8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253 PMPS 459 +3 361

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76862 was a nerve wracking low day on the road followed by what must have been good numbers late at night.

8/10 Recap:
AMPS 266 +4.5 112 +6 110 +7.5 70 :mrgreen: +8.5 125
PMPS 326 +3 390

But 2 hours before shot time this morning there was a hungry kitty. I didn't test, but should have as the AMPS told me she had gone lower at night again. I chickened out and did a half shot this morning, but what I'm trying to do is follow Julie's guidelines to drain the shed, and then tonight we'll restart that lower dose. We are now in Hermiston, Oregon - just one more day of driving and I don't want to repeat yesterday's panic of no or closed rest stops in the middle of no where in horrible heat and needing to test/carb on the road.

Neko is turning into a champion traveler. The last two days she has used the LB in the morning before we leave (yeah!) so no worries about that on the road. Today she spent a lot of time in the middle of the back seat, and we aimed the AC vents in her direction and she was loving it. As a west coast girl, she doesn't know what AC is so this is a new experience for her. She had retired to the back of the trunk and her wicker basket this afternoon before arrival and didn't want to come up to the back seat so I could put her in her kennel. I had to rattle the food dishes! That worked. :lol: Today I keep telling her, just one more sleep. She is purring on the bed now.

Thinking of lots of other kitties today. We had lunch in Boise and I was thinking of Celi/Binks, later on we passed through Rupert, Idaho which of course has lots of horsies like Pip's place. Tonight we are in Oregon and we are giving a big wave to Julie/Punkin and hoping they can see us! Tomorrow we get to wave to Michelle and Mannie again.

Hey kitties - I saw a great place in Oregon that's got sand dunes right beside a river with lots of fishies in it! It'd be a great place to visit when it cools down a bit. There were piles of birdies there too. A great place for a picnic! ~ Neko
 
Re: 8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253

Neko's numbers look pretty darn good for having to travel!! She's such a trooper and so are you and DH. I'm sure you will be so glad to get home, Wendy.

Continued safe travel wishes!!
 
Re: 8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253

Wow, those are great numbers, especially considering everything. Great job, Neko and Wendy and DH! One more dark then you get to sleep in your own bed. Woohoo! Safe travels tomorrow. Thanks for the update. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253

I know you'll be glad to be home, Wendy, but Neko seems to be doing so well with the travels and is looking good!

Enjoy the rest of your trip and have a wonderful weekend -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253

One more day Neko!!!!!

Isn't the heat down there horrible?!? I'll take my -40 weather over +40 any day, although its been 30 here with close to 100% humidity these last few days, but we know it won't last.

Have a safe last day traveling.
 
Re: 8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253

Have a safe last leg on your journey. It is so great that Neko travels well. :-D oh wow on yesterday. I cannot fathom heat like that, having no facilities and a kitty that needed testing and fuds. I bet you will be so glad to be home....

Neko!! I gots that place in Oregon marked -we will go, for sure! sand dunes, rivers fishies and birdies - :shock: :shock: :shock: We gots to go!!! ok - when you get back! Travel safe, 'k? Watch for me tomorrow - I have my chair and umbrella and a cooler with cold ones. I will be camped out on the side of the freeway - so look for my rainbow umbrella!! I will wave really hard! Mannie
 
Re: 8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253

So glad the travel is going so well for all of you! I know how anxious you must be to get home! But it sounds like a beautiful route you're taking! Love the concept of a nice drive trip like that... not sure my back would be up for it though! 20 hours to my mom's is about as far as I can go - and that's pushing it! But then again, with 2 drivers, it's much easier (most of the time!) ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 Neko AMPS 157 +5 253 PMPS 459

PMPS 459 Ugh! Combination of not enough insulin this morning and Neko's delayed bounce to yesterday's greens. That plus I caught her snacking on the fresh World's Best I just added to the LB. Yumm, fresh corn! Oh well, we are back tomorrow and will get back on track with tomorrow night's dose.

@Marje - all three of us will be so glad to be home. Neko has been having some good numbers in spite of all she has been through.

@Liz - Neko continues to surprise me this trip. Yes, just one more dark and it's sunset already!

@Libby - I've learned a lot about Neko on this trip. Now I'll think about taking her on small trips I would have not considered before.

@Tracy - it's been in the low to high 30's here and this gang are used to low to high 20's which is what the weather is at home now. The little long haired girl found it quite a shock. She kept on wanting to sleep in the back trunk but with no AC going back there, it got really hot. She was panting and I had to put water on her head.

@Michelle - I learned a few more things about traveling with a FD kitty yesterday. And some parts of the States are still pretty desolate. So glad to be back to the PNW.

@Lu - the drive was nice but we were getting tired of golden grassy hills rolling on forever. DH today was commenting that he was dying to drive through trees and we finally got them for the last hour. But we did break it into 3 days, 2 12 hours days would have been too much. And yes on the two drivers, that made it tolerable.

@Mannie - got it, rainbow striped umbrella, I'll be looking for you! ~ Neko
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top