8/16 Butters AMPS 308/+3 351/+7 256/+11 225/PMPS 157/+1 207/+2 238/+6 274

Butters & Lyla

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Starting cycle 3 / day 2 of increase to 1u of insulin. I still don't know if I'm measuring doses from the exact right spot on my syringes, but I am being consistent abut it, anyways. Now if only Butters would start to come down. She seems pretty stuck in the yellows and pinks these days.

Have a wonderful day/evening, all.
 
I still don't know if I'm measuring doses from the exact right spot on my syringes, but I am being consistent abut it, anyways.

I had the same problem...which syringes are you using? Did Marje help you?

I have to snuggle the top tooth of the caliper up under the little 'lip' on the top of my syringe in order to get the right dose. The marks on my Relion syringes - at least this batch are completely off...some batches are better than others...but since we're on .75 even the marks aren't very helpful...so with the light behind my syringe I hold the calipers up to it and measure from that little 'shoulder' area inside the barrel to where the calipers are set - which is just above the 1 unit line mark for me...

I hope to see some better numbers for Butters soon...sometimes they need more than 3 cycles to get the message...
 
I had the same problem...which syringes are you using? Did Marje help you?

I have to snuggle the top tooth of the caliper up under the little 'lip' on the top of my syringe in order to get the right dose. The marks on my Relion syringes - at least this batch are completely off...some batches are better than others...but since we're on .75 even the marks aren't very helpful...so with the light behind my syringe I hold the calipers up to it and measure from that little 'shoulder' area inside the barrel to where the calipers are set - which is just above the 1 unit line mark for me...

I hope to see some better numbers for Butters soon...sometimes they need more than 3 cycles to get the message...

I did get lots of help, yes including from Marje! I hope I’m not coming of as sounding like I’m complaining. I don’t mean to. I have actually been doing ok and happy to have the peace of mind that comes with precise doses. :)
I use Canadian BD syringes, which are a unicorn. I think mine may have a ‘shoulder’ area inside them as well...that sounds like where I am measuring from.

Guess I need the patience pants back. I was hoping for instant results from the increase. :D
 
Buttters is still climbing up at +3!? Hard not to question myself and whether I could be doing something better or different. :( Feeling this hard today.
 
Buttters is still climbing up at +3!? Hard not to question myself and whether I could be doing something better or different. :( Feeling this hard today.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
You're doing great Lyla. Hang in there. As Paula mentioned it can take a lil time for the depot to build. 3 more cycles and you can increase again. She'll get back to the beach and lagoon.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I wonder if the duration of the yellows, yesterday AMPS cycle scared her into a bounce.
 
Other than not eating last night, anything else going on there? Purring, playing, peeing, preening???
All good. I can tell when her numbers stay above 300 for a little while she becomes irritable and doesn't sleep. But other than that, same old Butters. She has a million toys and doesn't play with any of them. That hasn't changed.

Her motto is: Laps, Naps and Snacks.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
You're doing great Lyla. Hang in there. As Paula mentioned it can take a lil time for the depot to build. 3 more cycles and you can increase again. She'll get back to the beach and lagoon.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I wonder if the duration of the yellows, yesterday AMPS cycle scared her into a bounce.

Thanks Briere! :bighug::bighug: I did a +7 and she's down to 256...heading in the right direction now. Feeling a bit more optimistic about things.
I bury my nose in her fur after every shot so, it prob wasn't a fur shot. Bounce makes sense, though.
 
I had a weird feeling that she was going to keep sliding down this afternoon after seeing her +7. And so here we are, 225 @+11 and 157 @PMPS.
My pessimism from this morning has turned into worry about what's in store for me tonight.;)
I need to learn when to be happy. If she weren't so unpredictable, it'd help. :)
 
Back
Top