8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 pmps 503+

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Previously ...

I haven't opened a condo in a couple of days. Boring, mostly pink numbers, though we had a pmps of 81 on 9/13.

Not sure what to do. The ambg 45 is about 15 minutes late. The +12 was 59, but the test was a little suspect, so I decided to wait and try again. Buddha would reallly like his breffist and I would like shot time to not move any later.

So, shoot and feed hc breffist? I fully expect bg to rise steadily today. And I'll be home to monitor.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 -- shoot or no?

Sorry Donna,

In my view this number is way too low for you to shoot.

You need to wait to get a rising number and even then shoot a reduced dose (it's a double whammy but would mean you wouldn't have to wait as long).
This hasn't happened before and he's effectively surfing.
I'd want to see a good 25 points higher before hooting and then that's because you say you will be home to monitor.

Can you retest in 15?
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 -- shoot or no?

Need to hold fire on the breffus to I'm afraid, or you'll get an inflated bg number that is food enhanced.

Sorry Buddha
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 -- shoot or no?

+13 is 56. Dusted off the ReliOn Ultima and tried to test at same time. Forgot how much blood it required, and Buddha twitched at the critical moment. So I added to the sample 3 times. Anyway, not a good test, and didn't get a number, just LO.

I would really like to shoot and feed now. My instincts tell me that he'll be in several hundreds in a couple of hours. But, of course, I ultimately want what's best for him and not my schedule.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

He's surfing-all the numbers are effectively the same.

Critically-are you going to be home to monitor closely if needed?
Are you comfortable if he drops to hypo numbers?

If yes to the above 2 you could look at giving a reduced dose, yes numbers will probably be higher, but I'm not happy recommending a full dose shot at this number. (even though his shed might have emptied a little)
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

How much off schedule can you afford to be? And I assume you have strips and HC in the house?
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

OK. I'll test again. Shoot. Feed. Should I go with hc?

I'll shoot a reduced dose. Then I won't worry as much moving shot time back up again (in 15 minute intervals over the next coupla days.)

Buddha seems to be hypoglymic unaware. That is when I've caught him at low numbers, it's usually just a routine spot check and not because he's acting funny. Makes life interesting. I attribute it to his year on Vetsulin without hometesting. He possibly routinely fell into low numbers without anyone knowing and has learned how to compensate for it.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

I think it's kinda funny, in the ironical sense, that here he's been in the 40s for an hour or so, and I am NOT feeding him. Did 45 earn him a decrease regardless?

I just wish his numbers overall were improving. Or maybe I'm not seeing the forest for the trees.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

See what Buddha's numbers are on re-test. I might put a gravy topper on his usual food but it really depends on what the numbers are and how carb sensitive Buddha is. Also, get a +1. If his numbers are lower than his AMPS, give some HC.

You've shot in the 80s. Remember that as long as you monitor closely, have strips and HC, you're in control.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

Oh, whatever! +13.5 is back at 46. Now I'm less comfortable shooting. But I really want to feed. He's hunting up his own breffist now. Gotta go retrieve a cat off the counter.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

Donna,

his numbers are improving and at such a low dose.It's been a while since you saw red/black. We went up to 4.25u before we saw any kind of action like this.Your doing great.

I wouldn't give the HC yet, but I would test +30 mins and 1 hour to see where he's heading. You might need the HC later, no way of knowing right now. What your trying to do is avoid sending him to the moon.Do you have any MC? You might be able to keep him surfing and MC raise numbers a bit but not too much, need to see what numbers tell you.

What dose are you going for .5 or .75u?
I just want to know your home to monitor him especially as you say he doesn't show signs of hypo (does/will he feed himself?)

If his numbers do rocket you may be able to recuperate some of your shot time quicker, but need to be careful with overlap.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!AFTER WHAT WRITTEN AND SEEN POST-NO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I wouldn't shoot a 46.
Can you hold off any longer?
Has he got any history of keytones?
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

I wouldn't shoot in the 40s -- and I shoot low! And yes, when you have an unshootable pre-shot, it's usually a reduction, although I'd probably shave the dose rather than take a full reduction. I'd like to have Jill or Libby confirm this, though, since Buddha was diagnosed in 2008.

Can you wait until +14? You could give Buddha a nibble of LC while waiting.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha ambg 45 + 13 56 -- HAALLLPPPP! shoot or no?

