8/14, Binie, AMPS 269, +3 116, +4 95, +10 HI/526 Accu Check

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-accu-check-2-75-40-libre-3-121-libre.293084/

Good evening,

we had a bit lower start than usual in the day and an early drop at +2. Unfortunately I had lots of online-meetings throughout the day and so I gave her more carbs than necessary. :( I just remembered the scary drop monday night and I couldn't have handeld that while working. She stayed a bit lower for some time and than had a major bounce. Since +10 she is over 500 and I feel so sorry for her. The sensor was off for an hour because her bg changed so quickly. I hope she comes down gently tonight. Really strange she is seeing these numbers with 1 IU after I thought that I have to increase the dose of 1.25 fat IU.

Yesterday my vet wrote me an e-mail with the results of the urine test. Again, they couldn't use the sample because of a contamination, even though I was catching her urine directly in a sterile cup and not like last time with medical litter. I was so sad because I don't know what to do more and I feel I am failing Binie. We never had this problem before. I remember in the past I even brought her urine in sterilized jam jars to the vet and it always worked.

Unfortunately writing with my vet is not so helpful, because she never gives clear advices about what do to next. I asked if she wants me to bring another sample or if we should consider a suprapubic bladder aspiration. That was her answer: "The suprapubic bladder aspiration is the gold standard. But we don't know, if the bladder is full enough." I really like her, but her e-mails are never clear.

We have an appointment on friday for another blood panel and to look at her wounds, so we can do the aspiration then if necessary. I don't like the idea very much because I found out that there are risks and lately Binie is not so lucky and gets all these strange side-effects and complications. I will take another sample with me and discuss this with her. I hope that her better numbers are a sign, that there is not UTI but I know, that one can't be sure.

I hope everyone is having a nice day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We never had this problem before. I remember in the past I even brought her urine in sterilized jam jars to the vet and it always worked.
Hi Heike, I took a urine sample in yesterday to our vet. As soon as Ivy went to her box, I put the sterile cup right under her rear end and hold still and was able to catch the urine (full container).
Do you think you could do something like that (or even practice when you don’t need an actual sample for the vet??)

It may be a long shot being able to do that. And it may still be “contaminated “ since it’s not from a needle withdraw from the bladder (my vets don’t seem to like that way, neither do I, although Ivy had had it done many times).
I’m glad you eeee able to keep her safe while you worked today. Sorry she bounced so high. She did see that 95 earlier.
With your vet, why don’t you try to be very specific and very direct and ask her precisely what she suggests you do (about any specific situation). She sounds like she’s not a good communicator so you need to ask her for specific instructions. Don’t try to interpret what she’s thinking. (Just my observation.). I know it may be hard to do, but what’s your choice?

Sending you lots of good wishes for the vet appointment on Friday!! And safe surfing for Binie :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, I took a urine sample in yesterday to our vet. As soon as Ivy went to her box, I put the sterile cup right under her rear end and hold still and was able to catch the urine (full container).
Do you think you could do something like that (or even practice when you don’t need an actual sample for the vet??)

It may be a long shot being able to do that. And it may still be “contaminated “ since it’s not from a needle withdraw from the bladder (my vets don’t seem to like that way, neither do I, although Ivy had had it done many times).
I’m glad you eeee able to keep her safe while you worked today. Sorry she bounced so high. She did see that 95 earlier.
With your vet, why don’t you try to be very specific and very direct and ask her precisely what she suggests you do (about any specific situation). She sounds like she’s not a good communicator so you need to ask her for specific instructions. Don’t try to interpret what she’s thinking. (Just my observation.). I know it may be hard to do, but what’s your choice?

Sending you lots of good wishes for the vet appointment on Friday!! And safe surfing for Binie :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, thank you so much for your kind and sweet support! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

How I collected the urine the last time (not the first time where I used the medical litter) was not so different from what you did. I just didn't use the cup itself but the sterile lid from the cup to catch the urine while she was peeing and poured it into the sterile cup. I was amazed, it was working. I never thought it is so easy with her. I was so sure this time everything will work out. But I don't know if the urine touched her fur, which is not very clean at the moment. And I didn't waited to catch the urine from the middle but catched it right away. Maybe that was a mistake. I will try again on friday before we go to the vet. I can't do much about the fur but maybe I shouldn't hold the lit under her directly when she starts to pee but wait a moment.

My vet is really great with cats but it seems she is not used to have clients like me, who try to understand in detail, what the options are. It's a good idea to be more specific in my questions. I will prepare something for friday. And you are so right, not to interpret her remarks. I am a big overthinker and sometimes I don't ask further questions not to annoy her. Besides her sometimes odd communication style I am really so greatful, I have her and her team. They are very sweet with Binie. Unfortunately most other vets find Binie hard to handle.

