8/11 Lucky PMPS 383, +4 341, +7 367

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/11 Lucky AMPS 406

Hi Lucky's bean, welcome to LL, the greatest place you never wanted to be. Yes, you should increase the dose but I don't like to make specific recommendations. Could you use the ? icon and put "dose question" in the subject line of the original post? That will get the attention of the wise ones who will make a recommendation.

Also, could you update that same subject line with the additional measurements that you've gotten? You've done it in your last post but that doesn't show up on the forum.

One more thing: if you could create a profile here are the instructions, that would be very helpful for the advice givers to quickly see what's going on with Lucky.

You are doing a super job with curve! Give yourself a big pat on the back and lots of skritches to your sweet kitty.
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Re: 8/11 Lucky AMPS 406

It's better if you just open one condo (or thread) for Lucky each day. Then, all the information for Lucky is in one place. It also keeps the board a little cleaner with having fewer messages. So if you could delete the thread that you just opened, and modify the subject line of the very first, original post here, that would be great.

Those numbers are a bit discouraging but they will get better. It will take some time though.
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 Lucky AMPS 406, +2 324, +4 386, +6 380

I'm looking at your SS and condos. Please hang tight for a minute. You have plenty of time :-D

I'll be right back. Thanks for deleting the other condo and updating the subject line on this one.
 
Re: 8/11 Lucky AMPS 406

Jenny...I haven't been on your condos yet so welcome to Lantus Land!!! I see you've been with us a couple days and I'm sorry I've missed you!

Just a little admin first to help us all. We ask that you post a link from the previous day's condo in the current day's condo. The reason is it helps those of us giving dosing advice...especially if we missed a day or two of your condo...to go back quickly and read what was going on and who said what, special factors, etc. I did go back to all your posts (inc Health) and read through them quickly.

Here is your link to yesterday's condo: 8/10 Condo

Here's directions for posting the link:
1. go to previous day's condo and copy link in browser
2. open a "new topic" and put your cursor in the big text box
3. click on the URL box above the text box
4. paste your link in between the boxes so it looks like this: Paste Link Here

If you want to make it fancy, do this:
1. remove the second bracket and put in an =
2. put the second bracket at the end of your link
3. in between the second and third bracket, put whatever title you like....some are like the one above, others are "Yesterday", whatever you like so we know it is the condo from the day before
4. highlight it all and then click on the B in the line above the text box to bold your title. So it looks like this: 7/17 Condo (note: I didn't add the "b" or else it will just bold it and you won't see them anyway) starts working.

Second....you are still using the Alpha Trak? If so, when you do your subject line, it would help for you to add "AT" at the end of the numbers. So it would look like "8/11 Lucky AMPS 406 AT". Also, if you could add it to your signature line in bold letters "Alpha Trak". Why? Because the numbers can differ from an AT and a human glucometer by 30 mg/dl. If I see you have a 60 BG in your subject line and I know you are using an AT, I'm going to be alot more concerned than if you have a 60 BG with a Relion human glucometer.

Third (will the list ever end???), if you could do a Profile for us. It also helps us immensely because we can look at it quickly to remind ourselves of any special issues Lucky may have going on.

It's good you are doing a curve but I have a little bit of a concern about raising the dose. On the surface, it looks like more insulin is needed and that may play out. But without nighttime numbers, we don't know if Lucky is going low at night and bouncing back up during the day. I've seen my own cat, Gracie, (when she was on lantus), and Sienne's cat, Gabby, start in the 300s, be in the 50s or lower by mid cycle, and then be back in the 300s by the next PS. It happens with more frequency than realized.

If Lucky is potentially already getting there but bouncing back up, then raising his dose is not what you want to do at this time. An example....look at the PM cycle of 8/7. He got down into blue...505 to 185; that's a big drop in one cycle and then he popped back up into the 500s the next morning. He bounced from that 185 or possibly a lower number. If you had not gotten that +7 that night, you'd think he was high all the time, right?

I'm just not comfortable suggesting you up a dose without more data especially if Lucky is finished or soon finishing the antibiotic. It would be good if you could note that on the SS....when he gets ABs.

A curve is just one cycle and if he's bouncing from low numbers at night, you aren't getting a good idea of what's going on. What we really need is more data. I'm not saying you need to test test test because I understand you work and so I'm assuming you also need to be sleeping at night. My suggestion is changing his shot time so you can at least get a +2 number before you leave for work and a test as soon as you walk in from work. And likewise, that you are able to get a before bed test at night that is past the PS and then, if you are up early enough to get ready for work, a +10/+11 on the pm cycle (which would be in the morning). These few extra tests will give us alot more info about what Lucky is doing.

Have you decided which protocol you are following because that also lets us know how fast or slow we need to go on dosing? I believe Sienne put that info on your condo...yesterday?

In summary....while he may ultimately need more insulin, right now, I can't suggest it because I don't know what he's doing midcycle. The TR protocol would tell us with nadirs over 300, to increase the dose by .5u but I wouldn't dare suggest that based on one curve when he could be in the middle of a bounce. That could send him plummeting. Safety first :-D

Please let me know if you have questions. I have to go out for a bit but will check back in when I return. Others may also post.
 
Re: 8/11 Lucky AMPS 406, +2 324, +4 386, +6 380, +8 426

Thanks Marjorie

I'm working on the profile. I haven't decided which protocol to follow, I'm just so confused, I just want to do what's safest for Lucky and give him a chance for remission if possible. I'll try to get a test before bed tonight +3 and maybe a +6 or +7 later.
 
Re: 8/11 Lucky AMPS 406, +2 324, +4 386, +6 380, +8 426

I'm my viewpoint, the difference between the TR and SLGS is you increase after 3 days with TR and 5 days with SLGS. You absolutely must get a pre-shot test and a mid-cycle test with either one. The best chance of remission is with TR. And yes, this is all terribly confusing. We've all been through it and are happy to answer your questions so please ask away.

If you are using the AlphaTrak, I will be happy to give you my spiel on the positives of switching to a human meter. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 Lucky PMPS 383, +3 341

Jenny

You can just put the "Using Alpha Trak" in your signature block. Go to User Control Panel and get to the "edit signature". You can put it below his SS link :-D :-D

He's still liking pink today, eh?
 
Re: 8/11 Lucky PMPS 383, +3 341

Thanks for the info about the meter. It will help to remind us if you include it in your subject line as Marje suggested or you can include the info in your signature.

I agree with Liz. The difference between the two protocols is that you hold doses longer with SLGS and doses are reduced at a higher number. Just a bit of history may also help you weigh the factors. Before there was a Tight Regulation Protocol, SLGS was pretty much what everyone did. Cats went into remission. However, it good a great deal longer. Once the TR Protocol was published and used here, there were a few members that opted to try TR. They met a fair amount of resistance since TR is more aggressive about dose. However, the results from the members of German counterpart of this forum who were involved in the testing of the TR Protocol were impressive and their cats thrived. While TR is aggressive, it's safe. It has research data to support its effectiveness which is not something that can be said for SLGS. It's track record for getting cats into remission is impressive.

As long as you are able to get pre-shot tests and get at least some spot checks and you're feeding Lucky a low carb, canned food diet, the TR protocol is feasible for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top