8/13 Muffin amps 188 ReliOn Meter today +2.5 137 +6 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22232

Good morning LL
Not too happy with this amps as it means she's over 200 on the alphatrak, higher than she's been in a long time, but I guess it's still normal, right? She doesn't seem very interested in eating this morning and is sitting here on the desk with her back turned to me. I think the LB p's are in place, but none of the other p's yet. Oh wait, now she's in my lap purring, saying "not to worry mama bean."

Hope everyone is doing well and has a great day!
 
Re: 8/13 Muffin amps 188 ReliOn Meter today

Hi Anne

was there any dry kibble at all yesterday?

Muffin is giving you her "P's" one at time I think :lol:
Hope she comes down soon, she looks better in green anyway!
 
Re: 8/13 Muffin amps 188 ReliOn Meter today

She always eats kibble, other than chicken chunks, it's the only thing she'll eat. I have had NO success introducing her to canned food so far, and I think the last couple days she's eaten a little more kibble than I usually try to let her have, so maybe that is the reason for the higher #'s. Odd that she's not interested in food at all yet this morning tho.
 
Re: 8/13 Muffin amps 188 ReliOn Meter today

ohmygod_smile Just realized Muffin had vaccines yesterday, and that's probably why she's not feeling as well today and not eating as much - vet warned me she may not eat well. Ok, I feel a little better now :smile: +2.5 137
 
I'm a little baffled by Muffin's higher numbers today. She's not eating much, so I would think her BG would be lower than normal, but it's been higher. I called the vet to ask if this could be related to getting shots yesterday, and the fact that she's not feeling well due to those (I assume). She said it's possible and gave us some Metacam. She said this should have her feeling better by tomorrow, so I gave it to Muffin at +6.5. So far not much change (it's now +8), although she does want something to eat now, so I'll give her a snack.

Taking advantage of the higher #'s today to give her ear a bit of a rest. Don't plan on testing again until pmps.
 
it looks to me as though your last dose reduction failed. According to the protocol, if a dose reduction fails you can go right back up to the last good dose. 1 unit looks like her last good dose, though you never gave 0.75 a try so you could increase to 0.75 to see if that brings her back down.

I've never heard of Metacam being used in this situation, did they give you just one dose or are you supposed to give more?
 
pmps 194, gave .5u. She is feeling better and eating again tonight.

Libby - I did give her .75u one time, and she hit a 68 at +2 (alphatrak), so I dropped her again the next morning. Tomorrow morning I'll go back up to .75u. They gave me 3 doses, to give once a day, but I'm actually not sure if I'm supposed to give them all or only if she wasn't feeling better. I'll ask the vet tomorrow, because my feeling is that if she's still feeling good tomorrow, she doesn't need it. But I'm not sure exactly why she got this, so I'll check with the vet.
Thanks for your help.
 
sorry for bumping yesterday's condo, but I don't see one for today yet. I asked about the Metacam because I haven't seen it used this way before, it's an anti-inflammatory and is sometimes used as a pain med for cats. It's a drug with some potentially serious side effects so I would do some research before giving it to her.

It has its place, like most drugs there are times when it is definitely indicated, but I haven't seen it used just for a cat that feels a little yucky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top