb food.

Hmmmm....not much point in testing after feeding HC food. Best to not feed and re-test. The food will make the numbers higher..but only for a couple of hours. Just pass this along for next time the pre-shot number seems low. I understand how this is all from afar - vacations aren't good for a lot of latitude and fine tuning are they?
 
I didn't want Gideon to drop even lower, so I had higher carb food fed. At +5 he is 80. I had some Karo put on his gums and then fed the higher carb food. I am now wondering if I should lower is Lantus to 1 unit BID, from 1.25 units BID, just while we are away.
 
Is there any way you can get your SS up to date? It's very difficult to determine if he should have a lower dose at this point ...

The waters became even muddier this morning when he tested in a mid-range blue, but then was given high-carb food...which pushed his numbers up...seemingly to make it safe to shoot. However, if the food had been stalled, and then re-tested we could have seen if he was in an active cycle, or falling numbers. Would you have shot if the number had gone down at that point?

Food propping is all well and good when needed to stop a dramatic drop - but it's hard to tell and my suspicion is now after the fact that he was indeed falling...and maybe reduced dose would have been appropriate. I understand that this is even more challenging while on vacation but if you got good support and testing, let's try another cycle to see what will happen before changing his dose. It would be a shame to have him in higher than necessary numbers for the week you're away...and you've done a great job of getting helpers to come in and check on him.
 
I am not able to update the spreadsheet at the moment...sorry.

I am trying my best in a difficult situation. His +7=172.

The vet tech can't stay long in the morning. She must go to work. The best I can do if I stalled would be to have tech draw up insulin and leave for pet sitter to give.

Ok...we will see how he is tonight and tomorrow before deciding on reducing or not.

Thank you for the support. I am at an outside concert at the moment and have talked, emailed and texted the pet sitter.
 
Alphatrak, and yes 7a&7p.
I will update spreadsheet in a couple hours when I am back to the unit. We now have WiFi and cable working.
Thank you for offering to create a new sheet, but I will be able to update in a couple hours. You guys are great!
 
Last edited:
i was almost done when you posted, so in case @Sue and Luci stops by before that

here's a stop-gap SS that i can edit if you cannot get to yours for whatever reason. i went back to may 2020

still doing some cell colors for those not-on-the-whole-numbers situations

and i haven't found info on what units you shot last PM




https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...jYkwUtgFQuVvc2Czom6IDxW-G6sHHi1TAsGCm/pubhtml
Thank you so much for putting together the spreadsheet in such short notice to help my Gideon Blue. I have updated Gideon's original spreadsheet, since we now have WIFI. I am running out again, but should be back in an hour or so. You all are such a support to me!
 
Looks like he cleared that bounce in a big hurry - makes me wonder if it really was that high?? In any case, those numbers are sure looking great today.

What's your cutoff for the caregiver tonight for PMPS? Remember if the number is lower than your threshold (whatever that is) not to food prop in order to give the shot unless they can stick around...hate to see him miss the dose, but if no one is there it's just not a chance I'd be willing to take...let's hope he's in the safe zone for a shot tonight :)
 
I guess I will need some guidance. At +7 today he was 172. So, I am sure tonight at PMPS (in one hour) he will be 200-300. So, if he gets his 1.25 units, he will be retested at +3, but not later. I am just not sure if I should tell vet tech to only shoot 1 unit, instead of 1.25 units.
 
I am thinking at Gideon's +3 test tonight, the cat sitter could give some MC food to make sure he is safe tonight.
 
Gideon has access to wet food all night until 5 am when pet sitter picks the food up. I think mostly my kitties sleep through the night.
 
Gideon has never been this high before. PMPS = 619. What a bounce. He did get his 1.25 units just now. I am quite concerned he will plummet in the other direction over night. Though he is clearing his bounces quicker, they are more extreme. I did have the vet tech retest with a strip from a new bottle, and he was 591, so it is not the strip.
Any advice on what I can do differently?
 
Gideon has never been this high before. PMPS = 619. What a bounce. He did get his 1.25 units just now. I am quite concerned he will plummet in the other direction over night. Though he is clearing his bounces quicker, they are more extreme. I did have the vet tech retest with a strip from a new bottle, and he was 591, so it is not the strip.
Any advice on what I can do differently?

Not much you can do about a big time bouncer - he's reacting to that 80 he saw today...

His liver is just responding as it perceived that low number as a dangerous situation. Best to try to be as consistent as possible with the dose...he'll need some time to come down from there...let's hope he'll work his way through it over the next 24 hours and find his way back tomorrow to some better numbers.
 
Thanks Sue. So, I did stay with 1.25 units. Next test is at +3, then no more until AMPS. He is eating his normal food, which tonight is 3-4% carbs. Should higher carb food be left overnight? Should pet sitter offer him higher carb food at +3, anticipating he will bounce the other way?
 
Thanks Sue. So, I did stay with 1.25 units. Next test is at +3, then no more until AMPS. He is eating his normal food, which tonight is 3-4% carbs. Should higher carb food be left overnight? Should pet sitter offer him higher carb food at +3, anticipating he will bounce the other way?

No, I wouldn't leave out HC tonight - leave out some LC - just to keep him steady...but his numbers are most likely to slide down slowly...only the 'bounce' tends to be so dramatic. Most times you'll see nice slides into the 300's or even into the 200's...which would be a lot of real estate for him to cover from the 600's..and would be nice...but that'll take a little time...
 
Ok. I will have the pet sitter just leave the normal LC food out. In 7 hours he had an increase of over 500!!!

Have a great night ya all. Stay tuned for tomorrow's adventure!
 
So, when Gideon was 80, I shouldn't have had pet sitter feed the 20% carb food. It was at +5, and I thought he would go lower.
I guess I need to figure out a clear plan of what to do when to avoid doing the wrong thing.
 
At +3 Gideon is 425. He will have his regular LC food available tonight.
I need a plan for the AM. Not sure what BG I will consider safe to shoot now.
Thank you!
 
Ok. We will see what he is. I mean if he was GREEN, that would be an issue. Also, if in BLUE range, how close to 100 do I want him given insulin?

Yes, you missed the excitement.
 
If he’s under 150 I think maybe 1 unit. If green maybe .75. You haven’t had a green preshot yet but he could still surprise us. Let’s see what the others think.
 
Back
Top