8/12 Billie PMPS 217 +2.25 149 +3.75 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123359

High flat yellow...I guess she's still bouncing. Hopefully, she'll clear it tonight! She is itching less today, so that's good to see.

I have to work out of town on Thursday and Friday, and I'm debating what to do about Billie. It's only 2 hours away, so I could easily drive back and forth both days, but if I do that, I'd have to shoot two 18 hour cycles in a row. Or, I can take her with me (and Brooklyn too - might as well :lol: ) and stay in a hotel. I'm not sure which will mess with her numbers more - the stress of travel and a hotel stay, or the back to back 18 hour shots.

I had to go to the 18 hour cycle twice in the past couple weeks, and I don't want to keep messing with her depot. Then again, Billie hasn't stayed away from home in 3 years, and she does not like her environment to change - she gets upset if I move the couch to clean behind it. So, it's a toss up. This month has been tricky but after this weekend, we won't have many disruptions, so that is good at least. I only see one night in September when I will have to work something out.

Vines and hugs to all the cats and beans who need them!
 
Re: 8/12 Billie AMPS 298 +3 279

we had a few occasions where there were conflicts with shot time. We called the vet and asked if they had any techs that would come and test, feed and shoot punkin. and feed anya. Got one who'd had a diabetic cat herself and was in vet school. If Billie would be alone after the shot, i'd reduce the dose so she doesn't get too low.

the other possibilities that you mentioned might also work, too.
 
Re: 8/12 Billie PMPS 217

Thanks Julie! That is a good suggestion. I'll see if that's an option.

There is one local pet sitter who caters to "special needs" cats and can give shots, fluids, etc., but I don't trust her. I talked to her back in May after Billie was diagnosed and asked if she had any experience with cats going hypo, and she said there was an incident where a cat she was caring for had a severe symptomatic hypo and almost didn't make it. Her attitude toward that was "maybe I gave too much insulin, maybe I didn't" ...I was not impressed. :roll:

I found some Polysporin today, so we're back in business with an antibiotic ointment that hopefully won't make Billie itchy!

I hope everyone is having a good night.
 
Re: 8/12 Billie PMPS 217

Billie has had some great numbers of late! Sorry to read about the allergies and itching! I had to go back a few condos, looks like your vet suspects a fish allergy or an allergy to the Neosporin? When Marje reported that Gracie was having an allergic reaction to Neosporin, I went to get some Polysporin, and while it seems to be fine for the healing, it lacks the pain relief! :roll:
 
Re: 8/12 Billie PMPS 217

Hopefully Billie will continue to slide down *gently* tonight into blues and maybe even greens. :-D Glad to hear the itchiness is improving.

That's a tough call on the upcoming scheduling conflict. She did great before on the 18 hour schedule, so if you go that route, hopefully, she'll get right back on track again. That's really disturbing about the pet sitter for special needs animals being so nonchalant about having caused a cat to have a symptomatic hypo. Does your vet have any techs that you trust that might be willing to pet sit on the side? That's how we found the two sitters we have used in the past. One was our regular vet tech who is an angel, and the other is actually her cousin who is a tech at the same office who cared for a diabetic cat doing home monitoring as part of her studies in vet tech school.
 
Re: 8/12 Billie PMPS 217

Thanks Ruth and Jen!! I haven't seen a Tiger condo but I hope she is doing well!

I will call the vet tomorrow and see if any of the vet techs might be interested in TFS pet sitting. I like the ones that I have met and would trust them. I also have some family in the area, but they don't have any experience testing and shooting and I know they'd get anxious.

My only concern would be having someone give a shot and leaving Billie alone until around +5 or +6 when I get back. Even with a reduced dose, I'd still be nervous...but that's just my nature. I'll see how her numbers are looking and will figure it out tomorrow.

The nonchalant pet sitter makes me mad every time I think about her... :evil:

Thank you for the help and ideas!!
 
Re: 8/12 Billie PMPS 217 +2.25 149

What about shooting a reduced dose the night before and the morning that you will will be gone? Maybe you could do that and have a tech check on her at +4 or so and feed if necessary?? I know how you feel about being nervous to shoot and leave. Nice clearing of the bounce.
 
Re: 8/12 Billie PMPS 217 +2.25 149

Elise, that's a good idea too. Thanks! I'll look into options tomorrow. I wish I could just ask Billie what her preference would be and have her tell me :lol: I have a feeling that she would not vote for the road trip option, even though I think it sounds like fun.

She is certainly breaking through that bounce now...I wonder how low she is headed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top