? 8/14 Tango AMPS 416 +5 78 +6 103 PMPS 290 Dosing Help Pls

Lori C & Tango

Member Since 2022
@Bandit's Mom @admin @tiffmaxee

Will someone please review and assist with tonight's dose due in 20 minutes. I thought we were going to go with the TR method, but now I don't think I'm 100% comfortable of not reducing dose regardless of BG readings. We were going to stick with 2.75U. Tango started out high this morning then dropped a lot in 5 hours and came back up a little. Last time he ate was a little over 2 hours ago.

Please advise!
 
For now stick with SLGS and read the stickies. Today’s cycle was a typical one for a cat new to lantus. The 78 was the nadir and then he came up by pmps. So until/if you are ready to do TR reductions are if under 90. Go back to 2.5 and hold that dose for 7 days unless you see a bg under 90. If you do you reduce again.
 
Last edited:
I’m adding if you want to still try TR I don’t think it will be an active cycle but no guarantees.
 
For now stick with SLGS and read the stickies. Today’s cycle was a typical one for a cat new to lantus. The 78 was the nadir and then he came up by pmps. So until/if you are ready to do TR reductions are if under 90. Go back to 2.5 and hold that dose for 7 days unless you see a bg under 90. If you do you reduce again.
For now stick with SLGS and read the stickies. Today’s cycle was a typical one for a cat new to lantus. The 78 was the nadir and then he came up by pmps. So until/if you are ready to do TR reductions are if under 90. Go back to 2.5 and hold that dose for 7 days unless you see a bg under 90. If you do you reduce again.

This is the part I don't understand. If we do TR, would we still reduce to 2.5 as his BG was 78 at one point? Or stay with 2.75?
 
IF you follow TR you reduce if under 68 on the AT meter. With SLGS it’s under 90. An active cycle is one where the bg might go low and you would need to rest more often.
 

Thanks for all the links and all your help tonight. I have printed out and will read. For tonight's dose, Tango got 2.75. Hubby loaded syringe with 2.75. I thought he was doing 2.5. Miscommunication. We'll monitor. I think Tango will be fine. He's still peeing more than normal, he's not drinking as much water, but still more than usual, and he's getting his energy back - moving around more - using his tall condo, which he didn't touch the first couple of months. Always had an appetite.
 
If you can get over the fear everyone initially has with low numbers TR will give you the best chance at remission and get him feeling well faster. Green becomes contagious. Good job hubby.
 
If you can get over the fear everyone initially has with low numbers TR will give you the best chance at remission and get him feeling well faster. Green becomes contagious. Good job hubby.

Lol! Hubby liked your comment. Tango's AMPS was 342 last night @ +2 was 398. Going to stay with 2.75 on TR!
 
Remember you can post for help with managing the bg with food. There’s also so much (too much at first) information on how to do this in the stickies. The first time you shoot green someone will stay with you and guide you. If you see a 911 for another cat or someone needing help with low numbers, read their condo and see how it was handled. Knowledge breeds confidence.
 
Back
Top