8/12 Stella AMPS/228 +5/67 +6/71 HYPO? +7/85 PMPS/225 +4/192

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning Lantus Land!

Stella is doing great this month! We have :mrgreen: Green :mrgreen: !!! This year is so different than the last. It is alot better knowing what to expect. I remember how difficult it was when Stella was DX diabetes. But today, all Ps are in place and she is a happy camper this morning! :-D

Have a great day!

UPDATE #1:
+6 HYPO? Right when our day was sunny and bright my Stella had a bizarre 'episode'. Since this has never happened I am not sure if it was a hypo or not. Stella has a history of neuropathy and the sight gave me instant fear and panic.

Stella made a huge noise on exit from the litter box (on later check the P(oo) was in its place and nothing out of the ordinary). The noise was so loud it got the attention of both Boo (the other feline) and myself as we both observed in horror Stella. As Stella exited she had a limp or malfunction of her back left leg or side. She was in distress. I immediately scooped her up to calm her down and to avoid injury. I had a similar reaction as someone would to a person holding the limbs of a human in what is it called when they have to be restrained and medicated ... oh drat ... anyway.

I myself then ran in circles with Stella wondering what to do. I grabbed the caro syrup and tried to give her a drop. She refused so I forced it on her gums. I then grabbed her food. She wouldn't eat, so I grabbed another drop and did the same. She snapped into the here and now. We both sat on the kitchen floor. I then took her to the carpeted living room to pet her. She walked back to her food and asked for an additional 2 teaspoons twice. When she was done I petted her for 10 minutes. She then walked 'normally' to her water...took a quick drink...and now has sauntered into the bedroom to go to sleep. Stella normally sleeps in the livingroom and Boo in the bedroom. Now Boo has come to the livingroom to ask me whats happened.

I ask you. What happened? Was this a hypo? Stella is a hypEr cat..so maybe her recent adventure in the GREEN zone has been too much. I was thinking of lowering her dose .25. Unless this sounds like something else had happened??? Thanks in advance. I need some expert input. Potassium deficiency?

UPDATE #2
+7/85 I just did a lot of reading and I am pretty certain Stella had a hypo. This article touches on Stella's case senario being the drop of 'many floors' because she is normally hypEr. Wikia
Now I am trying to decide how much to lower her dose. Usually I would lower .25 but, since we just started a new Lantus Pen I think I am going to take a full .5 drop. I do not want an 'episode' to happen while I am not there to assist my lovely Stella and I do not want to arrive home to an 'emergency' or worse case. I would much rather just up the dose after 5 cycles if necessary.

Stella did have a hypo last year and this is much different. Apparently Stella is able to control her BG much better this year. Last year with caro and food she went through the roof in BGs but this time she only raised 16. Maybe the new pen is very strong and she has been 'fighting' it to regulate her BG level. Time will tell. Wish us luck!!!
 
Re: 8/12 Stella AMPS/228 +5/67 +6/71 HYPO? +7/85

I honestly doubt this was hypoglycemia. A cat doesn't "snap" out of that condition. I would have Stella checked by your vet. This could have been something like a pinched nerve, throwing a clot which can effect movement, or a seizure. Seizures can involved abnormal movements and a return to normal within a ver short period of time.
 
Re: 8/12 Stella AMPS/228 +5/67 +6/71 HYPO? +7/85

I second what Sienne said. Stella's #s look normal compared to a hypo cat's # (Blackie dropped to 21 when I saw her staggering like a drunken sailor, which gave me the indication of hypoglycemia). Try not to fret too much over the higher #s. I'm going to guess that'll be from the Karo that was given to her, and/or the extra food. I'm sure that she loved the extra food! :-D
 
Re: 8/12 Stella AMPS/228 +5/67 +6/71 HYPO? +7/85

I definitely agree with Sienne and Blackie. I would have Stella checked out for something else.
 
Re: 8/12 Stella AMPS/228 +5/67 +6/71 HYPO? +7/85

Thanks everyone.

Just to clarify, Stella didn't exactly 'snap' out of it...it took ALL day! I did reduce by a whopping .5 because it was very startling to witness. I would have taken her to the vet today, but being Sunday I would not have gotten into Stella's regular vet. Since I was managing her BGs without distress I didn't take her to emergency.

This evening her BGs are going along the line of what I expected. I still think perhaps the new Lantus pen gave her an extra kick in the paws...but she is due to see a pro for sure. Again, thanks for holding my hand and Stella's paw. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top