8/11 Rooh AMPS 438 +6 93 had a dental today | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

8/11 Rooh AMPS 438 +6 93 had a dental today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmeli

Member since 2014
Rooh got 3 extractions during todays dental. No infections that could be seen but 3 bad teeth. No food since midnight. He sure was hungry this morning it broke my heart to ignore him. I have a few doses of bup left to give him and a 3 pack on onsior for pain. Has anyone used onsior before? Any thoughts on using it? I seem to recall reading at one time that it can have nasty side effects.

His ketones were a bit higher last night as well at 1.1, using the precision xtra blood meter. I am out of strips so I need to get more but I did pick up some Relion ketone strips at Walmart. Does anyone have a link or can you tell me what numbers on the Relion strip to watch out for or will those strips even work at all?

I need to go read up on the depot because I can't fully remember how that works and affects things. We lowered the last 2 shots and will be going back to 1.25 tonight.

Is his 93 BG number at +6 today because the depot drained, lack of food or both?

I hope everyone else is doing well today. I am just thrilled we got through the dental and are back home :)
 
Is his 93 BG number at +6 today because the depot drained, lack of food or both?
The depot would help bring the numbers down, but once it's drained they would usually go up. Lack of food will bring the numbers down, and so would anesthesia.

Sorry, I can't help you on your ketone strips or Onsior questions. Hopefully someone else will come along that can. Why don't you try putting a ? icon on your subject line to draw eyes?

I'm glad Rooh is safely through the procedure and home with you. I know you are, too.
 
The 93 could be from lack of food, but if he just had a dental, it's also possible that it's the anesthesia they used

We've seen lots of times where after a dental/anesthesia, the BG ran lower.....it's something you DO need to keep an eye on

The Relion strips are urine ketone test strips.....you dip one in a fresh urine sample and compare the color to the color on the side of the bottle

Anything over "trace" is an emergency
 
Good new the dental is done! I would definitely use caution on his shot tonight. As Chris said, and depending on what type of anesthesia induction drug the vet used, numbers can tank after a dental. If he's still low or dropping tonight, you might want to consider skipping or just a partial shot.

Is he home yet? I'd just give a tsp of watered down food every 20-30 minutes. Anesthesia can also mess with the GI tract and you don't want him barfing. Seeing him eat will also let you know how willing he'll be to eat tonight. You don't want to shoot, have his numbers come down, and him not be interested in eating because his mouth is sore.

Onsior is an NSAID, only for short term use after operations. There is a paper in the Health Links forum on the 2015 AAHA/AAFP Pain Management Guidelines for Cat and Dogs that mentions Onsior. I stay away from NSAIDs and prefer buprenorphine for pain.
 
Thanks everyone. Yes he is home. He just ate a few licks for me of FF kitten pate. He needs the extra calories. Please tell me if this is high carb. I will do a 1/2 shot tonight if any at all depending on how he is eating. The anesthesia was propofol. He also go a shot of butorfonol and bupivicaine, Penicillin, fluids and a B12 shot. All of the extractions were the lower back teeth. Hmm.. This is his first dental in 15 years. He has been a healthy boy most of his life. Aside from Diabetes he only had a urinary tract infection once and his teeth have been great up until about 2 years ago they started getting grungy. (which is about the time i started syringing miralax. Maybe a connection or maybe just coincidence)

@Wendy&Neko Thanks for the confirmation. That's what i thought. I try to stay away from them too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top