8/14 Talley PMPS 168

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brigitte & Talley

Member Since 2010
Last Condo

Talley's out to get me. He didn't eat breakfast this morning. He absolutely refused. He gave me that cat-mastered look of "what is this filth?" and tried to bury his food for 6 hours. I gave him dietary supplement and he's been good for a day.

I know every cat reacts differently to insulin, but what do you think would be a safe, decreased dose number to give him when he hovers at 150? I dosed him 0.5u. Where's the cut-off point when a cat should just skip a dose rather than risk hypoglycemia?

Thanks in advance,
Mommy's-Going-Insane
 
Welcome to Lantus Land! (I don't think I've posted to you before).

We actually shoot pretty low in Lantus Land, once you have collected the data to do so. Newbies generally can shoot over about 150 or 180. Once you do that, you'll collect data so next time you can shoot a little lower, and the next time a little lower, etc.

If Talley is lower than you want to shoot, there are a couple of options. These are listed in my order of preference, but your mileage may vary. ;-)

1. Don't feed yet, stall and test again in 30 minutes to see if he is rising. Keep stalling until he gets to a number you're comfortable shooting, then give the whole dose. This option has the least effect on the shed, but will mess up your schedule if you stall for very long.

2. Shoot a reduced dose on time. This will effect the shed for a few cycles, but lets you stay on schedule.

3. Skip the shot. Obviously this is the least favorable option because it will drain the shed and take a while to get back on track.

So there you go! What I would suggest for now is to pick a dose and stay with it, AM and PM, for at least 6 cycles (unless he goes too low). Numbers will always be variable when you're shooting different doses all the time, Lantus likes consistency so changing doses really clouds the picture.
 
Hi Brigitte

kitty on strike this morning huh? cat(2)_steam

It does get easier thou! Honest!
Have a look around some of the lower preshot kitty spreadsheets. Don't be alarmed if you see a lot of testing.
Although that helps, but you do what you can, as well as according to your schedule.

Your availability to monitor, have enough supplies on hand and HC foods will be asked when the time comes.

People here will guide you along when Talley decides to be adventurous :lol:
 
Libby described your options. The other point to mention is that when you are shooting a lower number than you're used to, you need to be around to monitor and you need to have supplies on hand. I think if you take a look at some of the subject lines and the pre-shot numbers, you'll see that we routinely shoot low numbers BUT when doing so, people have the data that allows them to do this.

If you keep re-adjusting your dose, it's going to make it hard to get numbers that are more in the range you're looking for. Lantus likes consistency. I tend to think that you could have shot your full dose with your current PMPS if you were going to be home to monitor. It is scary the first couple of times -- especially if you see low numbers. We are here to help you manage it if you are unsure what to do. We rarely have a cat experience symptoms of hypoglycemia because when shooting a lower number, we encourage you to get tests early in the cycle and have strips and high carb food on hand. All of this gives you considerable control over the cycle.
 
Thanks guys! I guess I'll have to be braver about his low numbers. I'm not in school yet so I have all the time in the universe to test him and monitor.

*glares sidelong at picky cat*

Regulate, damn you!

I keep an extra pack of test strips in my medicine cabinet that I rotate out so they don't expire. So at any given time, I have 50-100 strips in the house and a backup test device. I'm only slightly paranoid.

*pets Talley gently* Time for Mr. Ear's appointment with Mr. Stabby, sweetie. Wait! No! Not under the bed! I'll give you treeeeeats.

Thank you!
Brigitte and Mr. Picky-Pants

Oh! And sorry about posting this late. I'm supposed to start a new thread each day, I know. But I didn't get a chance to reply to all you kind helpers last night because we lost power. Pricking by flashlight... that was a new experience.
 
Hi Brigette and Talley! Great job with you SS and linking yesterday's condo to today's! Very nice job! :mrgreen:
Pretty nice AMPS for Talley too. I was wondering if Talley has any issues or if on any meds for anything.
Glad you two are here!
Here in Lantus Land, we know that our kitties are more than just their BG numbers....so we have a short way to do our Whole Cat Report each day... (WCR) We use the 5 Ps....to tell a little of how our kitty is feeling...
P-Peeing
P-Preening
P-Pooping
P-Purring
P-Playing
If all Ps are present, the kitty is doing pretty well. You might see written "3Ps in place so far today" or something like that...when you are reading other kitty's condos. I encourage you to visit too...just stop in and say hello ...we are like a big happy family here, all living in the same building... :lol: Much can be learned by reading what is going on in other kitties' lives. You will see that we like to laugh a little too while dealing with FD...but we are most serious about how all the sugar babies are doing each day.
We watch for their bodily functions like hawks... :lol: Might seem weird to people but we are constantly making sure that they are doing well in all departments.
So, welcome again to you and Talley! Hope you are having a good day...any questions you have, please post in your vondo and if you have any updates during the day, we wold love to see them! :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top