8/12 Curry AMPS 155. +1-112, +2-96, +3 101, +4-98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22145


Curry's on one unit of lantus. Since I'm so new to this I'm a bit nervous shooting the full dose.

Guess I will go w/.75 this morning.

This is difficult trying to figure this stuff out in the morning when I have to go to work in terms of when to call in sick for 1/2 day. And how many time will I need to call in sick. Its gonna be a balancing act in more ways than one. I stay home for awhile I guess and see what Curry does w/this.

I have the syringe w/ 1/2 unit markings...and did shoot 0.75. I found it a wee bit difficult to accurately see .75. Is that typical or is it just my poor old eyes?
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Hey, looking good with numbers.
I can't comment on the dosing, still too young at this..someone else will weigh in. I also have a hard time seeing the .75, even w/ the half unit. Just try to be consistent as to where you tell yourself it is.
Stay well!
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Hi Tena....will you ge able to get some checks in this morning before you go to work? You will then be recording what she does with the .75u for future reference. That will be very important for you to see. You are doing very well with this...your notes and your testing...awesome job!
You have come a long way from when you wondered if you should shoot <200, right? :mrgreen:
Good job! Try to get a +1 now to see where she is going, okay? Will you be able to post? When do you leave?

I got myself a pair of really strong reading glasses from the dollar store to wear when measuring the doses. It can get tricky, but it will get easier.
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Absolutely....staying home until I see her numbers go back up.....and got the +1....112. Will test every hour to see what she does. If it really drops, I've got karo and gravy on hand.....and of course the LL folks.

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Hi Tena....will you ge able to get some checks in this morning before you go to work? You will then be recording what she does with the .75u for future reference. That will be very important for you to see. You are doing very well with this...your notes and your testing...awesome job!
You have come a long way from when you wondered if you should shoot <200, right? :mrgreen:
Good job! Try to get a +1 now to see where she is going, okay? Will you be able to post? When do you leave?

I got myself a pair of really strong reading glasses from the dollar store to wear when measuring the doses. It can get tricky, but it will get easier.
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

What we do is offer food to slow the drop....this is good....will she eat a couple of bites of LC food now? We use mini meals during the first few hours of the cycle to keep them steady hopefully. Are you home for awhile now?
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Great number at +1
PEOPLE GET A MAGNIFYING GLASS!!! I use reading glasses & a magnifyer! I am practically blind from these doses :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Make sure to leave lots of food when you go out--A cat will eat if it feels itself drop--extra food just helps it along.
Will you be home for the +3 test?? That's the important one and +5 or +6---
You are doing a great job!!
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Yeah, not going anywhere until her numbers go up. Gave her a little more food just now. And watching her like a hawk.

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
What we do is offer food to slow the drop....this is good....will she eat a couple of bites of LC food now? We use mini meals during the first few hours of the cycle to keep them steady hopefully. Are you home for awhile now?
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

We have a saying here "Shoot low to stay low". Curry is in the range of numbers now where healing is going on with her pancreas. This is so good!! We hope that they "surf" the numbers and not drop too suddenly. That's why we feed them mini meals so they get a bit of a food spike and it keeps them steady.
Take a deep breath Tena. You are doing great. This is just perfect! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

You're getting some great suggestions and doing a great job.

You might want to consider buying a timed feeder. I can't always rearrange my work schedule. Having a feeder that will dispense a snack helps to ease my mind.
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

She does seem more hungry. Feeding her a little at a time now. And will check every hour unless I see a dramatic drop. I told folks at work I'd be there around 12....of course, if Curry's numbers aren't goin back up I won't leave. Once I committed to even giving her the dose, I had to make that decision to stay.


Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
We have a saying here "Shoot low to stay low". Curry is in the range of numbers now where healing is going on with her pancreas. This is so good!! We hope that they "surf" the numbers and not drop too suddenly. That's why we feed them mini meals so they get a bit of a food spike and it keeps them steady.
Take a deep breath Tena. You are doing great. This is just perfect! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

+2 - 96


Thanks for the suggestion. Does the timed feeder dispense dry food?

When I first got Curry I allowed her to free feed. Then I found out that she really enjoys her meals and more. She I then switched to feeding twice a day.

Now I'm reverting back to leaving food out. I've left some canned food(mixed with water) out yesterday during the day and last night....but she didn't touch it....wondering if she knows that there is some food there....might have to retrain her to look although she has a pretty good nose.

Lots more to learn here.

Thanks again.


Sienne and Gabby said:
You're getting some great suggestions and doing a great job.

