8/14 Talley AMPS 246

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Help! Talley hypo twice in three days

I honestly don't think Talley has been hypoglycemic, unless he was symptomatic. He's been having numbers that are lower than what you're used to and what you're comfortable with. There is a difference between symptomatic hypoglycemia and low numbers. Numbers in the 50 - 100 range are good -- they allow the pancreas to heal. If you look at the numbers that many of the kitties here have in the subject lines of their posts, you'll see some have low numbers.

We manage low numbers using high carb, canned food. If you are worried about Talley's numbers and don't have high carb food at home, you can mix some Karo syrup into his regular food.

It does look like Talley is bouncing. It will also help if you start getting test data during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night.

It will probably help if you lower Talley's dose so you can not skip shots. I would reduce his dose to 1.75u. You may still see some lower numbers until some of the stored Lantus is reduced. It'a also quite possible that Talley's pancreas is doing better which is why your seeing lower numbers -- his pancreas is producing insulin. It would help if you would read the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. In particular, you should take a look at the sticky on the Tight Regulation Protocols. The formal versions of the protocols are linked in that post.

It would also help to know what you're feeding Talley.
 
Re: Help! Talley hypo twice in three days

Thanks. I'll definitely be reducing his dose this morning.

For food, he eats the Gourmet Fancy Feast packs. I believe the one I typically feed him read 3 on the carb segment on Binky's list. His dry food is Nature's Instinct in both rabbit and chicken meal. Considering cutting him off the dry completely since he doesn't seem to like eating it anyway. Not making/risking any diet changes until I get him nice and regulated, though.
 
Re: Help! Talley hypo twice in three days

Hi Brigitte and Talley

welcome to the Lantus forum (aka LL - Lantus Land)

Just in case noone has passed this on to you, you may want to print these two links up so you are armed and ready for hypo.
How To Treat Hypo
Jojo's Hypo Tool Kit


Home testing gets easier, and ears do heal. Don't get discouraged - keep at it. It usually is a little tough for the first week or so. If you're interested in paw testing, here are a couple of handy links:
PAW TESTING VIDEO
How To Do Paw Testing On Cats

Treats can go a long way when you're home testing. Kitties love treats, and you may notice they will come running just to get a treat and forget all about the pesky ear pokes. Here is a link to help you choose a good alternative for kitty:
Low Carb Kitty Treats

When you have a chance, a spreadsheet would really help others in following your progress.
The spreadsheet can be linked to your signature too. Check out other members here and you'll see we have our spreadsheet as a quick link in our signatures.
Spreadsheet Set Up

Do read the starred stickies up above. Lots to learn about Lantus. Here is a quick link for you:
New To The Group
Tilly's Protocol: Modified Version

Keep us posted with Talley and ask all the questions you may have.
 
Re: Help! Talley hypo twice in three days

Thank you. You guys have been very helpful so far.

This morning he tested 350 mg/dL. I swear Talley's testing my sanity. Most likely a side effect of the high carb food last night without insulin. I'll get to work on a spreadsheet while I'm here.
 
Re: Help! Talley hypo twice in three days

Brigitte & Talley said:
Not making/risking any diet changes until I get him nice and regulated, though.
But making a diet change to all wet food is often what gets kitties nice and regulated.

I took away BigMac's dry food immediately and within 24 hrs. He was peeing less and had less thirst. I still had to treat him with insulin, but the diet change made a huge impact for the better....right away.

Welcome to Lantus! You are doing great things to help your kitty. You have already seen how helpful everyone is here and don't worry some of us can be kind of light hearted and silly too.

We want you to be well informed, supported with friendliness, and smile and laugh with us when needed. Diabetes is scary enough. :lol:
 
Re: Help! Talley hypo twice in three days

No kidding on that last sentence. Sometimes I think Talley wants me to die of stress nailbite_smile

Ah, but it's worth it. I've had Talley since I was 8 years old and I'm not about to lose him to a treatable disease.

The dry food is mostly kept because it's cheaper than if I switched him to an all-can diet. As much as I wish I could spend infinite money, I do have a budget to keep within. Maybe I'll look around again and see if I can't cost cut and allow the switch. He seems to hate his dry food anyway. He'll only eat it if I mix it into the canned food. Cutting it off might make both of us happy. I can probably make the argument to my dad that the initial cost of the canned food is probably balanced by the reduction in dose it'll probably cause. He's already down a whole unit from what he was on for 11 months so the insulin will last longer.

Since Talley had a high carb diet 10 hours ago, I'm trying not to take his high number this morning as a norm. I'm still reducing his insulin to 1.50u and seeing if it doesn't balance out if I can dose him tonight instead of skipping an injection again. I couldn't measure out 1.75 because my syringes go in increments of 1u. My dad is picking up some on the way home from work that go in increments of .50u so those should make things easier. I've made a lil spreadsheet as per the guide you linked. I'll go put it in my sig!

Aw, Talley. Sleeping under my desk completely oblivious to how panicked I was. I need to take up meditation, guys. Thank you again everyone for the advice and support. Not just last night, but over these 11 months of stress and horror. Here's hoping it at least gets easier to deal with in the second year.
 
Re: Help! Talley hypo twice in three days

I see a new shiny spreadsheet.... :-D good job!

ETA: you may want to update the subject line of this thread.

Here's how: Go to your first post in this thread, hit "edit" and you can add the date, kitty's name and AMPS for today. Hit "submit"
When you have updates, just reply to the last post in this thread.
If you're updating numbers, add them to the first subject line too.

Here in the Lantus forum, we ask one thread per day per kitty.
Anytime someone replies to your thread, it gets bumped to the top.
If you need urgent help, add HELP to your subject line.

Tomorrow, you begin a new thread for the day.
You'll also learn to link previous threads to the new day so it's easier to glance back.
Others may do that for you til you get the hang of things.
Helps if you look around at others threads too, you get an idea of how this forum works.

Oh lastly, a thread here is also known as a "condo" like kitty condo :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top