Alrighty then. It's 10:30 a.m. EST. Or +14.25 in FDMB parlance. BG is 60. I'm gonna shoot 1/2 a dose, which is 1/2 a unit. And feed a can of fancy feast chunky chicken, 5% carb, if my memory serves.

I've got a pot of chicken breasts about to boil on the stove. Yes, I do add onion and garlic, I just can't help myself. But most of it will go towards human consumption, though we'll share with the beasties as needed.

I'll go draw up the insulin and check back before I stick, just in case anyone needs to shout to make me see reason.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 (1/2 dose)

Shot delivered at about +14.5. .5u.

As I was shooting, I thought, after all this angsting wouldn't it be funny if it's a fur shot?

But it wasn't. He's snarfing up his can of chunky chicken. So glad he's not the vomity sort. What goes in, stays in.

Thanks for all the help! What was I thinking, wondering if I could shoot in the 40s!?! Wow, sometimes before coffee I'm just an idiot. Wait a minute, did I just shoot at 60!?!
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 (1/2 dose)

Hi Donna,
Buddha is doing so great on Lantus! I am very happy for you. And you are doing great with the food, tests, etc. I hope you enjoy your day of testing. :lol:
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 (1/2 dose)

Good call.

Numbers may go really high as you have a double whammy-reduced shot and delyed shot, or like Lucky used to do, just sit there in nice numbers all cycle as if nothings happened :lol: (that is rare)

As for dose reduction-being a long timer, usually has to work harder for it and you wait for a number under 40.
I'd be inclined to let numbers be your guide on whether to reduce (but if you do and your around to monitor go to a skinny 1u rather than a .75u., might get another reduction in quick succession as it looks like the Lantus is suiting him)

Hope the rest of the cycle goes well.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 (1/2 dose)

Hi Donna...good job this morning! :razz: Buddha is doing very well....looking good!

You could move some of those numbers back into yesterday's box and put some of them also in the notes column so it isn't as confusing. In the AMPS column also put the hour that the AMPS is like +14.25 or whatever it was...
I know you will be getting a +1 and test after that frequently...
That was quite a number this morning, eh?
Wondering if you feed a snack during the night at all....
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 (1/2 dose) +1.25 260

Woah,

really knocked him off his surf board. He doesn't look particularly carb sensitive from your other entries.
Be interested to see how the rest of his cycle pans out. Going to get some good info from this cycle for future reference. :-D
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 (1/2 dose) +1.25 260 +4 325

Since Buddha's bg rose dramatically after breffist, I decided to give his ears a rest. I tested just shy of +4 and in the pink. I'm not expecting an dips between then and pmps tonight.

Buddha's been alert and preening. I think the cats were happy that I left the chicken on the counter while I went about something else. They were both on the floor when I returned and I didn't notice any chunks gone, but they were looking mighty pleased with themselves. I am sure that Buddha got into the cooling broth later. Shhh, don't tell the DH, he's the squeamish type.

So. Tonight. Do I go back to a skinny 1u? And how early can I bump up the time to regain a more optimum shot schedule? Since it was a 1/2 dose this morning, can I fudge and move up shot by 1/2 hour? Don't mean to be impatient or whiny, but it'll take a bunch of 15 minute intervals to make up two and half hours.

And, for next time, should I go ahead and shoot that 45?
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 +1.25 260 +4 325 +9 420

+9 is 420. Ouch. Unsure of dose and time for tonight. Is +11.75 the earliest safe shooting time? Should I revert back to a skinny 1u? Not sure that a skinny 1u is much different, for me, than .75u.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 +1.25 260 +4 325 +9 420

I think you would decrease down to .75u but can you hold off until a dosing expert comes along...
In your notes Donna...the time of the day means basically nothing...it's the time in the 12 hour cycle that means something. So, your numbers should show +1, +2, +3 etc.
That shows what he did at what hour during the cycle...hours since shot. Know what I mean?
And you could put DOSE?? in your header to call attention to your post...k? Someone will be along any minute...
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 +1.25 260 +4 325 +9 420

+11 is 503. Gonna go walk the dog. I'm gonna come back home, shoot Buddha a skinny 1u. I'm going to try for 20 minutes early, and I really don't see the point in getting an pmps. It'll be really really high and the pain won't be worth the gain, imho. I will test before I go to sleep tonight.

If anyone wants to shake me to my senses and set me on a different course, I'll check back here when I get back home.
 
Re: 8/16 Buddha amps @ +14.25 60 +11 503 --dose? time?

wow, what a day for you & buddha!
good luck, donna

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top