8/11 Max AMPS 127 PMPS 194

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

I'd shoot if you will be there to test. Great number. I'll pop in for at +1.

Hope you got some rest and Emma is better.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

Not rising, but not falling as obviously as yesterday morning. He hasn't eaten for 7 hours though, right?
Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

Thanks, Marje. I did it before it got too late, and I double and triple checked that I got the dose right in the syringe. Wouldn't that be a problem if I got that wrong at this point when it's such a small dose with no real room for error! :roll:
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

Right, Carl, it's been quite a while. Maybe too long, but that's okay. The ants here are horrendous, and they can't get his food if I put a moat of soapy water around his food bowl that is sitting in a pie tin. Then, he drops food into the pie tin creating a drawbridge for them. :?
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

Sleep well Jane. We got dale covered now. Thank you!

Great shooting dale. Yeah. Too much insulin would be bad at this point. See you at 10.... Your +1.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

Dale

I looked a little longer at his SS and I wouldn't be surprised if you see a cycle a lot like yesterday's...perhaps even lower. So it might be a busy testing day. I wonder if he's getting ready for another reduction?
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

His BG is 98 at +1. I don't know how to use this computer I'm on very well. It's new and very different than what I had before - a PC.

EDITED TO ADD: Ok, now I saw Marjorie's post -- oh, yes, I think he'll get a reduction either today or tonight. We will have to think about how much of a reduction. Giving .05 will be easier for me to dose, of course, but whatever is best. I'll need to review some info about how to give 0.25 if that's necessary. I don't think eyeballing it, especially with my poor eyes, will be good enough.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

I'm glad he got a food spike! Way to go Max!

See you at +2. I'd like us to stay on top of his numbers as he onsets.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

All right, I will get his tests on time as a priority this morning. The BBQ has a furry, black tail again today. At least I know where he is. It is going to be very HOT again today. I may take him up to the air conditioned room when he starts to get low so that I don't have a problem with getting him eat if he needs to.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80 +2~110

Plus 2 is 110 after +1 being 98. I have had to switch from the Relion Micro to the Ultima, and the Ultima reads about 8 or 9 points higher. I used the Mirco on the AMPS and the Plus 1. On the Mirco that I have using for several days, this +2 reading would be about 100.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

Oh gosh...I have to do MATH this early on a Saturday????? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sorry....even though Gracie did not do anything spectacular, I was up testing her and Gus got me up every other hour to eat and how can you refuse a 16 year old CKD cat? So I'm dragging today. And to top it off, I got a pedi yesterday and the polish didn't dry and I smudged it and I have to go back and get them to fix it. angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat

So from what I can figure...he's surfing. ;-) ;-) I would just test when he normally onsets and see where he's headed. He may fool us all after all and have a flat day which would be good :-D I have to leave in 45 minutes but shouldn't be gone that long and I know you know how to deal with all this. I'll check in when I get back but you know the drill if he drops.

See you soon!!
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103

Thanks, Rhiannon. Actually, I'm spoiled - a pedi is just a tease. If I can't get a foot rub that lasts at least 1/2 an hour I don't want it. The last time I had a massage was on Mother's Day, but it was a very, very good, long massage, ahhhh, I still remember it fondly. ;-)

We have onset, I think. Can a 7 point dip be onset? I guess it could be just cruisin'. We'll see what the next reading tells us.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94

Yep, onset. Here we go for the next 5 hours. I'M going to get diabetes sitting on this couch near the refrigerator and worrying about Max! :roll:
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94

I think it looks good. All the numbers are within meter variance, so I'd call it a surf so far.

I'm power washing my house.
So far it's been a really fun time!!! Let's see if there's enough power in it to blow me off the ladder. :lol: If you don't hear from me in a hour or so, I'm probably unconscious and flat on my back in the yard...
Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94+4~98

Plus 4 is 98, and Carl wins the prize!!! So, when it is safe for me to enjoy my day, and stop drinking Southern Sweet Tea that I didn't want to indulge with, but I have it because I left my tea steeping so long that unless I put 1/2 bag of sugar in it it is undrinkable! :-Q
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94+4~98

Well, I survived with only one mishap! You know on cartoons where some unsuspecting character is up on an extension ladder, and it suddenly decides to collapse, one rung at a time, and usually their head hits every rung on the way down? Well, just like that. :lol: Except it only slipped three rungs, and stopped just before the ladder crashed through a window. Luckily, my head didn't stop it, but my shin did. However, my house looks purty. :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94+4~98

Perfect cycle for Max and I'm glad that Carl and I were both wrong. But durn!!! I have GOT to get that crystal ball fixed!!