You might want to consider buying a timed feeder. I can't always rearrange my work schedule. Having a feeder that will dispense a snack helps to ease my mind.
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Hey Tena-

I popped over to see your condo. I was waiting to see "shoot low to stay low" and I see that it was said. I went through the same thing with Boomer. Some days were scary. I'd leave for work and not know what was going to happen. I got a timed feeder and i did curves on the weekend so i'd be used to how he responded. I also bought a magnifying glass! :lol: Wait until you have to give her a "fat zero" dose. OMG! But this is exciting - she's doing well.
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Both you and Sienne suggested timed feeders. I'm definitely going to need one so I don't spaz during the morning...

Any suggestions on brand?


Traci and Boomer said:
Hey Tena-

I popped over to see your condo. I was waiting to see "shoot low to stay low" and I see that it was said. I went through the same thing with Boomer. Some days were scary. I'd leave for work and not know what was going to happen. I got a timed feeder and i did curves on the weekend so i'd be used to how he responded. I also bought a magnifying glass! :lol: Wait until you have to give her a "fat zero" dose. OMG! But this is exciting - she's doing well.
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 +1-112 +2-96 +3 101

I'll take one more reading at +4 before leaving for work.

Any suggestions on timed feeders as to a brand. And they only allow for dry food, is that correct?

Thanks for all the support and feedback today. Each day I learn something new here. I guess that's good for the ole brain cells, eh?
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

PetSafe is one of the good ones.
And despite what the sales people say - they CAN hold wet food. :mrgreen:

Nice going today!
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Hi Tena! I'm pretty new to lantus also, so no advice from me on dosing! You're doing great though! :smile:

I've been looking at timed feeders myself, and the most commonly recommended one I see here is the PetSafe 5 meal automatic feeder. I think you can get it at Petsmart, and I also see it on eBay. You can use it for wet or dry. Another idea for you when you leave food out....try mixing the wet food with water and then freezing it in an ice cube tray. Then you can leave cubes out to thaw for fresh food later. Tinkles LOVES the frozen cubes, he will go and eat the partially frozen food instead of eating the fresh room temp food...so there's another idea for you.
 
Re: 8/12 Curry AMPS 155 ...reducing dose to .75

Ronnie & Luna said:
PetSafe is one of the good ones.
And despite what the sale peole say - they CAN hold wet food. :mrgreen:

Nice going today!
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Tena! I'm pretty new to lantus also, so no advice from me on dosing! You're doing great though! :smile:

I've been looking at timed feeders myself, and the most commonly recommended one I see here is the PetSafe 5 meal automatic feeder. I think you can get it at Petsmart, and I also see it on eBay. You can use it for wet or dry. Another idea for you when you leave food out....try mixing the wet food with water and then freezing it in an ice cube tray. Then you can leave cubes out to thaw for fresh food later. Tinkles LOVES the frozen cubes, he will go and eat the partially frozen food instead of eating the fresh room temp food...so there's another idea for you.

Thank you Ronnie and Laurie.
 
I have the PetSafe too. I think I got mine on Amazon and it was much cheaper than in PetSmart where they also sell it. I use wet food in it.
 
nice shooting this morning. :smile:

I'm curious why you decided to shoot 0.75 again tonight, instead of going back to her regular dose. Regardless, Curry is looking good!
 
Libby and Lucy said:
nice shooting this morning. :smile:

I'm curious why you decided to shoot 0.75 again tonight, instead of going back to her regular dose. Regardless, Curry is looking good!


I had a chance to email my Vet the morning numbers. He had responded that if she peaked above 300, to shoot the 1 unit. She was at 187 PMPS (+11.5). She went to 208 +2 and then 167 +3.5.

I think he's aware that I might be struggling w/low numbers, especially in the am when I have to go to work. I'm still trying to come up w/a good plan for when she does go low and I need to stay home to watch her. I'm not able to do it every day. He also is aware that Lantus like consistancy...rather than going up and down w/the dosing. He does want to stay at a dose for a period of time....

However, I suspect that after I take one more reading tonight, I'll need to shoot the 1 unit tomorrow morning. I"m learning how the insulin is working w/Curry.

I think my Vet supports shooting the lower numbers, I just have to become more comfortable and determine when I need to stay home or when its OK to go to work. I ended up staying home twice this week for a few hours. I can't do that too often. I've changed my work hours so that I can go in 1 hour later. Start that tomorrow. Then I'll have a couple of opportunities to take BG readings after her shot. Its a balancing act for me. If I didn't worry about going into work and leaving Curry I would feel more comfortable shooting the lower numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top