8/14 Beast back from vet visit, AMPS 52, 59 +29

Status
Not open for further replies.

kbersny

Member Since 2013
Sorry I am not sure if I should be continue in from condo of last night or start new this morning so I am starting new. I started home testing for the first time last night numbers were low.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102235

I did not end up giving shot for PM. Feed as usual and did test +2 after feeding number still low
This morning numbers were AMPS 52, called vet, vet said to feed, don't give shot, test 2 hours after feeding. If numbers are still low that I will need to bring Beast in with my meter so that they can check the accuracy, she said the ReliOn Prime is not on the approved list and my be giving false readings

Has anyone had this problem? I feel like she might be right since numbers are not moving after feeding or after a night without insulin
 
Re: 8/14 Beast AMPS 52 -New Member

I would believe your meter. That 52 is too low to give insulin because you do not have enough data yet on how Beast reacts to the insulin.
I would test him again in one hour to see where he is at.
 
Re: 8/14 Beast AMPS 52 -New Member

I am freaking out feeling now like my meter is not giving correct reading, I am wanting to rush to the vet for a test :(
 
Re: 8/14 Beast AMPS 52 -New Member

Usually the human glucometers tend to measure about 30 points lower than the Alpha Trak that your vet might use. Not so much in lower numbers, but that's what they tend to do.
Therefore, a 52 on your meter might show as around an 82 on your vet's meter.

I would test again, and see what number he is at.

Post the number here.

I have to log off now, as I am at work, and have limited internet time. I'm sure someone will be around to help you.
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Fed Beast as vet suggested, no shot given, reading is now 59 +2, called vet waiting to hear back will probably take Beast and meter in to vet to see where we are at with vets meter compared to mine. Numbers seem way off to me but I only started home testing last night. Still freaking out over not giving shot as I am conditioned to giving shot 2x daily and she hasn't had insulin since yesterday AM...UGH
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

In the 50's is awesome! Don't freak out, those are numbers to be happy about! :mrgreen:

Remember that a vet's meter (depending on which they use) may be calibrated differently than a human meter. For example, an alphatrak (pet meter) may read about 30 points higher than a human meter. Also, some meters read whole blood and some are serum based. So the numbers may be slightly different than what you are getting at home.
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Rejoice at the 52!! If you feel you must go into the vet to ease your concerns, besides all the variants that have already been mentioned, one big thing to remember is that just the stress of the drive and the vet visit can raise Beast's BG 100 points....so if your vet uses the Aphatrak, your nice 52 could easily be a 182 at the vets...so it's not a real good comparison

A lot of people here use the Relion Prime or Relion Confirm .....if you can afford it, maybe you could get the Confirm to use to compare...the strips are a little higher though (but it's also good to have a backup meter in the house because you never know when something might happen to the one you have...and it usually happens at the worst possible times)

Good luck to you and Beast!
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Beautiful numbers, especially without a shot. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: He is in no danger of hypo if he didn't get a shot. Your meter is probably absolutely fine. Have you recently changed his food? Welcome to LantusLand! I'm sorry you have to be here but it's a great place to advice on feline diabetes.
Liz, Zener's other mom (I sign my posts and Anne doesn't)

Edited to add: Was Beast's first and only insulin shot yesterday morning? 3u? How much does he weigh? That dose may be way too high...
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Anne & Zener said:
Beautiful numbers, especially without a shot. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: He is in no danger of hypo if he didn't get a shot. Your meter is probably absolutely fine. Have you recently changed his food? Welcome to LantusLand! I'm sorry you have to be here but it's a great place to advice on feline diabetes.
Liz, Zener's other mom (I sign my posts and Anne doesn't)

Edited to add: Was Beast's first and only insulin shot yesterday morning? 3u? How much does he weigh? That dose may be way too high...

Beast is a she :-D, Beast was diagnosed May 2012 and has been getting 3 units of Lantus 2x per day with 1/4 cup Purina DM 2x daily since diagnosis (No home testing, per vet not recommended). Her starting weight was 28.5lbs and now she is at 25lbs. I started doing research trying to find a better option for her weight loss and found that most all recommend Wet, Low Carb and say never change to wet, low carb without home testing. So I contacted Dr. Lisa P and she sent me to this site. I reached out for help and another member in my area was kind enough to show me how to home test. I started home testing last night
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

We have been using the RelionPrime for about a year now - no issues. The battery crapped out one time, but other than that I have found it to be reliable and accurate. As suggested, if you want to try another meter yourself it would probably be a better test than at the vet. Beautiful greenies, Beast!
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Beast is a big girl! :o Good for you for home testing! I'm not sure why vets are against it but FD is such a crazy disease, it's the only way to keep a cat safe. I think it's a great idea to follow Dr. Lisa's advice on food. Some cats resist eating wet food but I suspect Beast will dive right in. :-D :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Thank you all for your suggestions. Just spoke with vet and I am taking Beast in so they can check my readings against theirs. Vet is going to test with my machine and theirs at the same time so this should tell me if my meter is working properly. I am aware theirs may be 20- 30 higher than mine and Beast might spike from the stress but my thought is...as long as both readings are within the 20 - 30 range, I can be confident my meter is doing its job. Since this is all so new and scary to me right now I feel better getting test done by vet rather than getting another meter just yet.