I hope you have a relaxed evening and a safe and calm night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, thank you so much for your kind and sweet support! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

How I collected the urine the last time (not the first time where I used the medical litter) was not so different from what you did. I just didn't use the cup itself but the sterile lid from the cup to catch the urine while she was peeing and poured it into the sterile cup. I was amazed, it was working. I never thought it is so easy with her. I was so sure this time everything will work out. But I don't know if the urine touched her fur, which is not very clean at the moment. And I didn't waited to catch the urine from the middle but catched it right away. Maybe that was a mistake. I will try again on friday before we go to the vet. I can't do much about the fur but maybe I shouldn't hold the lit under her directly when she starts to pee but wait a moment.

My vet is really great with cats but it seems she is not used to have clients like me, who try to understand in detail, what the options are. It's a good idea to be more specific in my questions. I will prepare something for friday. And you are so right, not to interpret her remarks. I am a big overthinker and sometimes I don't ask further questions not to annoy her. Besides her sometimes odd communication style I am really so greatful, I have her and her team. They are very sweet with Binie. Unfortunately most other vets find Binie hard to handle.

I hope you have a relaxed evening and a safe and calm night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m sure you’re doing everything correct. Just thought I’d add my thoughts. Never know. I learn so much from others here that I never would think of on my own :)
I’m glad you like the vet and their team. That’s so great.
I know I usually go in to my vet with a list of questions written down. Otherwise I would forget everything. :banghead:

I’m really hoping Binie’s wound will be looking much better. Prayers for her healing :bighug:

I wish you both a calm and relaxing sleep:bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
I’m sure you’re doing everything correct. Just thought I’d add my thoughts. Never know. I learn so much from others here that I never would think of on my own :)
I’m glad you like the vet and their team. That’s so great.
I know I usually go in to my vet with a list of questions written down. Otherwise I would forget everything. :banghead:

I’m really hoping Binie’s wound will be looking much better. Prayers for her healing :bighug:

I wish you both a calm and relaxing sleep:bighug::kiss::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci! I am so grateful you share your thougts and tipps with me! I love to learn every day. And my learning curve here is steep! I am just a little confused about this urine test because I thought, the second time everything was as safe as possible and even though the result was the same. So it seems I didn't do everything right. I tend to be a bit perfectionistic so all this is driving me crazy. :banghead: I hope you are already back home from the office and your day is relaxed! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much Staci! I am so grateful you share your thougts and tipps with me! I love to learn every day. And my learning curve here is steep! I am just a little confused about this urine test because I thought, the second time everything was as safe as possible and even though the result was the same. So it seems I didn't do everything right. I tend to be a bit perfectionistic so all this is driving me crazy. :banghead: I hope you are already back home from the office and your day is relaxed! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
We are home. And I worked the rest of the day here. Glad to be back home. Lucky Ivy stayed ok!

I know you are trying so hard to capture the urine with no problems. Maybe ask the vet if she has any special instructions for you to get it the way they need it done??
I do hope it works out well for Binie. We are sending wishes with paws crossed for great success :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We are home. And I worked the rest of the day here. Glad to be back home. Lucky Ivy stayed ok!

I know you are trying so hard to capture the urine with no problems. Maybe ask the vet if she has any special instructions for you to get it the way they need it done??
I do hope it works out well for Binie. We are sending wishes with paws crossed for great success :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much for the good wishes and the paws crossed. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

The way I took the urine the last time is how my vet told me. She always uses the lid with her cats but I decided that tomorrow morning I will try to use the cup directly, as you do. And I will ask my vet tomorrow if the fur is the problem. My poor girl really has a hygiene problem at the moment. She has a strong smell of urine on her backside. I never experienced that before so I hope, it doesn't say anything bad about her kidneys or her bladder. But I will ask the vet tomorrow and hopefully we know more than. Tonight I will sleep with a motion detector which wakes me up, when Binie comes inside. Usually she goes to pee in the early morning and I don't want to miss that. Life with a diabetic cat can be absurd sometimes, isn't it?

I send you a big, big hug and thank you so much for you great support! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much for the good wishes and the paws crossed. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

The way I took the urine the last time is how my vet told me. She always uses the lid with her cats but I decided that tomorrow morning I will try to use the cup directly, as you do. And I will ask my vet tomorrow if the fur is the problem. My poor girl really has a hygiene problem at the moment. She has a strong smell of urine on her backside. I never experienced that before so I hope, it doesn't say anything bad about her kidneys or her bladder. But I will ask the vet tomorrow and hopefully we know more than. Tonight I will sleep with a motion detector which wakes me up, when Binie comes inside. Usually she goes to pee in the early morning and I don't want to miss that. Life with a diabetic cat can be absurd sometimes, isn't it?

