8/13 mom-mom +10 - 32

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Mom-mom was in the yellow today all day and I just tested her and she is a 32. I did bump her last night to 1.75 but then back down again to 1.50 this morning.

If her numbers get better later on should I shoot at like 150ish or so??? how much ????
 
Hi Laura, what have you fed Mom-Mom to get her up and how long was that after the 32? You need to get her up above 50 ASAP.
 
Laura - you need to feed her 1-2 tsp of high carb food and test again in 1/2 hour to make sure she's coming up. Keep testing, then feeding high carb food until she gets above 50. Any number you shoot in two hours will be influenced by high carb food, but it's important to get her numbers up now!

I'd go back to the 1.5U dose. She was getting some nice green nadirs on that dose. Keep updating her numbers and ask again about whether to shoot or not tonight when it gets closer to PMPS. It would be nice to get some insulin in her, or she'll zoom up again, but I'd like to see what her numbers are then instead of guessing now.
 
She has about another hour and half to go before PMPS. I have her up to 56 now. I gave her Iams new canned food, its called purrfect tuna or something like that. But it sure did the trick.

I will keep you posted.

Thank You all for the input, I was really scared.
 
I would say test her in 30. If she's holding steady, don't feed. Like Wendy mentioned you don't want to feed her within the 2 hour window before her shot (unless of course she needs it to be above 50). I would post for advice before shooting tonight. Good job getting her up.
 
Hi Laura, just wondering - how's Mom-Mom doing? What's her BG at? Could you update the subject on your initial post so we know what is the latest? Updating her ss would also be helpful. You doing ok?
 
I hope Mom-mom is doing fine!

I can't give dosing advice, but hopefully some of the more experienced folks will be able to do that for you.

What I do notice on your spreadsheet is that Mom-mom seems to be toggling between really low dips, followed by skyrocketing numbers for a few days after. Repeat. From other spreadsheet patterns I've seen on here, that strikes me as possibly being evidence for the dose being far too high rather than too low.

Can anyone else comment on that pattern with a more experienced eye?
 
The 196 could be a bounce or it could be a spike from the food. Do you know the carb % of the food you gave her? I'm also curious as to how much you gave her. You still want to wait two hours after her last meal before you shoot anything.

Laura, would you mind posting for dosing advice? You've stated that you're planning to shoot 1.25u but as per Wendy (which I agree with) you should only decrease 0.25u, so that would be 1.5u shot. Based on my experience, I believe sticking with the protocol will give you the best opportunity to get Mom-Mom regulated. Why are you thinking to reduce down to 1.25u?

ETA: I don't typically give dosing advice but based on the protocol, I agree with Wendy's recommendation. Additionally, you gave her 1.75u last night which is mostly likely skewing the potentcy of a 1.5u shot. IMHO, it would be best to be as consistent as possible and follow the TRP guidelines as much as possible. However, it's always a good idea to get the advice of several others when possible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top