8/16 Angel AMBG: 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherish Gallagher

Member Since 2017
I obviously didn't give her any insulin but please advise on how we proceed from here. The amount of ups and downs in just 3 days is super scary. :(

How much should I decrease her dose? Is this normal?
 
It is normal for a cat to be bouncy as they settle into a dose. Usually the bouncing settles down, but some cats bounce all the way to remission. Bouncing can be caused by a cat getting into numbers they are not used to and then their body panics and sends them back into higher numbers until they get used to the lower (more normal) numbers, or by dropping fast.

It looks like Angel is bouncing from getting into those nice blues and then the insulin is bringing her back down to normal numbers. Since you are following SLGS, and she went below 90, you reduce by 0.25 units. The new dose will be 1.75 units. She may go up and down in dose before you get her into good numbers. She is doing really well right now. Since you skipped the shot (that is a good call since you are new to Lantus and green numbers), she may be high this evening.
 
It is normal for a cat to be bouncy as they settle into a dose. Usually the bouncing settles down, but some cats bounce all the way to remission. Bouncing can be caused by a cat getting into numbers they are not used to and then their body panics and sends them back into higher numbers until they get used to the lower (more normal) numbers, or by dropping fast.

It looks like Angel is bouncing from getting into those nice blues and then the insulin is bringing her back down to normal numbers. Since you are following SLGS, and she went below 90, you reduce by 0.25 units. The new dose will be 1.75 units. She may go up and down in dose before you get her into good numbers. She is doing really well right now. Since you skipped the shot (that is a good call since you are new to Lantus and green numbers), she may be high this evening.
Thanks so much. What do you think would be a safe number to shoot the 1.75 at?
 
It's hard to answer that. It depends on whether you can monitor and have testing supplies. The best thing to do is get a +11 test if you are able to and post at that time and let everyone know you need to shoot in an hour and ask for advice then.
 
Thanks everyone. Angel is already high at +4 but I expected it. On the plus side she's running around the house like crazy which she doesn't do often do she must at least be feeling good. :) we switched her to 0% carb snacks and today is day #4 of no dry food! We let Miyu eat for 10 minutes during meal times and then take up the dry food dish. We are confident we will be able to continue this. :) oh and no Ketones. We've been testing at least once a day.
 
It's hard to answer that. It depends on whether you can monitor and have testing supplies. The best thing to do is get a +11 test if you are able to and post at that time and let everyone know you need to shoot in an hour and ask for advice then.
That makes sense. I rearranged my work schedule to be home until 10:45am to hopefully catch what her nadir will be in the next 10 days. Then back to 6:30am-2:30pm. My bf is here starting at 11am everyday tho. Unless he comes to visit me at the coffee shop (where I work) or has errands etc. so we are doing our best with keeping two sets of eyes on her :)
 
Last edited:
jumping_yellow_striped_cat_emoticon_by_embea-d4uqwvy.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top