I send you a big, big hug and thank you so much for you great support! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Wishing you the best of luck. Maybe you or the vet can trim the fur around her rear bed so it’s not getting all over her fur.
I just cut some of Ivy’s fur back there myself since her hair is so long and pee and sometimes poop gets stuck. (And I really don’t want her licking that nasty stuff anyway since it’s just gonna be more bad stuff to ingest.

Also I have a pet camera in Ivy’s room so I can watch her eat and use the litter box if I want to not disturb her. (And I can watch when she heads to the litter box then I run in to capture the pee).
So yes, life with a diabetic cat is truly insane, Heike!!

I have more “equipment” than ever before!!
I’ll be hoping for a great report tomorrow :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wishing you the best of luck. Maybe you or the vet can trim the fur around her rear bed so it’s not getting all over her fur.
I just cut some of Ivy’s fur back there myself since her hair is so long and pee and sometimes poop gets stuck. (And I really don’t want her licking that nasty stuff anyway since it’s just gonna be more bad stuff to ingest.

Also I have a pet camera in Ivy’s room so I can watch her eat and use the litter box if I want to not disturb her. (And I can watch when she heads to the litter box then I run in to capture the pee).
So yes, life with a diabetic cat is truly insane, Heike!!

I have more “equipment” than ever before!!
I’ll be hoping for a great report tomorrow :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci! It helps me to read, that we are not the only ones with that problem. I would definitely like to shave/trim her somehow but so far I didn't know quite how. I tried with the trimmer I bought for putting on the libre but it was not working because she was protecting this area by pressing her tail very tight to her body. How do you do this with Ivy? Do you use a trimmer or scissors? I thought about asking the vet today but taking blood and everything was already enought for her, so I postponed it.

The camera is a good idea. I even have two for her but since I am at home most of the time I don't use them. But you are right, that they may feel less disturbed if they are watched by a camera. I sometimes sneak after Binie when she is using the toilet to see, if she has any issues. She doesn't seem to mind but maybe she would feel better without me. I just have to remind myself, to put the camera out of the toilet, when I have guests. :) I remember one time, a friend of mine was a bit amused and irritated, I have a camera in my bedroom. :smuggrin: I was glad she asked and I could explain that it is for Binie! :rolleyes:

Enjoy your day dear Staci and thank you so much for sharing your experience! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike :)
I to take pee samples like @Staci & Ivy, just lets him start peeing and then push the cup underneath so it drops directly. But may the little also plays a role - I use natural wood pallets so there's no dust.
My vet gave me cranberry extract pills to give Fistuk when we suspected UTI and she said is great and a prevention measure as well. It natural so you can easily try it if you wanted to already give her something and not wait till you get the urine sample or the results.
How is her wound doing?
Sending much love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike :)
I to take pee samples like @Staci & Ivy, just lets him start peeing and then push the cup underneath so it drops directly. But may the little also plays a role - I use natural wood pallets so there's no dust.
My vet gave me cranberry extract pills to give Fistuk when we suspected UTI and she said is great and a prevention measure as well. It natural so you can easily try it if you wanted to already give her something and not wait till you get the urine sample or the results.
How is her wound doing?
Sending much love :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Shelly, thank you so much! Thank you for mentioning the litter! I didn't think about that. I use this "Cats best"-litter, which is also from wood but there is a little dust. This morning I tried to use the cup directly but it was too big to put under her tail and so I used the lid again. I this sample also failed, I will feel like the idiot of the year! :facepalm:

I did some research and started to give Binie mannose, which can be also used as a prevention method. I read it is often combined with cranberry but I was unsure if cranberry is o.k. for diabetics. Did your vet say something about it? What is the name of the product? Maybe I could also combine the two.

Her wound seems to be better on the inside, even though it looks nasty because of all the licking. I wrote more in my update I just posted, if you are interested.

I hope your boys are doing fine and you enjoy the finally cooler weather! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Did your vet say something about it? What is the name of the product?
Heike, it's called calmurofel. It's safe for diabetes. It didn't change Fistuk's numbers and he's had it twice so far so I know it's ok.
I did use less than the recommended dose bc it gave him soft stool. Fistuk's gut is very sensitive though. But you might want to try introducing it gently :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Heike, it's called calmurofel. It's safe for diabetes. It didn't change Fistuk's numbers and he's had it twice so far so I know it's ok.
I did use less than the recommended dose bc it gave him soft stool. Fistuk's gut is very sensitive though. But you might want to try introducing it gently :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Shelly! I just ordered it. And thank you for the advice about the affect on the gut. I will be careful too! Hope you have a nice sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top