8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus -- starting dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Good morning! I have a quick question for now, but plan to introduce Buddha and me more fully soon.

We've been using ProZinc practically since it first became available, and I have had no luck in getting Buddha regulated. None. Not a bit. Buddha had his teeth cleaned last Thursday, and is currently taking Orbax for a UTI. I asked for and was given a prescription for Lantus.

The script is for a 10ml vial. I have priced it locally for about $102. This seems to be a reasonable price, as long as I can use it beyond 28 days from opening. Is this realistic for most of you? I'd love to use the same vial for 3 to 4 months.

Also, the stickies say that I should be able to get 5 packs of 3ml pens or cartridges. I talked with two pharmacies today, and they had the 10ml vial OR 3 packs of 5ml SolStar pens. The pens were very pricey. So I'm a bit confused. Has the way Lantus is supplied changed since the sticky was written, or do I need to ask for something different? I need to review all the stickies again. I'm a bit apprehensive about making the change.

Thanks!

Donna
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus soon

Also, if anyone knows of a current discount or coupon or special offer for Lantus, please let me know!

Sometimes too pharmacies will give an incentive for new prescriptions, but we're a healthy (knock on wood) family, so I don't keep up with that.

Thanks again!
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus soon

Hi Donna

Welcome to the Lantus forum!

I found this thread from a little while back with a discussion that may help...
it covers mainly the storage part, but has others feedback as well with differences.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19194&p=192078&hilit=pens#p192078

From what I can tell, most people order the 5 pack 3ml vials online, they do tend to run better economically than the 10ml size.

Others will be by thru the day to offer feedback, so do check back.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus soon

hello donna. welcome to the group!
unfortunately, there's no way to tell exactly how long Lantus will last. the manufacturer guarantees Lantus for only 28 days. some caregivers have been able to use their Lantus for 6 months. others have only been able to get as little as a month out of it. personally, i would use insulin until i saw floaties, the insulin froze, became cloudy/discolored, or kitty's numbers went south for no apparent reason.

here's a previous discussion on the longevity of Lantus: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?15,1906669,1906669

unless kitty is on a high dose, we do suggest using the Lantus cartridges which are designed for the Lantus OptiClick Pen (you don't need the pen) or the Lantus SoloStar Pens. Use U-100 syringes marked with half units to draw insulin from either the cartridges or the SoloStar Pens. do not buy the needles suggested for the OptiClick Pen or SoloStar Pen. using Lantus cartridges or SoloStar pens is more economical in the long run for most of us.

4113.jpg
lantuscartdraw2-1.jpg

(L-R) Lantus SoloStar Pen and Lantus cartridge designed to fit in the OptiClick Pen

how Lantus is supplied (from the manufacturer's website):

0d51187f.jpg

http://products.sanofi-aventis.us/lantus/lantus.html#section-15

unless the manufacturer has changed something and hasn't yet updated their site, it seems the pharmacies are confused.

hope this helps...
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus soon

Thank you! I called a 3rd pharmacy and specifically mentioned 5 3ml cartridges and was quoted ~$200, so I can get that get that option locally, assuming that my vet will change the prescription. Not sure why the other pharmacies insisted that the SoloStar Pens were 3 packs of 5ml, but both did.

Another quick question: How do you all time shots and food? With Vetsulin and ProZinc, I've been used to timing shots with Buddha's breakfast or dinner.

Also, over in PZI Land the word is that with Lantus one needs to adhere to a fairly strict 12/12 shot schedule. I do my best with ProZinc to keep to 12/12 but I've got a sometimes relaxed, sometimes busy, but always unpredictable life and I must admit, I like to sleep late whenever I can. Will my attempts to regulate Buddha be in vain if I can't keep to a schedule?
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus soon

Welcome to LL Donna! When I started I found the best price at Costco, $180 for 5 cartridges plus tax. Someone posted that they got a really good deal at RiteAid Pharmacy when they joined their discount program. I don't know where you are or what stores you have available.

Remember that for the difference in price you are getting 15 ml, not 10. The smaller cartridges stay fresh until you start using them, so at least 5 month supply as opposed to one month if you follow the mfg recommendation. I've gotten 2 months out of a cartridge and it still may have been good as I didn't see a change in Tess's numbers when I switched out.

Check out the Hocks link at the top of the page for other supplies. They have good prices, ship free over $79 and give an 8% commission to FDMB if you connect through the link. This is a great site and runs on donations.

Lots of peeps here to answer questions.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus soon

Hi again
I'll help try to answer these questions


Donna & Buddha said:
......Another quick question: How do you all time shots and food?

TEST, FEED, SHOOT at preshot time, all within 5 to 15 minutes as best as you can

With Vetsulin and ProZinc, I've been used to timing shots with Buddha's breakfast or dinner.
Also, over in PZI Land the word is that with Lantus one needs to adhere to a fairly strict 12/12 shot schedule.

With Lantus a 12/12 works best. Please see this stickie: Tilly's Protocol: Modified Version
note the section on shooting early and shooting late.


I do my best with ProZinc to keep to 12/12 but I've got a sometimes relaxed, sometimes busy, but always unpredictable life and I must admit, I like to sleep late whenever I can. Will my attempts to regulate Buddha be in vain if I can't keep to a schedule?

it could. If you think this is the case, let us know, and others will make suggestions



We are a data collecting forum, and we love data, the more data you collect the easier it is for others with dosing experience to help you with dosing decisions and it will help you see how Buddha is responding to Lantus.

Please read this stickie: New To The Group

Actually read all the starred stickies up top. :lol:

You may want to put together a Profile for Buddha when you have some free time.
This too will help others and will avoid asking the same general questions over and over again. Who's Your Kitty?


.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha switching to Lantus soon -- initial dose?

Well, I've read and re-read the stickies. Can't say it all makes sense to me but I think I am as ready as I ever will be.

I purchased the Lantus cartridges. I pulled one out of the package. I think I understand which end to poke. I'll have to remember that 1u on a u100 syringe with u100 insulin is JUST ONE UNIT. I have totally bought into the conversion for u40 insulin and I'll have to be careful not to slip into old habits.

I don't understand how I'm supposed to store the cartridge in use. Is there a cap for it? I'm used to storing my vials in their box. What do people do?

And I'm not sure what's the starting dose. My vet recommended 2 units. Do most start with 1?
 
Hi Donna, welcome! The stickies will start to make more sense once you've been here a little while. Keep going back to them, as your experiences change you will start to understand more.

Regarding dose, it looks like Buddha has had some good numbers now and then on 1.2u of ProZinc. I would probably start with 1 unit of Lantus. It might not be enough, but it's better to start a tad on the low side. Usually we hold the first dose for 5 days before adjusting. Also, I recommend doing your first Lantus shot on a cycle when you will be home to monitor. For some reason, the first shot of Lantus packs a punch for some cats. Not all, but it happens often enough to suggest being home for the first shot.

I hope this helps!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

I've used both the cartridges and pens. The cartridges can roll around. Either store them in the box or in a container in the refrigerator. The pens, because they are in a plastic "jacket," don't roll around. I keep them in a crisper drawer. The only place I wouldn't put either is on the door of the refrigerator since there's more variation in temperature on the door than on a shelf in the refrigerator.
 
Donna & Buddha said:
Thanks for the replies!

Is there a cap or something to put onto the end of the cartridge to keep it clean?


Hi Donna, welcome back!

A cap?
I always kept my opened vials in a zippy baggie to keep it protected.
Plus it was kept standing up in a little jar cuddled with paper towel so it wouldn't get bounced around.
Precious vial of Lantus, sigh.... :lol:

Hope we see you soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top