8/11 - Tip - ..., PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(132), +4(143)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
8/10condo

AMPS - 422
+6 - 396
PMPS - 286
+2 - 193
+3 - 132
+4 - 143

Yay! :) Very happy to see yellow tonight! I'll be getting a +2 to see where she's heading. Hopefully in a good direction!
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286);

Yay for yellow! :-D That is definitely the trend we want to see, Tip. What's for dinner, Cindy?
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286);

Well, for the cats it's mixed grill and ocean whitefish & Tuna. xp But for the beans? Something simple, mac&cheese, baked beans, salad, and ham. Feelin' a bit like a small thanksgiving night. :)

Tip's also been a bit moody today. Blech. I'm blaming the cray weather. It'll rain real hard for a little then suddenly stop.
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286);

Woah, just tested her for her +2 and she's at 193! Blues! Should I try testing again in a little bit?
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193);

Cindy

Good job getting the +2. Since the +2 is much less than the PMPS, you can expect she might have a more active cycle than the normally active lantus cycle :-D :-D

You can get a +3 and see how fast she is continuing to drop and then go from there.

YAY on the blue!!!
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(

Yep...that's a pretty fast drop.

Are you feeding? If not, I'd give her a couple good tsp of LOW CARB and retest 30 mins after she eats to see if she's slowing down.
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(

I have food out right now, but she ate quite a bit when I gave her her shot. I can try and coax her to eat something with chicken. She almost never turns that down.
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(

Fantastic!Those blues are beautiful! :-D :-D :-D The goal is to feed her a little bit to get the carbs to balance the insulin and have her BG stay at this level or drop slowly (more like 10 to 30 pts per hour rather than 60). Don't feed her too much because you might need her to eat more later and you want her to still be a little hungry. I'd get a +4 too. Great job!!! Dinner sounds yummy.
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(

Yeah, I know big drops are bad, that's what always scared me with humulin. And I got her to eat a little. I'm about ready to go in and remove the food. It's like her stomach suddenly empties when I do that. I can try to get a +4, that's about half an hour from now anyways.

And it was yummy. :)
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(

With Lantus, we try to steer the cycle with food. So we give carbs when the numbers drop quickly or when they get too low (like below 50). You will have to see how Tip reacts to different foods and what she will eat reliably. We have some honey-laced treats that we give Zener when he's too low. He LOVES them and will just about always eat those. They also pop up his BG in a reasonable way too. Other cats might shoot through the roof with those things and it would be too much. Lantus is longer lasting than Humulin and more gentle. As long as you're testing and Tip will eat, you are in control and can keep her safe. You have a hypo kit all prepared? Now's the time to get that ready so it's there if you need it.

:lol: :lol: :lol: : It's like her stomach suddenly empties when I do that.
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(

Thankfully I keep the hypo kit with all of their other medicine in a cabinet. So that's already ready for her. Should find my phone though. I've got the emergency vet numbers and addresses in there. Also in the hypo kit, but it's so much easier to not get lost with the GPS on my phone.

I just tested her a few minutes ago too and she was at 143. And sure enough, she's sitting there waiting for food, even if she just got a little bit half an hour ago :lol: I'll record the number in my SS in a little bit.
 
Re: 8/11 - Tip - AMPS(422), +6(396), PMPS(286), +2(193), +3(

I'm wondering, should I get a +5? I'm about ready to update the 1st post with her +4.
 
You don't have any data on Tip at these numbers on Lantus so a +5 would be helpful. I don't think there is much chance of a hypo, since she came up a bit at +4. Now if she will surf in the blues, that would be perfect. Great cycle!
Liz
 
What a great cycle!!

You should keep in mind that there's a difference between low numbers and a symptomatic hypo. Most of our cats have dipped below 40. In fact, a cat that's a year past diagnosis has to dip below 40 for a reduction. Because we're testing, our cats don't sit in low numbers for long. We steer the numbers with food. It's very rare for a cat following TR to experience a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode if you're testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top