Pedi fixed...the day is saved :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I could use a 90 minute hot stone massage....hmmm..I may have to schedule that in next week when Mike gets home.

CARL!!! That is pure dangerous!! My number one and just about only rule for Mike is NO LADDERS unless I"m here to hold it for him. The possibility of him falling and getting injured nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile and there goes my mani/pedis....JK. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dale....oh man I hear you on the sitting on the couch by the frig. Late nights were a killer for me because I get the snackies. I just had to say NO to late night snacking but it's tough when the frig is calling. And I think you are so justified on the tea being a Southern girl, myself ;-) ;-)

Time for a nap/float in the pool :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94+4~98

max&emmasmommie said:
Plus 4 is 98, and Carl wins the prize!!! So, when it is safe for me to enjoy my day, and stop drinking Southern Sweet Tea that I didn't want to indulge with, but I have it because I left my tea steeping so long that unless I put 1/2 bag of sugar in it it is undrinkable! :-Q

I think you're safe to enjoy your day and maybe check +6? Yum, southern sweet tea! The first time I ever tasted it, I thought I'd gotten a glass of maple syrup by mistake. You could probably save that for a cycle when max goes into the low 40s. It'd probably work as well as karo!

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94+4~98

Bob won't go for help like Lassie would!
Eventually, Bob would look out the window and say "OMG! Who's going to feed us dinner???? DAD, WAKE UP!!!" :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+1~98+2~110+2.75~103+3.25~94+4~98+4.5~11

Carl wrote:
Well, I survived with only one mishap! You know on cartoons where some unsuspecting character is up on an extension ladder, and it suddenly decides to collapse, one rung at a time, and usually their head hits every rung on the way down? Well, just like that. :lol: Except it only slipped three rungs, and stopped just before the ladder crashed through a window. Luckily, my head didn't stop it, but my shin did. However, my house looks purty. :lol:

and Bob gave a look that said, "Whoa! Eh, I can get another one if I have to. Sigh. Maybe the next one won't stab me in the ear every 30 minutes. Man, they are clumsy creatures aren't they? What the H.E. . . was he doing with all that water?! (Shudder.) I kinda like this one, though. I'm glad he's ok. Mmmm, back to sleep . . .zzzzzz."

You see, this is the problem with Do It Yourself home projects - you spend as much as you save when the ladder crashes through the brand new double pane window, and you have yet another medical bill when you have barely recovered from the one you got because you broke your foot installing that lovely double paned window. Ha ha! But we still Do It Ourselves the next time, don't we? Hope springs eternal!

This is a food spike for Max. As hot as it is he ate about 30 minutes ago. It's 94 degrees in the shade.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~134

:shock: :shock: :shock: Oh, no! I double checked this reading - - it was 140 before it was 132. I must have given him a fur shot!!! It was probably on 8/9 in the morning when he fought me as I tried to give the shot or it could have been last night. I really can't tell when I do that now that he's getting so little insulin. Maybe the nadir is all messed because of the shed being different due to the skipped shots? Maybe he's bouncing because he got really low last night in between the +6 and +10 tests?

Well, I'm going out. I need to take advantage of having a break at least.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~134

I think it's just a wonky cycle, Dale. Good idea on taking the opportunity for a break. Enjoy your evening and try to enjoy some "you" time!

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~134+10~132

Thanks, both of you, Carl and Marje. I took a look at his SS, and these 130s aren't that high comparatively; I just got disappointed without thinking about it too much because I thought he would go down in the 40s, and get a reduction tonight.

He's cruising now in the 130s. So, I'll just stick with 0.75 tonight, and wait it out. I'll post before I shoot, but hopefully, I won't need any help getting the courage up to shoot. If I do, I'll put the ? out with PMPS number.

