8/12 Leo PMPS 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
Mornin'!!

Well someone threw me for a surprise last night and even made me run to the grocery store at 1 in the morning for HC cat food and karo syrup. This darn cat sure likes to keep me on my toes! (Just kidding Leo, love ya). So i was up until 230 or so this morning, at least he let me sleep in a little bit, but not too much, i got woken up at his +3 by his loud "i'm hungry" meows.

Leo had a good test, shoot and feed this morning, i reduced his dose to 16 units since 17 was obviously too much.

He's feeling better today so i don't think i'll continue with the bupe and cerenia but i will most definitely give him pepcid.

Have a great day all. :-D
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293

Hi Tracy - oh wow: a middle of the night fuds run. :shock: Not too bad of a bounce this morning either. It is GREAT to read that he is feeling better. YAY!!!

Enjoy your day today. I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293

Great report on Leo, we missed your PJ party! And I was up too, watching Olympics. Yellow is not bad for a bounce after all that action! :-D
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293

Awesome report! Yes, it is the job of our kitties to keep us on our toes, and they're pretty darned good at it, aren't they??

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293 & convo w/ Dr. Timian re:p-tit

Well i just gave another 50mls of fluids, he didn't sit so well for me today and kept squirming, i think the fluids were too cold for him.

Dr. Timian emailed me back about pancreatitis and supplements to try with Leo. Here it is for others to read:

Poor Leo! He's been through a lot recently!

I honestly don't know think that B12 has any mechanism that will help
pancreatic inflammation, but that said, I like the medication and
think that it definitely won't hurt.

Chronic pancreatitis is very frustrating in cats, and you're right,
there's not very much published research out there that helps us know
what to do to prevent it. In cats, the liver and intestine are very
closely related to the pancreas, so it's possible that if there's
underlying liver or intestinal disease, this may be leading to
pancreatitis. I have a couple of options that I've used in the past
for long-term therapy:

1) steroids- (prednisolone) that will decrease pancreatic
inflammation- given that Leo is a diabetic, this may make him more
insulin resistant so we'd have to use this carefully

2) antioxidants- Denamarin (milk thistle and SAMe) or Vitamin E or
SAMe; well tolerated

3) bile "thinners"- urosdiol

4) dietary therapy (novel protein or hydrolyzed protein diet) to avoid
excess bacteria going from the intestine to the pancreas


It'd be appropriate to try any one of these options, or in combination
at this point.

Fluids and cerenia (and buprenorphine) are definitely perfect choices
for acute episodes.

Keep me updated! Let me know if you have any other questions.​
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293& convo w/Dr. Timian re:p-titis

Tracy -- much of this is similar to what's in Jojo's post regarding pancreatitis. I think the only other thing that Jojo's post mentioned is Pepsid. I hope Leo is feeling a bit better.
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293& convo w/Dr. Timian re:p-titis

Hi guys,

Leo, you gave your mamabean a surprise last night. You must have really been hungry for HC! Let's see you come down to a nice, safe blue today, OK?

Tracy, we are thinking of you and Leo and hope that he'll be feeling lots better real soon. At least he has good appetite and you don't have to worry about him not eating!

Hang in there,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293& convo w/Dr. Timian re:p-titis

I'm so glad that Leo is feeling better and letting you know it. :lol: :lol: Sorry I'm so behind on things, I hope this attack is a short one.
 
Re: 8/12 Leo AMPS 236, +3 293& convo w/Dr. Timian re:p-titis

Ya gotta love a boy that LOVES to eat!!! ...especially those that wake you up so as not to go too low! He's a smart boy, your Leo!!!

And every kitty has this responsibility to keep up running out for something! :lol: That's the advantage of having multiple cats... it's VERY RARE that I'm completely out of every kind of cat food!!! In fact, right now I probably have more different brands of cat food than anything else (including people food!) in the house! Including the novel proteins that Dr. T referenced!

Hope he continues to improve and nips this p'titus in the bud!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top