Sorry, I am worry wort
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

We are ALL worry worts around here! :lol: :lol: :lol: I understand completely. Hope all goes well.
Liz
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

You can always test yourself with the Relion Prime meter. Or test your other cats or dogs if you have them. The Prime needs a 0.5 microliter of blood to test. Just make sure, you are filling the strip with enough blood.

Kim, a little more info in your signature would be helpful. And/or check the Tech Support forum on how to create a profile.
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Hi, Kim! It was so nice to meet you and your beautiful furkiddos last night. Your BeastieGirl is such a sweet-natured kitty ~ still in awe of the fact that she purred during those first couple of tests!

I hope your head isn't spinning too much ~ there's so much info to take in, plus your vet isn't super supportive on home testing. I hope you were able to have a positive visit with her today.

I found a recent condo (thread) that has a great discussion on human meters vs. pet meters, including a link from Sienne for the Roomp & Rand paper that is very informative. Here's the link to that discussion.

I hope you're having a great day!
Way to go on the testing last night and today :-D :-D :-D

cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/14 Beast New Member AMPS 52, 59 +2

Hi Kim. Welcome to LL, the best place to be if you have a diabetic kitty. We use the Relion Micro meter and have not had any problems. I agree with Deb, test yourself and see if the reading is within range.

If you switched Beast to an all Low Carb (LC) wet food diet that could be part of the reason for the low numbers. Since the new diet would bring her BG #s down the 3U of insulin, which was ok for the dry food diet, might be too much for the wet food LC diet,

As Josie said,, there is a lot of info to try to absorb all at once so take it a little bit at a time. Again welcome to you and Beast.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 8/14 Beast back from vet visit, AMPS 52, 59 +2

Beast is home from visit to the vet. After 25min car ride her numbers were 75 on my ReliOn meter and 122 on vets meter (47 diff). She had not had any insulin for the past 29 hours and was eating at her regular times. The vets recommendation is:
Do not give insulin shot and continue to monitor, only give shot if my ReliOn meter reads 150 or higher.
Start to transition to the wet, low carb food immediately.
Bring Beast back in on 8/23 for a Glucose Curve.

Vet is optimistic that beast my not need insulin anymore. Any thoughts??
Also I was just starting to figure out how to use the SS but now that we are trying to be off the juice I don't know how to post or log numbers is the SS
 
Fantastic news! Vet saying Beast does not need any insulin for now is wonderful! :RAHCAT Go Beast Go! :RAHCAT

Here are some suggestions to record your numbers on the SS still.

Think of your normal pre-shot test time as your starting point. Since you are not giving insulin, instead of AMPS, that is called an AMBG. Any tests you do, are still counted in the plus hour format, insulin or not. Put 0 in the units column. You could make a note that your vet wants you to try no insulin. Think of this as a vet sanctioned OTJ trial.

Your evening time was the PMPS, and now that is called a PMBG if you are not giving insulin. Keep that up for 2 weeks, with normal numbers in the 50- 120 range, and your cat Beast would earn OTJ status and we have a party.

We'd love to still have you post here every day, to cheer you and Beast on with your OTJ trial. I'll contribute my bad poetry and pictures, and other people will chime in with their congratulations.

One other suggestion for you. You could do the curve yourself at home. You have the meter and testing supplies. You would test every 2 hours, starting with morning AMBG and ending at PMBG. It would save you a lot of money, and you could use that money to buy more low-carb cat food. What do you think?
 
Go, Beast! Go, Ms. Pancreas! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Did the vet use an AlphaTrak meter? We used to use one and figured that it registered about 30 mg/dL higher than a human meter. With all the variation (+/- 20% for either meter), that 47 difference is very reasonable.
Liz
 
Anna- I Didn't ask the vet what meter she was using but she did suggest I buy Alfatrak meter. I have not even looked at the Alfatrak yet. I am guessing it is expensive?

Deb- thank you for the help with the lingo and numbers
 
Yes, the Alphatrak is expensive, but the strips to use with it are what kill you...they're outrageous! Vets are more comfortable with what they're used to, but that doesn't mean it's any better than the human glucometers. What's important is to know how your kitty reacts to insulin and be able to tell if you're making progress or not, and if you're giving insulin, know when to intervene to keep Beast safe

If you were using the Alpha, everything you're told here about the TR protocol would just basically be changed to add 30 points...so if you were giving Lantus, and Beast dropped to 80 (instead of 50), that'd be a reduction

The Relion should work fine for you!! And be a lot cheaper to buy strips for!! Save your money for something special!
 
We started with the AlphaTrak too. $$$! I was sure glad when we switched to the human, much cheaper and the data is just as good. Our vet made the point that there might be liability issues for a vet using a human meter but you don't have that concern.
Liz
 
Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top