? 8/15 Ivy AMPS 393, +2 400, +6 291, +9, 265, Pmps 306, +2.5 221, +5 196 Dose Question

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-14-ivy-amps-302-5-195-pmps-99-1-104-2-82-3-146-4-116-5-156-6-129-10-326-libre.280501/
G
ave full dose 2.5 u Lantus this am (after reducing dose to 2 U last night drop at shot time, she was dropping very fast to under 100 on Libre). Watching action on her Libre.
When I tried to eatr poke her when she was in 80s on Libre, I couldn’t get enough blood, then her food kicked in and she bounced up) :banghead:

High pink bg at amps today. I assume she will break bounce rather quickly, she’s breaking bounces fast.

Wish I had known yesterday she was going to do a fast dive at +11-12. (I would have given a small snack before +10, but had no idea she was gonna do that).
**Is there any reason to give a regular snack just before +10?

She had a relatively flat yellow day, & 3 cycles before the pm cycle, were flat.
(Guess she needed to break that flat yellow string of numbers?)

I think had I not boosted her up with many snacks last night, she probably would have earned a reduction. I never let her drop that low by adding mc 15% FF to her regular food snacks (and a few drops Karo at pm meal time only, although it didn’t hold her up).
(First 3 hours I fed snacks around every 30 minutes.)

Question: Do I hold this dose?
Today is day 7 on this dose.
I will post updates today.

Have a great day everyone.
@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bandit's Mom
 
**Is there any reason to give a regular snack just before +10?
The only reason I'd give a snack just before +10 is if she's diving into preshot and you want to give her a little boost to make sure she's in safe numbers at preshot to shoot. Otherwise a snack then can shorten duration and you might end up with a higher preshot.

I can't answer your question on what to do with the dose, since there was no testing with the BG meter. With SLGS, you hold the dose if the nadirs (note the plural) are between 90-149 using a BG meter.
 
The only reason I'd give a snack just before +10 is if she's diving into preshot and you want to give her a little boost to make sure she's in safe numbers at preshot to shoot. Otherwise a snack then can shorten duration and you might end up with a higher preshot.

I can't answer your question on what to do with the dose, since there was no testing with the BG meter. With SLGS, you hold the dose if the nadirs (note the plural) are between 90-149 using a BG meter.
Ok I see. Problem is she likes to dive in the last hour before preshot.
As far as her nadirs, it appears she’s had some in the 90-149 range, just not every cycle, based on the Libre readings. Plus all the bouncing g she does.

I know you rely on the BG meter, but it’s really tough for me to strictly use that with Ivy unless truly necessary on the day to day, since she’s so fractious. It makes this really hard for me to get her glucose managed.

I’m really not sure what to do.
 
Back
Top