8/15 Booger PMPS 360 +2 515! Getting Concerned..

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
This is Booger's 6th cycle of insulin and her numbers are rising, majorly! I know there is a breaking in period and that it may take some time but is this normal? It seems like she responds to every insulin injection negatively. I'm not sure how to interpret it. I don't know if it's stress from all the shots and testing, her body responding to the newly introduced insulin and secreting additional hormones or what but I'm concerned when she sat on lap and urinated on me tonight after I tested her and I was shocked when I got a +2 reading of 515. I was beginning to question our injection techniques so we went back over this, we shaved her fur in the injection areas so we could better visualize what we are doing. I know that was not the issue with the last shot and am confident it wasn't before, but I'm confused. What gives?
 
Hi Jennifer!

We know it's awfully hard to see those high numbers, but there's just not much you can do but wait until the depot has a chance to fill. It's possible Booger will need more insulin...but it's also possible that once the depot is full, she'll start to look better.

You're doing a GREAT job of testing...we couldn't ask for anything better!

The one thing you do want to watch carefully for especially while she's in those higher numbers is ketones. Are you testing her urine for ketones? If you are, it'd be great for you to put that info in the "Remarks" on your spreadsheet.

Now for some housekeeping....We only start one condo per day, and you should post the link to your prior day's condo in your new one. Just "copy" the link from the address bar and then click on the URL tab at the top of the message box and "paste" the link. It'll look like this Your link here[url] Here's today's...viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123585&p=1282659#p1282659 Since there wasn't much information in todays other than discussing different meter's, we can use this one for now, but tomorrow, post the link to this one in your condo.

Here's your Introduction post in TR too

Also, let me offer you the loan of some of our prettiest pairs of Patients Pants....We've all worn them, and they do get tight at times!
file.php
 
Booger may also be telling you that it's OK to forgo more testing tonight and OK to get a good nights sleep. Gotta save your energy for when she really goes low.
 
Hi Chris and thank you so much for responding and putting my mind a little at ease. Yes, it has been hard to watch her increase instead of going the other way. Thanks also for the encouragement with the testing. I have not yet begun testing for ketones. I do need to start that. I must figure out a way to test her with my other 2 as they share litter boxes currently. I do apologize for the multiple posts. I am slowly learning the ropes of the forum here.. and thanks for those pants, patience was never a virtue of mine but it looks like I better suit up! ;-)

Thank you Wendy. I know I should probably do that so I'm not exhausted when the time does come...
 
Sending lots of patience vines to you! I am not very good at that one either....

Skooter stayed in the high numbers for awhile until his body just kind of "clicked" with the insulin and then he started the trek on down to the blues and the greens. It is hard because I was so envious of others who would get the blues and greens and I never thought I would get out of the blacks, reds and pinks....I began to HATE those three colors!!!

But it really does come down to patience (doesn't that just suck?!?!)....But Skooter was up to 5u BID and tonight he just earned another reduction down to .5u BID.....

So as much as it sucks, just give it time and it will come!!!
 
I too vote to maybe get a +3 or 4 and then call it a night. Trust me, when the pj parties start happening you will need to be awake until the wee hours of the morning. It's hard to be patient and let it all happen but you will find you need tons of it.
 
Here are some Urine Testing Tips that might help.

It really is important to test for ketones and if you get more than a trace, it's an emergency and you need to get her to a vet immediately. High ketones are hard to treat, very expensive and unfortunately, not always successful.

If you get a "Trace", make sure you post and edit your first subject line to say something like "Trace Ketones! Help!!" so we can advise you. Trace ketones can sometimes be treated at home, but it's important that you get to it quickly.

All diabetic cats should be tested, but it's especially important if they're in high numbers.
 
I think that is what I shall do, Elise. It's been a long couple of days. And I need to get to the pharmacy for ketone strips tomorrow. She was 379 at +4, so better than 515 at least.

Thanks Molly, I need all the help I can get! I checked out your SS and my you have been down a road.. and probably more than what I can see even there! Kudos to you for all of your hard work... all of you are amazing actually.

I was going to ask about urine testing but I see you've already pointed me in that direction, thanks Chris. I'm going to peek at that and call it a day.

Thanks again!
Jen and Booger
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top