8/13 Bailey AMPS~255

Status
Not open for further replies.

JensBailey

Member Since 2010
Based on our numbers being a little higher would anyone suggest shooting a higher dose? If I do, with Lantus, is it better to do a gradual increase?

Thanks,
Jen and Bailey
 
For now, I'd suggest you hold the dose. Take a look at the Tight Regulation Protocols sticky at the top of the Board. I've copied some information I think you will find helpful. The full version of the protocol is linked in the sticky.

Modified tight regulation protocol said:
Many Lantus and Levemir users in this forum have been successful following a somewhat modified version of this Tight Regulation Protocol for the last few years. These "general" guidelines are based on anecdotal evidence and personal experiences of laypersons frequenting the forum.

"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction. (See: Reducing the dose...)

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I bolded a couple of points. We make dose changes slowly -- allowing increases to settle. Doses are also raised in small increments (i.e., 0.25u) so an optimal dose isn't missed and the risk for hypoglycemia is minimized. If you don't have syringes that are marked in half units, I'd strongly encourage you to get some. It's very hard to shoot small doses accurately and consistently with other types of syringes.

Please let us know if you have questions. Visiting other people's/kitty's "condos" (each cat's thread for the day) and looking at our spreadsheets will help you to get familiar with how we do things. I'd also encourage you get a Profile set up so we don't keep plaguing you with questions about Bailey's medical history, what you're feeding, etc. (See the "Who's Your Kitty" post.)
 
Bailey still hanging out in the yellows! :-D
That's good! Better than the other choices.
Hope you're having a good day Jen!
 
Hi Jen

we haven't seen you since friday...how's Bailey?

Any updates on today's cycles with the dose increase?
Open a new thread when you can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top