8/14 Jynx AMPS 277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Jynx

Member Since 2011
Thank you, all, for your helpful thoughts and suggestions.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49895

As suggested by the vet, I did skip his dose last night, and then spoke with her this morning. I explained that I would like to try Jynx on the 0.25U BID dosing (based on the protocol, and his BS# under 50 a couple of days ago). I've started him on the dosage today. Unfortunately, it's a crazy weekend, so I'll be away most of the day.

I was thinking about doing a full curve some time this week.

When Jynx was first diagnosed, I had given the vet a copy of the Queensland Protocol (along with other info that I found through this site). I've printed out the Roomp info, so that I can review it today. I'll also start a binder with the info (great suggestion)!

Thank you for the 0.25U measuring suggestions. It isn't very easy to be accurate at such a small dose. Luckily, we were already using the 0.5 marked syringes from Walmart.

The diet is going well, except that my 2nd cat (Jaggy, black DSH, healthy, a bit overweight) doesn't seem to want to eat the Evo. I'm trying to change them over from the FF to the Evo, so we'll see how it goes :)

Also, I'm giving Jynx the Purebite treats at testing time.

Have a nice day! I really appreciate your help.
Lisa
 
hi lisa, just wanted to add my welcome to everyone else's! glad you're here - but it doesn't look like you will be for long.

i wonder if your vet is confusing lantus directions for humans and dogs. humans and dogs have a similar metabolism and the recommended dosing is once every 24 hours. cats have a faster metabolism and are harder than dogs to regulate. all of our cats are once every 12 hour shots - and likely if you're going to have success with jynx that's what you're going to need to do.

good luck! keep asking questions and we'll do our best to help you understand how it all works. it is confusing!
 
Hi Lisa:

Without last night's BG, it's hard to know why your vet said not to shoot. We do have a protocol for what to do when you get a low number at PS. I have a link in my signature block to the information for Low preshots but it typically involves a couple options:

1. stall until the BG starts to come up and then shoot the regular dose
2. shoot a reduced dose
3. skip the dose if the number does not come up and is not safe to shoot or the bean cannot monitor.

Tight regulation is all about learning to shoot low...you have to shoot low to stay low. I'm not saying you should have shot those green numbers because you don't have the data for it yet. If you can post when you get a mid to low blue or green number, then we can walk you through it. The best consistency is shooting the 12s. We're here to help you learn to safely do that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top