8/14 Phoenix BG 66 at + 10.5

While I am waiting for a reply, I will give a little more information. Phoenix has been on antibiotics for about 2 weeks. Just 2 days ago, his diarrhea cleared up and he started playing with his toys agsin. While he had the infection, his BG
You can give him a snack of low carb food but you would then need to push out the insulin by 1/2 hour. Can you do that?
Yes !
 
While I am waiting for a reply, I will give a little more information. Phoenix has been on antibiotics for about 2 weeks. Just 2 days ago, his diarrhea cleared up and he started playing with his toys agsin. While he had the infection, his BG went up. I had to increase his regular insulin dose of 10.25 units to 11.25. I think he is going to go really low on the 11.25 units if I give it to him at his PM injection.
/QUOTE]
This is crazy! I checked his BG just 15 minutes later before I gave a snack. The meter read 129. I retested and got 122. I am going to hold off on the snack for now and see how he does.
 
If his BG is now reading 129/122 with no snack, I would say it is rising because he is coming to the end of the cycle and the insulin os wearing off.
 
If his BG is now reading 129/122 with no snack, I would say it is rising because he is coming to the end of the cycle and the insulin os wearing off.
Yes, that is without a snack. I have been checking his BG every 15 minutes since he dropped to 66. Phoenix has a habit of dropping fast. I will give him the 11.25 units we increased it to because he hasn't fallen to 50. I believe he will drop very low tonight since his infection is clearing up. Thank you for your help. I wasn't sure what to do since it was within the 2 hour window. It is now 15 minutes before his insulin injection.
 
Are you able to monitor the cycle tonight? I’d get a +2 and go from there so you don’t get a nasty surprise when you test a bit later. ;)
Yes, I can monitor tonight. Thankfully, I am retired. He is at 229 at +2. I will check Phoenix again at +5. Thank you so much for responding and checking back with me. I really appreciate it.
 
Sorry Susan, it was 4am for me!
Phoenix is looking good. Glad to hear that his diarrhea has cleard up and he's feeling better! :-)
 
Back
Top