8/15 Zener PMPS 134;+1 143;+2 146;+3 149;+4 200 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/14/11

We all got a good night's sleep, then bean doctor appointment this morning. Zener had a good night and ate well this morning. He made a tour of his backyard, walking all around and sniffing. More walking and yard exploring than he has done in weeks. He is walking some on his front toes now and not 100% of the time on his wrists.

Yesterday's summary
8/14/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 195, 7th cycle s1.75
+2 207
+4 195
+6 173
+9.5 106,
+11 172
PMPS 221, 8th cycle s1.75u
+2 240
+4 201
+9 213

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u, FDCK & 1t. 11%
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any

It's been a little over 1 cycle of yellow and wondering if this could be a bounce from his 106 yesterday later in his AM cycle? If so, it's not a pink bounce! Will be getting his +6 shortly.

Hope everyone is having a marvelous Monday!
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292; +2 257;+6 98; +6.3 90 HELP A Trak

HOLY MOLY, +6 BG is 68!

We have started the high carb (18%) and semi soft treats (have glucose on them) and 20 minute testing using handling low numbers sticky protocol. Fortunately, he is hungry and eating/licking the gravy.

+6.3 90, gave 1t 18% carbs, licked gravy.

Testing again in 20 minutes.

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 98;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

Tested 2nd 20 minutes at above 80 (ATrak meter) - BG 109.
Gave 1t 17% carbs, will check again in 30 minutes.

Zener is acting fine, grooming and watching birds in the backyard. Beans are stressing and reading part of sticky that says "Do not panic" over and over. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 98;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

Hi Anne, oh wow, it looks like Zener means business today! I know the 90 is low for Zener. It looks like he is coming up now.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 98;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

Hello there!

You are doing fine - you know the routine - lather, rinse, repeat - until you have a couple tests indicating he is no longer dropping.

One thing I'm confused about - was the +6 98 or 68?
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

Hi Ann & Sandy, my typo error in haste. The +6 was a 68 on the alpha trak meter! That is the lowest BG we have ever had since the diagnosis of FD (that we know of). He had a 70 once when still on Humulin N.

+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%

We just got a +7.2 (so 30 minutes after his 2nd every 20 min test) and it was 106, so he seems to be stable for now. I am going to get another test in another 15 minutes. Fortunately he is eating the high carb food (17-18%). I am giving him only a teaspoon at a time, so he will not get too full.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

Anne & Zener said:
I am going to get another test in another 15 minutes. Fortunately he is eating the high carb food (17-18%). I am giving him only a teaspoon at a time, so he will not get too full.
Perfect!

So...a 68 on the alpha trak is equal to a 38 (or thereabouts) on a human glucometer? Is that how it works?
I'm at tbp and can't see Mr. Zs ss, but if the above is true it may be time for a decrease. :-D
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

Hi Sandy, yes the alpha trak is about 30 points higher, so a 68 on it is like a 38 on a human meter.

Just got +7.8 and BG was 106, holding steady. Will be getting another in an hour.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

That is certainly decrease worthy. And, we know now that Zener doesn't get wonky if his numbers drop -- not that I'm suggesting you let that happen.
 
Re: 8/15 ZenerAMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7 109; 7.2-.8 106

Here we are since BG 68 @ +6 on alpha trak meter. I've run out of room on the subject line.

+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%

Now that he seems to be holding steady, should I keep testing and feeding HC every hour until PMPS?
 
Re: 8/15 Zener AMPS 292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7 109 HELP A Tr

Sienne and Gabby said:
That is certainly decrease worthy. And, we know now that Zener doesn't get wonky if his numbers drop -- not that I'm suggesting you let that happen.

Thanks Sienne! We have been giving him a skinny 1.75 for about 8 cycles, so should the new dose be a skinny 1.5? We are glad Zener isn't wonky, though it might be hard to tell with his CH. That is why the vet finally convinced me in the beginning to start home testing. What was I thinking back then?
 
Re: 8/15 Znr AMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;+10 102He

Today
8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u, FDCK & 1t. 11%
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any
+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%
+10 102, 2 semi soft treats - not interested in HC food, probably full!

Well, it's been a crazy day between bean doctor appointment and Zener's big drop from near pink into the green. The good news - earned dose reduction. The confusing news - not sure what we will do about his PM dose. We are not yet comfortable shooting a full dose below 150, so will have to wait and see the numbers I suppose. ;-) We will get a +11 and post.