Hope you both had a good day, and I'm glad that Carl survived his cartoon character escapade without more than a shinbone injury! The pedi smudge was much more serious, I know, Marje, and Carl should really stop whining about nearly falling through the glass shards of broken window to his death when someone's pedicure has been smudged beyond recognition, don't ya think?!!!! :lol: ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~134+10~132

LOL, I agree completely.... Pedi's cost $$$! Since my house comes with my job, I wouldn't have had to pay for a new window. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~134+10~132

I so TOTALLY agree!!! But men....anything makes them whine :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: sorry Carl. ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~134+10~132

:lol: You guys kill me . . . ah, well, Dad doesn't quite get the whole timing of food thing yet. Max just ate while I was brushing Emma's 7 and 1/2 teeth, and I interrupted his dinner to get a reading: 138. This is 15 min before shot time. I think it's fine if I shoot 0.75 in a few minutes. I'll post +1 and maybe a +2, but I'm going to bed asap.

Hope you all have a good night.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~10~132+11.75~138

Good call on shooting. This time I'll say that I have no clue what Max will do with it... don't want to guess wrong twice in one day. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~10~132+11.75~138

Max knows....and he's not sharing!!

cat-crystal-ball-tarot-cute.jpg
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~10~132+11.75~138+1.25~154

Pretty high. At least I can sleep. Dad can get the +2. Goodnight all.

Cute pic! Thanks for sharing.
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80

max&emmasmommie said:
The ants here are horrendous, and they can't get his food if I put a moat of soapy water around his food bowl that is sitting in a pie tin. Then, he drops food into the pie tin creating a drawbridge for them. :?

I have luck keeping ants out using a plate of plain water under Vyktor's bowl, the trick it to get the right size and shape of each. A plate that doesn't stick out further than the lip of the bowl will keep the ants out of it - of course they will be busy feeding on the dropped bits which will now be on the floor :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS~80+4.5~112+6.5~10~132+11.75~138

of course they will be busy feeding on the dropped bits which will now be on the floor :lol:

Exactly!!!! I am completely surrounded, and I should probably just put out the white flag now. They come into my house from all four directions.

In California, we have essentially one (non-native) colony of Argentine ants extending from below the U.S. border to as far north as the ants can stand to live. They may live in different anthills even on the same lot, but they do not war with each other. They recognize each other as part of the brotherhood. Workers can enter any anthill, and if their queen is killed they just go to another anthill. Their only natural enemies seem to be spiders. So, I have tons of those.

Thank goodness ants do not usually carry disease because I can't even clean them all up. If I did, that would be all I was doing. I just take away what they were eating, and clean that spot with soap and water. The marching column wanders around for a while confused, and eventually goes back to the hill only to be sent out again in probably less than an hour.
 
Re: 8/11 Max PMPS 138+11.25~131+11.75~117+12~114+12.25~127

Hello all,

I think Max will probably be stable in the 130s at AMPS, but we'll see, won't we?

Edited to add: Sigh, I think he may have eaten within the last couple of hours. I was out, and I didn't pick up his food. Man, this is hard to manage.

I don't want to skip a dose, but I have to go somewhere this morning, and either my husband has to stay home or we need to take Max with us. We can do that. He loves it where we are going as he lived there for about 7 years of his life, but he gets sick in the car. Oh, well.

Edited to add: I waited until +12.25 and shot 0.75. I think he was rising. Hope that was enough from 114 to 127. If not, please tell me. Thanks.
 
Re: 8/11 Max PMPS 138+11.25~131+11.75~117+12~114+12.25~127

Dale,
He was either rising or flat - he wasn't falling, so you should be good.
I think I'd take him along if you can, just so you don't stress about him all day. Sooner or later, he's going to drop down to green-land again,: and it would be better to see that happen than to wonder if it's happening. And that way you can spend the day with the hubby too :-)
Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max PMPS 138+11.25~131+11.75~117+12~114+12.25~127

Thanks, Carl, I thought so, too.

So, a cat can be flat at 131 then 117 then 114 then 127. That's good to know. I don't feel certain that I understand the concept of "meter variance," as used by the beans here, except that the meter is allowed to be off by 20% in either direction. Given that 127 X 0.2 = 25 AND 131 X 0.2 = 26 this means that even if he was at 100 instead of 127, I might get a reading of 127 for that last number. I couldn't be sure he was rising just because I got that 127, but I could be reasonably sure he was flat and stable instead of falling. Sound right? (I'll be leaving here, and get your answer if anyone has one later tonight.)

