Re: 8/11 Shadow AMPS 81
Yes, I just received it now, Rhiannon. Thanks. As you know, we prefer to keep dosing discussions in the condos - it helps make sure that any advice given is safe. Here's what you asked:
RHIANNON WROTE:
"Hi Jane, would you look at our ss? I don't know if I should be taking a reduction. I figured out why my numbers were stranger than last reduction. I can't see well enough and have a bubble here or there in the cone that I likely missed."
I'm looking at your SS now, but I'd also like you to add "Dose Question" to your original subject line, ok? That way, more people will know you're looking for some input. (Also, I'm not sure what you mean by bubbles in the cone?)
Be right back.
Jane
Edited to Add: Back now. Looked at your SS. It doesn't look like Shadow is asking for a reduction in an obvious way, to me. Though there are approaches to 50, there are no dips to sub-50 (unless I'm missing something on the SS) so far on this dose. Also, the nadirs on this dose aren't creeping or suddenly dipping lower as far I can see, and I see no typical inverted curves of the type we sometimes see when a cat wants less insulin. So, no, I don't see that Shadow is asking for a reduction. I do see that you're at a week on this dose, so according to protocol, the assessment period of 5-7 days is complete for the current dose, and that justifies at least asking if the dose should be adjusted. Given the few blues we're seeing now, more than on the previous dose, again - I don't see that as a sign for needing a reduction. If anything, I'd try maybe fattening the dose to see if you can get the blue BGs to subside or get another obvious reaction... Let's see what the others think.