8.11 Trouble AMPS 115 PMPS 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie & Trouble

Member Since 2010
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22066

Well, I am confused with the higher amps. I have a few concerns running through my mind...

Is my lantus going bad (I've had it for almost 3 months and am not seeing big drops anymore)?

I am teaching my mother-in-law how to give shots, and she gave a shot last night while I watched.
Did she give a fur shot? (I didn't feel any wet spots or smell anything out of the ordinary)

Did Trouble eat his night time auto-feeder snack later than he should have?

At this point I feel like he is close to another reduction, and I would hate to ruin this if his lantus is going bad. It's been 7 full days on .5u, but I don't know if he is ready to go to .25u because of the more frequent lower blues!

I'll be getting a +6 in 45 minutes.
Any advice would be great!
Thanks!
 
Re: 8.11 Trouble AMPS 115...advice please!

Muffin is doing similar things since I've been lowering her dose, but I think these numbers are still in the normal range. Hopefully someone will answer soon who knows more what they're talking about than I do lol.
 
Re: 8.11 Trouble AMPS 115...advice please!

Hello

I wouldn't panic just yet - this is a nice blue.
And with the possibilities of someone else shooting, and if Trouble ate enough - I don't think your insulin is pooped.
If you can, a couple of spot checks thru this cycle will prob shed some light.

Unfortunately, you may have to catch those dose reductions. If you can't in the daytime, try for the evening cycle.

But see how the day goes either way.
 
Re: 8.11 Trouble AMPS 115, +6 75...advice?

+6= 75

Of course, Trouble would find a little drop on the day I post he never does!

I wonder what I should do about this weekend? My mother-in-law is going to give a pm shot and an am shot starting Saturday night. She hasn't had a lot of luck drawing blood and I told her if she struggles for more than 5-10 minutes just give the shot without a reading. I don't want it to become a negative experience for Trouble. Should I just watch the numbers and hold the dose for the next couple days and post this question Friday morning? Oh, I am panicking...I don't want to rush things or have any setbacks at this point :(
 
Re: 8.11 Trouble AMPS 115, +6 75...advice?

Carrie & Trouble said:
+6= 75

Of course, Trouble would find a little drop on the day I post he never does!

I wonder what I should do about this weekend? My mother-in-law is going to give a pm shot and an am shot starting Saturday night. She hasn't had a lot of luck drawing blood and I told her if she struggles for more than 5-10 minutes just give the shot without a reading. I don't want it to become a negative experience for Trouble.

Should I just watch the numbers and hold the dose for the next couple days and post this question Friday morning? Oh, I am panicking...I don't want to rush things or have any setbacks at this point :(


Yes ask again friday - but we'll see what others suggest up until then too.
+6 is good! :mrgreen:
 
no panic yet... the AMPS numbers are the last ones to settle down.
115 and 110 are nothing to pull your hair out over.... (yeah, I about made the same face as you when someone told me the same thing). Stick to the dose and promote pancreas support for now.

If you lantus is old, you might want to change it. Do you have another cartridge you can start.

Also... if you can get a few more spot checks in the evening, it would be helpful to see whether the blue AMPS is a bounce or if it's just... well blue AMPS. Make sense? Gotta niece or a teenager that stays up all night who could help you? We can also rent out Pat or Ronnie! (Oh, I'm mean, no ice cream for Helene tonight!) :lol:
 
:lol: :lol: Helene!!

Looks great Carrie. See a little blue is fine!

I do think thou - a couple of numbers tonight would be good!

You're leaving Saturday?
Anything could happen between now and then.
:mrgreen:
 
Thanks, I'll get a few checks tonight and stick with the .5u for a while longer.

Also, I use the larger lantus vials. If needed, I will ask vet to write new prescription.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top