Sienne, I have Rescue Remedy -- never thought about using it on Max. Thanks! I'll do that.
 
Re: 8/11 Max PMPS 138+11.25~131+11.75~117+12~114+12.25~127

Dale,
I try to not get caught up in the "20%" variance thing. You can drive yourself bonkers. You can push it to extremes, and then you're just manipulating the numbers to get what you want to see. If you need to subtract 20% from one number, and add 20% to the next number to get a number you like? That falls into the "rationalizing" category for me. For instance, if somebody sees a 180 and a 250... you can say "OK, 180 plus 20% is a 216. 250 minus 20% is a 200." You could "conclude" that the number was dropping? No, 180 to 250, I'd have to call a rising number, right?

When I saw all 4 of those numbers, with 114 the lowest, and 131 the highest, what I thought was "okay, what if all four numbers were 120 or so? None of them are far off of that mark. If you take one big drop of blood, and test it twice with the same meter, within seconds of each other, you're going to get a different number on your meter. They'd probably be really close to each other, but the odds that you would get the exact same number on the same drop of blood? Well, the meters cost like ten bucks right? The odds are overwhelmingly against exact results, or duplication.
All 4 tests took place over an hour of real time. Max's BGs are not going to stay exactly the same over the course of an hour. Too many variables. What is going on inside his body, what is going on around him. I think the only time the numbers REALLY matter is when you're in the "dose reduction" range, when he's in the 40s or 50s. But even when you get a 45, then 20 minutes later you get a 51? I'm not calling that a "rise". It's just holding steady. When he hits 70, I'm breathing a sigh of relief, especially when you get another 70 30 minutes later. Does that make any sense?

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Max AMPS 127 +10~200

ALL OF THIS BELONGS ON THE 8/12 CONDO:

Ah, I got the date wrong all day today. That's why it says 8/11 everywhere, and I change the headline to 8/12 just a moment ago.

Max's BG stayed high all day. He did not throw up in the car. I'm so surprised -- not even on the way there. I tried to drive very carefully so as to not jostle him too much.

He seemed to really enjoy being at his old stopping grounds today, but he just hung out on the patio with us. He didn't have any interest in carousing the neighborhood. That is the first place he ever lived when he was just a wee one, and he didn't move away until he was 4. Then, he went back off and on throughout his life, and the last time he lived there was 2011, I think. I don't remember exactly.

I doubt I'll have any trouble shooting tonight, but I do expect his BG to have been elevated by the trip today. So, tonight could be a night of lows. It depends on whether he is stalling out at this dose, or if he will continue his harrowing ride down the mountain.
 
Re: 8/12 (not 8/11) Max AMPS 127 +10~200

When I saw all 4 of those numbers, with 114 the lowest, and 131 the highest, what I thought was "okay, what if all four numbers were 120 or so? None of them are far off of that mark . . . .All 4 tests took place over an hour of real time. Max's BGs are not going to stay exactly the same over the course of an hour. Too many variables. What is going on inside his body, what is going on around him. I think the only time the numbers REALLY matter is when you're in the "dose reduction" range, when he's in the 40s or 50s. But even when you get a 45, then 20 minutes later you get a 51? I'm not calling that a "rise". It's just holding steady. When he hits 70, I'm breathing a sigh of relief, especially when you get another 70 30 minutes later. Does that make any sense?

Yes, Carl, thank you. I feel that to be safe, the numbers matter to me when he's under 100 at shot time. I would rather not shoot a dropping number EXCEPT that if I don't sometimes I will not see any progress. As long as he is asking me when I am going to get out the food, all ready, and stop messing around with meters and cotton, and trying to stab him in the ear, I'm not too scared to shoot what looks like a "dropping" number. The other morning when it was going down, down, down really fast . . . and still dropping at shot time -that is a different story.
 
Re: 8/12 (not 8/11) Max AMPS 127 +10~200 +11.25~209

BELONGS ON 8/12 CONDO:

So, I'm calling it a night. I'm so tired despite a nap today. Hope you are all well, and your kitties are doing well, too. C u tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top