8/14 Zoe AMBG 118 Restart Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry & Zoe (GA)

Member Since 2009
Last Condo

Hello LL,

I have a question for you....

First a little background:

Zoe quit eating about 10 days ago. We did blood work, x-rays, abdominal ultasound and an echocardiogram - all of which were normal (except that she was constipated...which they handled that day). She was put on Cerenia and Mirtazapine at first....neither did a thing to help, then we started giving sub-q fluids and added famotidine...didn't help, although the fluids seemed to perk her up. We were syringe feeding throughout this. Finally the internist we saw for the ultrasound and echo added odansetron for Nausea....what a miracle that was. Within a day of starting it, Zoe was eating on her own and I was only supplementing her food intake with syringe feeding.

While she was not eating, I lowered her insulin from 3 units BID to 2 units BID and finally down to none. Now my question is....when do I restart it? Her bgs have been below 120, usually around 100. Do I restart Lantus or not. My vet said no, not until her bg gets to be over 180 (I think that is waiting too long to restart). She is currently eating FF, Tiki Cat and some Whiskas.

Thanks for your input!
 
I'm so glad to hear that Zoe is feeling better!!

Would you be able to collect some additional data? I'm thinking that in addition to your pre-shot time tests, could you get a test during what would be the PM cycle? I'm hoping that Zoe's numbers stay below 120 but I'll be curious to see what happens now that she's eating. I think for now, if her numbers remain this good, you don't need to be shooting. Let's see what some of the others have to say, though.

If you're not already doing so, I'd feed her multiple, small meals and see if she's able to bring her BG numbers in this range.
 
Hi Sherry - I am so glad that Zoe is eating on her own again. YAY!

I can't really help with the dosing, but what Sienne says makes sense to me. Wishing you much luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top