8/14 Tiggy PMPS 187 +3 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

No blues but a green will do!!!!!! Question though - I only gave him 3IU as I wasnt sure if his normal 4.5IU was too much. Thought I would wait an hour and see what his blood is doing and give him the remaining 1.5IU if he is over 100.. what do you think?


ps Didnt open the new insulin yet.
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 - no blues - straight to green!

Hi guys .. what an awesome start! I don't think waiting an hour and a half and then do the remaining insulin is a good idea ... lantus is shot on a 12/12 schedule .. what you've shot is known as a BCS (big chicken sh ... ) shot, which is just less then what you would normally do for various reasons .. with this lower start, you might want to check on tiggy for a +1 or +2 .. Wait for others to stop by with more dosing advice, or change your title to dosing question to get more eyes ok? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 -dosing question

I just measured him +2 and he had dropped to 77. Usually he rises after his AMPS as we open fresh canned food at that time ( he is a free feeder but the fresh canned is always exciting and he eats more). So I am pleasantly surprised he dropped. So I havent given him the remaining 1.5 and am kinda glad I didnt give the full dose. Still would love everyones input !!!
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 -dosing question

You don't want split the shot the way you're suggesting. It's way too easy to make an error. Even if you give a partial shot and plan to use the amount remaining in the syringe, you don't want to leave Lantus pre-loaded in the syringe. AND, if you split the dose, you then have 2 nadirs and when is your next shot due? With Lantus, shoot at 12 hours and not at 12 and 14 (or whatever) hours. If you do, there's a good chance you will end up with wonky numbers.

You also need to keep in mind that you often don't see the effect of a reduced dose during the current cycle. You may see the effect tonight. There's still activity from the insulin depot which is based on your dose of 4.5u.

You may want to read Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers. Ideally, you want to "shoot low to stay low."
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 -dosing question

Glad to see Tiggy enjoying some green :mrgreen: I can't give dosing advice, that is for the experts here! I understand the "nadir vs. now" qualms that you decided to give a lower dose, it can be hard to trust the protocol when facing a unexpected low PS number. Still you did shoot on schedule, and that seems better than skipping the shot altogether.
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 -dosing question

Ok but question now is where do I go from here? He was due an increase today based on the last few days nadirs (not including today). So what now given these greens? Do I increase him anyway tonite and assume this was a temporary glitch? Or hold the 4.5IU dose for 3 more days to see what happens now?
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 +4 47 + 6 56 -dosing question

Glad to see Tiggy came back up above 50! Please keep an eye on him in case he dips again, cats can be full of surprises. I can't advise on dosing, this is a question for the wise ones. Suggest you put the (?) icon on your original post to help the gurus notice your question.
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 +4 47 + 6 56 -dosing question

I thought I had put the ? icon on it.. cant u see it? I am new to LL so not sure if I did it right?
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 +4 47 + 6 56 -dosing question

With that +4 at 47, Tiggy gets a decrease in dose! Surprise!!!

Your dose for tonight is 4.25u.
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 +4 47 + 6 56 -dosing question

yippee! So I hold that for 3 days? or 7?

Under "general guidelines" - Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Under "Reducing the dose" it says "Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further."
 
Re: 8/14 Tiggy AMPS 97 + 2 77 +4 47 + 6 56 -dosing question

Those are 2 different things. A cat can get a dose reduction either by dropping below 50 or by spending 7 days in normal BG numbers. You hold a new dose for 3 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top