Sherry & Zoe (GA)
Member Since 2009
Last Condo
Hello LL,
I have a question for you....
First a little background:
Zoe quit eating about 10 days ago. We did blood work, x-rays, abdominal ultasound and an echocardiogram - all of which were normal (except that she was constipated...which they handled that day). She was put on Cerenia and Mirtazapine at first....neither did a thing to help, then we started giving sub-q fluids and added famotidine...didn't help, although the fluids seemed to perk her up. We were syringe feeding throughout this. Finally the internist we saw for the ultrasound and echo added odansetron for Nausea....what a miracle that was. Within a day of starting it, Zoe was eating on her own and I was only supplementing her food intake with syringe feeding.
While she was not eating, I lowered her insulin from 3 units BID to 2 units BID and finally down to none. Now my question is....when do I restart it? Her bgs have been below 120, usually around 100. Do I restart Lantus or not. My vet said no, not until her bg gets to be over 180 (I think that is waiting too long to restart). She is currently eating FF, Tiki Cat and some Whiskas.
Thanks for your input!
Hello LL,
I have a question for you....
First a little background:
Zoe quit eating about 10 days ago. We did blood work, x-rays, abdominal ultasound and an echocardiogram - all of which were normal (except that she was constipated...which they handled that day). She was put on Cerenia and Mirtazapine at first....neither did a thing to help, then we started giving sub-q fluids and added famotidine...didn't help, although the fluids seemed to perk her up. We were syringe feeding throughout this. Finally the internist we saw for the ultrasound and echo added odansetron for Nausea....what a miracle that was. Within a day of starting it, Zoe was eating on her own and I was only supplementing her food intake with syringe feeding.
While she was not eating, I lowered her insulin from 3 units BID to 2 units BID and finally down to none. Now my question is....when do I restart it? Her bgs have been below 120, usually around 100. Do I restart Lantus or not. My vet said no, not until her bg gets to be over 180 (I think that is waiting too long to restart). She is currently eating FF, Tiki Cat and some Whiskas.
Thanks for your input!