8/15 Smores - OTJ Day1 AMPS 70; PMPS 100; +2 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and S'mores

Member Since 2011
Smores was down in the 30's yesterday for an hour, so I decided it was time to drop the last 0.25u. I can't monitor during to day, so I need to be a bit more conservative.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/15 Smores - OTJ Day1 AMPS 76

Woohoo - Happy Day 1!!!

(And I think this is the fist time I've visited you guys - what a great way to start out! :mrgreen: )

Amy
 
Re: 8/15 Smores - OTJ Day1 AMPS 76

Not that I want to rain on your parade but if you see Smores' numbers creep up beyond the normal range, don't hesitate to restart insulin. Generally, we like to have the dose drop from 0.25u to 0.1u. The idea is to provide support for the pancreas for as long as possible. Smores was in the upper blues a week ago so I'm hoping this holds.

Here are the instructions for an OTJ trial:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 8/15 Smores - OTJ Day1 AMPS 76

:RAHCAT yey S'mores, way to stay green... :mrgreen: !! Keep up the good work!!!

Sam, I am very happy and excited for you and S'mores :-D

Roberta
and Casey
 
Re: 8/15 Smores - OTJ Day1 AMPS 76

Congratulations on your OTJ trial!

UncleSamphotos.jpg


I'll send more information via PM. :-D
 
Still going strong!

I checked my meter, and it was actually 70 this morning, not 76... delayed data entry always causes errors.

Thanks for the OTJ protocol Sienne. There is not much on that in the stickies. I'd love to give him some more insulin support, but he reacted so strongly yesterday that I don't want to risk it during the week when I cannot monitor. If he drifts back up, I'll try a PM dose and see how it goes.

Finger's crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top