Any advice is welcome! It's been a very stressful day for the beans. Zener has felt fine, though a bit peeved at all the poking. cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 8/15 Znr AMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;+10 102He

good job handling the numbers today. :mrgreen:

I would reduce by 0.25u, so that would be skinny 1.5u. Good luck!
 
Re: 8/15 Znr AMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;+10 102He

Hi Anne, congrats on the reduction. You have had a busy poke day. Is Zener a good patient with the pokes? You're doing great. I'm not a dose advisor, so someone should be along, as I see you have a ? mark in the subject line. I hope you can get a break in somewhere this evening. Take care and scritches to Zener,
 
Re: 8/15 Znr AMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;+10 102He

what a day you've had! but zener is doing super now! so did zener act at all odd when he was down to the 68? just curious if his hyper-thingy (sorry, can't think of the brain name now) was at all evident? not that you planned this, but like sienne said, good to know how he responded.

do you still have a question or is the "help" left over from earlier?
 
Re: 8/15 Znr AMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;+10 102He

Thanks Libby, Ann & Julie,

It's been a stressful day but we are delighted about the reduction! Zener has done fine, no evidence of any hypo symptoms. We had to feed 17% most of the day to keep him surfing and now he is not interested in any food. My question was about shooting tonight.We are clear about the skinny 1.5 as his new dose. If his numbers are up in a range we are comfortable shooting, but we can't get him to eat, do we still shoot?
 
Re: 8/15ZnrAMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;10 102;11 1

8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u, FDCK & 1t. 11%
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any
+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%
+10 102, 2 semi soft treats - not interested in HC food, probably full!
+11 112, no food

Will get his +12 and see were things are. We can probably stall for an hour, but not much more.
 
Re: 8/15ZnrAMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;10 102;11 1

if you can't get him to eat, i think your choices are to stall the hour & then shoot, skip the shot entirely, or shoot a token dose.
 
Re: 8/15ZnrAMPS292;2 257;6 68;6.3 90;6.7-7.8 106;10 102;11 1

julie1220 said:
if you can't get him to eat, i think your choices are to stall the hour & then shoot, skip the shot entirely, or shoot a token dose.

Thanks Julie! We just got his +12 and he was 117, so not much different than at +11. We'll stall and hour and see where he is.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMBG 117 A Trak Stalling

Good thoughts from Julie. I'll add that if you shoot, he still might be "active" tonight due to the shed. Nothing you all can't handle as you have shown. You did an awesome job today!!!
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMBG 117 A Trak Stalling

8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u, FDCK & 1t. 11%
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any
+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%
+10 102, 2 semi soft treats - not interested in HC food, probably full!
+11 112, no food
PMBG +12 117, no food, will stall for an hour.

I'll post his values at PMBG +13 and go from there.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMBG 117 A Trak Stalling

I don't think I'd stall wait an hour to recheck. You want to catch him on his way up but you don't want him to get too far up. He's surfing but as his insulin wears off, he could go up quickly. The trick is to catch him so there's not too much time for him to go up before his next shot kicks in.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMBG 117 A Trak Stalling

I also wouldn't wait a full hour. 1/2 hour should be plenty. Zener already had his nadir earlier and the number has risen since then. Now he's surfing, and generally it's fine to shoot a surf. He's not dropping. I do understand not wanting to shoot this low, especially since you haven't before, but checking at 1/2 hour increments will let you catch the rise as soon as it starts. You can see that on Aug. 10 when you stalled a long time, he ended up in the high 300s.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMBG 117 A Trak Stalling

Hi Libby and Marjorie, sorry I just now read your posts. We have guests over for dinner tonight, in the midst of our chaos!

His +13 is still the same, 116. We are not really comfortable shooting him below 130. And with our recent health problems staying up and monitoring all night is not an option right now. Also, he is not interested in eating anything either, probably stuffed from a day of high carbs. We could try for a stall for another 30 minutes to 1 hour, but then our schedule for his shot will be really off. At this moment we are thinking about skipping tonight. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMPS 134 new dose A Trak

Okay, he started coming up at +13.5, so we got up a dose of courage, thanks to everyone's support, and shot his new earned reduction dose.

8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u, FDCK & 1t. 11%
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any
+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%
+10 102, 2 semi soft treats - not interested in HC food, probably full!
+11 112, no food
PMBG +12 117, no food, will stall for an hour.
+13 116, freeze dried chicken, didn't think we would shoot, but FDCK has not affected his BG before
+13.5 134, 1st cycle at new earned reduction s1.5, fed 2t. 13% carbs

Looks like we have him on the way up now. This is the lowest BG we have shot before and we are very nervous. But Libby's reminder of him going up into the 300s the last time we stalled too long helped us get a little courage to shoot this low number. We are still recovering from our lowest BG today of 68 @ +6. Looks like I will be doing night duty again tonight.

