Chris & Tucker
Member Since 2012
Hello friends.....
Tuesday July 17th, Tucker was diagnosed with diabetis and incarcerated at the vets for a week of Humulin injections and "regulation" (aka-waterboarding).
Tuesday July 24th, I was somehow lead here to "The Feline Diabetes Message Board" for help and education.
I wasn't sure I could handle a diabetic cat, and questioned what my options were. I didn't think I had the time to do it, with my job and lifestyle.
A FDMB Angel told me I could do it!!
Wednesday July 25th at 4pm, Tucker was liberated from vet captivity, and certain death, thanks to the FDMB.
When I picked Tucker up, the vet told me to give him the evening 6U dose of Humulin at 8PM. I was told to bring Tucker back in 4 weeks for some test. No other instruction, and no special feeding recommendations. I was on my own.
Thanks to FDMB, I was ready for Tucker to come home. I had thrown out the dry food, bought plenty of LC canned food, had a BG meter/strips & ketone stix, and a prescription for Lantus .
That evening, I decided to do a BG test, since I was ready to take an active role in Tuckers health management. The PMPS was 54. I decided to skip that evening shot. Next morning AMPS was 235, I decided to give a smaller 1U dose, since I thought I shouldn't miss another dose. I was in a panic when at +4 the BG was 24 !
Now..... imagine if I gave the 6U vet recommended dose the night before at 8PM. I would have certainly had a dead cat by morning! I am 100% certain of that.
I decided to follow the advice of The Feline Diabetes Message Board, and not the advice of my "10yr behind the times" vet.
Fast forward to today: With the handholding and advice of many wonderful people here, I'm very happy to say, 28 days later, Tucker is "Off the Juice" and "Honeymooning at the falls" !
Thanks to FDMB, Tucker and I can live free of the daily insulin injections we would have had to endure if we listened to the vet, and if Tucker would have lived through that first night. I know that it's a remission, not a cure. I'll continue to pay close attention to his weight, his food, his behavior, and will check occasional BG levels. I believe Sophie, my 10yr old 20lb Maine Coon, will now live a healthier life due to the diet changes. She's dropped a pound or two already. Additionally, all my friends who have kitties, are now aware of the evils of dry food, and are making the change to canned food.
Hopefully the vet will take the information I provided him and treat future feline diabetes properly. I believe things happen for a reason!
Tucker and I send Sincere Thanks to all of you for your help! There was always someone available here to help us through this!
Thank you for the wonderful OTJ party, fantastic menu, fabulous video and heartfelt messages!
Best wishes to you and your kitties!
Chris and Tucker
Tuesday July 17th, Tucker was diagnosed with diabetis and incarcerated at the vets for a week of Humulin injections and "regulation" (aka-waterboarding).
Tuesday July 24th, I was somehow lead here to "The Feline Diabetes Message Board" for help and education.
I wasn't sure I could handle a diabetic cat, and questioned what my options were. I didn't think I had the time to do it, with my job and lifestyle.
A FDMB Angel told me I could do it!!
Wednesday July 25th at 4pm, Tucker was liberated from vet captivity, and certain death, thanks to the FDMB.
When I picked Tucker up, the vet told me to give him the evening 6U dose of Humulin at 8PM. I was told to bring Tucker back in 4 weeks for some test. No other instruction, and no special feeding recommendations. I was on my own.
Thanks to FDMB, I was ready for Tucker to come home. I had thrown out the dry food, bought plenty of LC canned food, had a BG meter/strips & ketone stix, and a prescription for Lantus .
That evening, I decided to do a BG test, since I was ready to take an active role in Tuckers health management. The PMPS was 54. I decided to skip that evening shot. Next morning AMPS was 235, I decided to give a smaller 1U dose, since I thought I shouldn't miss another dose. I was in a panic when at +4 the BG was 24 !
Now..... imagine if I gave the 6U vet recommended dose the night before at 8PM. I would have certainly had a dead cat by morning! I am 100% certain of that.
I decided to follow the advice of The Feline Diabetes Message Board, and not the advice of my "10yr behind the times" vet.
Fast forward to today: With the handholding and advice of many wonderful people here, I'm very happy to say, 28 days later, Tucker is "Off the Juice" and "Honeymooning at the falls" !
Thanks to FDMB, Tucker and I can live free of the daily insulin injections we would have had to endure if we listened to the vet, and if Tucker would have lived through that first night. I know that it's a remission, not a cure. I'll continue to pay close attention to his weight, his food, his behavior, and will check occasional BG levels. I believe Sophie, my 10yr old 20lb Maine Coon, will now live a healthier life due to the diet changes. She's dropped a pound or two already. Additionally, all my friends who have kitties, are now aware of the evils of dry food, and are making the change to canned food.
Hopefully the vet will take the information I provided him and treat future feline diabetes properly. I believe things happen for a reason!
Tucker and I send Sincere Thanks to all of you for your help! There was always someone available here to help us through this!
Thank you for the wonderful OTJ party, fantastic menu, fabulous video and heartfelt messages!
Best wishes to you and your kitties!
Chris and Tucker