8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269 +4 246 +5 291 +247

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica & Boo Radley

Member Since 2011
8/15 Recap:
AMPS 204
+3 201
+6 247
+9 243
PMPS 286

~O) Today marks the second dose increase since diagnosis.

The crazy (but good) thing about all of this, the only day Boo felt bad was the day he was diagnosed (and I think that was more related to a UTI than his sugars).

Have a great day everyone :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269

Welcome! We have not had a chance to stop by and say hello, so "hello!!" That is so great that Boo did not feel bad upon diagnosis. His BG was relatively low for newly diagnosed. You must have caught it early. Tarragon was off the charts by the time they figured it out and had lost a LOT of weight. You are doing really great with Boo. Love the name BTW and the movie.

Hope you have a wonderful day and welcome again!
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269

Hi guys .. I'm also happy to hear that boo wasn't feeling to bad at diagnosis .. we caught it early with mocha too (or so we were told) .. plus she was a young'n .. just over 5 .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269

Hello there!

Looks like Mr. Boo Radley had a nice AM cycle yesterday. Glad to hear he is feeling well.
BTW, my Black Kitty is also FIV+.
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269

Hey Jessica and Boo Radley...its me! :) Come and visit our condo today if you have time!

I am so happy to see your Boo Radley is doing fine. I love the consistency of your BG numbers! Stay incredibly patient with the dose so you don't bounce. Those yellows are healing...and it is great that you guys never had it 'off the charts' as someone mentioned. Stella started at 535...so we caught her very late. It must be your medical background that you were so observant...and your little kitty is so lucky to have you!!!

Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269 +4 246

jessica, here's the link to "New Dose Wonkiness" - i saw you mention something related in Stella's condo.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012&p=539185#p539185

there are a couple of times that cats zoom high - one is when you increase their dosage. for whatever reason, instead of causing it to go immediately lower, it causes their BG to raise for a while. then it will come down and you can see what the dose actually does.

the other time is if your kitty hits a number lower than they are used to (and it might be 200 if they are used to 400's) the liver releases counter-regulatory hormones and a stored form of glucose to save the cat from hypo, and the cat will again zoom up.

for both of these we wait about 72 hours (3 days) for the bounce or the NDW to clear before you know how the dose is working. in the meantime you don't change the dose and just wait through the wonkiness! :-D i just like being able to use that word.

anyway, hope this helps clear the water for you.
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269 +4 246

julie1220 said:
jessica, here's the link to "New Dose Wonkiness" - i saw you mention something related in Stella's condo.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012&p=539185#p539185

there are a couple of times that cats zoom high - one is when you increase their dosage. for whatever reason, instead of causing it to go immediately lower, it causes their BG to raise for a while. then it will come down and you can see what the dose actually does.

anyway, hope this helps clear the water for you.

Julie - thanks for sending this. That's exactly what I was referring to in my post to Mary and Stella. I've been trying to look at as many SS as I can to see if anything jumps out - that one did for sure! Thanks again for putting a name to it: Boo's Wonki - I love it!
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269 +4 246

yeah, i thought that's what you were seeing. they all seem to do it, but the more consistent everything is, as they are on lantus the curves flatten out, you move into the "dose lowering" phase of the protocol, then you don't see the bouncing or the new dose wonkiness anymore.

i've only been on since february and i've seen it happen to cats a bunch of times. often, once they stop bouncing, they are on their way OTJ.
 
Re: 8/16 Bood Radley AMPS 269 +4 246

julie1220 said:
yeah, i thought that's what you were seeing. they all seem to do it, but the more consistent everything is, as they are on lantus the curves flatten out, you move into the "dose lowering" phase of the protocol, then you don't see the bouncing or the new dose wonkiness anymore.

i've only been on since february and i've seen it happen to cats a bunch of times. often, once they stop bouncing, they are on their way OTJ.

Julie - FYI...I just opened up my medical books for a refresher:

Absorption Rate is determined by insulin properties. The longer the duration of action, the more unpredictable is absorption. Larger doses of insulin also prolong the absorption. Because the rate of absorption is slowed by increasing the dosage, adjustments in dosage should be made no more than every 3-4 days.

So it's hanging around longer with the "change", thus the higher numbers with an increased dose!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top