Liz has a doctor's appointment at 7 am in the morning, so she will be able to get a +10 and/or 11, then I'll be on again.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMPS 134;+1 143 lowest shot yet A Trak

Still good at +1 - 143.

8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u, FDCK & 1t. 11%
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any
+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%
+10 102, 2 semi soft treats - not interested in HC food, probably full!
+11 112, no food
PMBG +12 117, no food, will stall for an hour.
+13 116, freeze dried chicken, didn't think we would shoot, but FDCK has not affected his BG before
+13.5 - PMPS 134, 1st cycle at new earned reduction s1.5, fed 2t. 13% carbs
+1 143, ate 3t. 13%

He and Tillie are on the bed, grooming themselves. Zener has not groomed more than a minute in the past several months, and then, mostly just his face. He is giving himself a very thorough bath including his face, tail and well... the rest of his business. Will get a +2 and +3 and post.
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMPS 134;+1 143:+2 146 lowest shot yet A Trak

Still good @ +2 - 146

8/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 292, 9th cycle at s1.75u, FDCK & 1t. 11%
+1 3t 11%
+2 257, 1t. 11% - left out 11% while we were at doctor's appointment but had not eaten any
+6 68, 1t 18%, 3 semi soft treats
+6.3 90 1t. 18%
+6.7 109 1t 17%
+7.1 106 1t 17%
+7.8 106 1t 17%
+8.8 117 1t 17%
+10 102, 2 semi soft treats - not interested in HC food, probably full!
+11 112, no food
PMBG +12 117, no food, will stall for an hour.
+13 116, freeze dried chicken, didn't think we would shoot, but FDCK has not affected his BG before
+13.5 - PMPS 134, 1st cycle at new earned reduction s1.5, fed 2t. 13% carbs
+1 143, ate 3t. 13%
+2 146, ate 2t. 13%

Zener is bright eyed and alert, acting more like himself than in the 4.5 months since his dx with FD.
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMPS 134;+1 143;+2 146 lowest shot yet A Trak

Glad you shot and didn't skip. Looks like he might be on the way up so mmmmaaaayyyyybbbeeeee you'll get some rest tonight.

Hope all goes well with Liz's dr appt tomorrow.

Thanks for your support tonight.....and it's bed time for me!!
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMPS 134;+1 143;+2 146 lowest shot yet A Trak

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Glad you shot and didn't skip. Looks like he might be on the way up so mmmmaaaayyyyybbbeeeee you'll get some rest tonight.

Hope all goes well with Liz's dr appt tomorrow.

Thanks for your support tonight.....and it's bed time for me!!

Thanks Marje, I will NOT let Zener read his condo and see this suggestion he could go up and let his mama bean skip the night owl routine! Will keep all posted on how things are progressing with Liz. Blood work tomorrow and to the cardiologist on Thursday. I am glad I could provide a little support tonight. It's nice to be able to give a little in return for all I get from you and everyone else here. Sleep well! I-) Keeping paws crossed, I'll be right behind ya!
 
Re: 8/15 Zener PMPS 134;+1 143;+2 146;+3 149 A Trak

Lordy, lordy, it's been poke fest cycles today. Numbers holding steady right now after a thrilling day and earned reduction!

PMBG +12 117, no food, will stall for an hour.
+13 116, freeze dried chicken, didn't think we would shoot, but FDCK has not affected his BG before
+13.5 - PMPS 134, 1st cycle at new earned reduction s1.5, fed 2t. 13% carbs
+1 143, ate 3t. 13%
+2 146, ate 2t. 13%
+3 149, ate 2t. 15%

I'll be up another two hours, so will get a +4 or +5 before bedtime. Then, it will be the glass of water or cuppa tea alarm clock for a mid-cycle check.
 
PMBG +12 117, no food, will stall for an hour.
+13 116, freeze dried chicken, didn't think we would shoot, but FDCK has not affected his BG before
+13.5 - PMPS 134, 1st cycle at new earned reduction s1.5, fed 2t. 13% carbs
+1 143, ate 3t. 13%
+2 146, ate 2t. 13%
+3 149, ate 2t. 15%
+4 200, ate 2t. 17%, left out 2t. 13% at bedtime

Looks like it's bean bedtime. Glass of water alarm in place.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top