8/13 Yoshi amps 368, 285+4, 248+7,191+12, 126+12.5, 179 +13, 168+14

kd & yoshi

Member Since 2021
Hi all!

First time posting here, though I've been trying to read up on all the great info from this site since Yoshi was first diagnosed (after having ended up in the hospital with DKA this June.)

I'm having some trouble wrapping my head around some late nadirs that Yoshi has been having recently (usually around his pmps.) I've been able to stall most nights and have felt comfortable giving him his usual dose. Today his numbers were wavering a bit even after stalling and I didn't want to shoot too late as I don't currently have the flexibility to adjust his amps over the next few days.

We started shifting to the SLGS method late last month and are still getting a hang of the specifics of the protocol (not to mention some erratic scheduling between my partner and I.) Did I change his dose too much within the last few weeks and that is what may be causing some erratic nadirs?

Thank you for the help!
 
Welcome. We ask that you post an intro first on main/health. But you do already have a signature and spreadsheet. The moderators might move this thread to main. One thing you left out of your signature is what you are feeding.

With SLGS you don’t increase sooner than every 7 days. Whether or not to increase is based upon a curve and how low the dose is taking Yoshi. With a 191 you could have shot tonight. Did you feed while stalling? If no that explains the big drop. That was the right thing to do but I would have tested in 20-30 minutes. You increased too soon.

I think I would go back to 1.0 and hold for the full 7 days. That way you probably won’t need to skip or stall.
 
Thank you for the response! I'll wait to see if the moderators would like to move this thread or if I should go ahead and start a new one to introduce myself on the main/health forum? I adjusted my signature to specify what LC wet diet he's currently on.

I did not feed him while stalling and then ultimately decided to skip when his numbers started to rise but then dropped slightly again. I got concerned that he wasn't rising again and by the time I could be sure he was, it would have required altering his morning shot by too much. I know SLGS doc suggests "feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value" if he's below his usual pre-shot values. Is there a general consensus of whether to feed or not when stalling?

Even on 1.0 he had issues of a late nadir? However, it never seemed to fall below the 150mg/dl. Today was the first day he seemed to fall into the 90-149mg/dl range.
 
Actually we advise if you get a lower number than used to to stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes. If 200+ you can shoot. With meter variance he was almost there. When you stall you run tge risk of the bg dropping and the need to skip. I would have skipped if I were you after the big drop after 50 minutes.

Some cats do have a late nadir. When that happens you need to get used to shooting lower. In your case you increased too soon. He bounces and then seems to clear the bounce quickly. That causes him to nadir late and then the lower bg leads to another bounce.
 
After 7 days do a curve and ask for feedback. If he drops under 90 a reduction is earned however. That happens every time he drops under 90.
 
Back
Top