8/11 Taco AMPS 379 Dosing ?

Brandi & Taco

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-taco-amps-182-dosing-advise.233452/#post-2608994

Taco has just been crazy high lately, with the exception of a few random greens or blues.
I posted yesterday about his dose maybe being too high because I've read that multiple times.
Then I came across a comment that Chris Ronkoski left on a Facebook thread today and I'm still wondering.....
"it IS possible that less insulin works better, but without a spreadsheet or a log of some kind, it's hard to know for sure what might be going on. We have seen lots of cats that were on too much insulin and when the dose was decreased, they did better so it's not unheard of. "
Would this be worth exploring? And how would you test this theory? I'm not sure if I messed up at the 5U point. I mean, if I'm totally reading into this wrong then please correct me.
 
Last edited:
Taco has just been crazy high lately, with the exception of a few random greens or blues.
I posted yesterday about his dose maybe being too high because I've read that multiple times.
Then I came across a comment that Chris Ronkoski left on a Facebook thread today and I'm still wondering.....
"it IS possible that less insulin works better, but without a spreadsheet or a log of some kind, it's hard to know for sure what might be going on. We have seen lots of cats that were on too much insulin and when the dose was decreased, they did better so it's not unheard of. "
Would this be worth exploring? And how would you test this theory? I'm not sure if I messed up at the 5U point. I mean, if I'm totally reading into this wrong then please correct me.
Hi Brandi Sorry no one got back to you yet, I'll tag a few experienced members for you ok, by the way Taco is adorable.
Hang on some members don't come on until the evening

@Deb & Wink

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Chris & China (GA)

@tiffmaxee

Hi ladies can you please give Brandi some advice
Thank you
 
Last edited:
"it IS possible that less insulin works better, but without a spreadsheet or a log of some kind, it's hard to know for sure what might be going on. We have seen lots of cats that were on too much insulin and when the dose was decreased, they did better so it's not unheard of. "

This does not pertain to your situation. You started at a reasonable dose and worked your way up slowly. In the case I commented on, we have no idea what dose the cat was on, how increases were made or anything else about what had been going on because she had no spreadsheet or logs to look at.
 
This does not pertain to your situation. You started at a reasonable dose and worked your way up slowly. In the case I commented on, we have no idea what dose the cat was on, how increases were made or anything else about what had been going on because she had no spreadsheet or logs to look at.
Ok, thanks :) That's what I needed to hear I suppose. I was just worried because he seemed to get worse (and stay worse) after I went past 5U. I'll just have to have a bit more patience.

Should I up to 6U tonight? I believe that's what tiffmaxee suggested yesterday. I just can't believe we're up to THIS much insulin. We're going through Lantus like crazy. :( I just want to start seeing some decreases soon. :(

We are feeding Friskies and I'm thinking about switching to FF because of the carb difference. Would that be something that may help?? He eats about 2.5 - 3 cans of Friskies per day. He's about 13 lbs and just always seems hungry.
 
Some people have had better numbers with the FF....I guess it depends on how carb sensitive Taco is. Can't hurt to try it!

Are you adding extra water to his food? Might help "fill him up"....you could also add snacks like baked chicken which is high protein and may help him feel fuller without increasing his BG.

I might hold the 5.75 a couple more cycles....he could be one of those cats that needs a little extra time to clear his bounces.
 
From my view of his SS - it looks like he's still in the bounce - that occurred after he hit those nice rare greens on 8/8.

From my notes I found this information:

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles). Breaking a bounce means that the glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones (all sugars) that were dumped in the blood stream are cleared out (go away). The cat's body no longer sees the situation as an emergency.

It can take several days to clear a bounce. He's not used to those low green numbers, and this is his body responding. If you're on TR, you can increase every 6 cycles until you see better numbers...
 
Some people have had better numbers with the FF....I guess it depends on how carb sensitive Taco is. Can't hurt to try it!

Are you adding extra water to his food? Might help "fill him up"....you could also add snacks like baked chicken which is high protein and may help him feel fuller without increasing his BG.

I might hold the 5.75 a couple more cycles....he could be one of those cats that needs a little extra time to clear his bounces.
Ok, I might try the FF for a week or so and see if that helps. Yes, I do add water to his food a couple of times a day. I've been giving him Methyl B12 because he seems to have slight neuropathy right now so that pill is dissolved in water and added to his food. I'll also try the chicken.
Thanks for your time and advise Chris, I really appreciate it. I'll hold the 5.75 for a tad bit.

From my view of his SS - it looks like he's still in the bounce - that occurred after he hit those nice rare greens on 8/8.

From my notes I found this information:

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles). Breaking a bounce means that the glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones (all sugars) that were dumped in the blood stream are cleared out (go away). The cat's body no longer sees the situation as an emergency.

It can take several days to clear a bounce. He's not used to those low green numbers, and this is his body responding. If you're on TR, you can increase every 6 cycles until you see better numbers...
Thank you!
I guess I'm just frustrated because he was doing SOOO GOOD from 6/23 - 7/16 and then suddenly we're back in reds and pinks. :( I'm disappointed in this setback and so stressed out about it.
 
Back
Top