Re: 8/11 Lucky AMPS 406
Jenny...I haven't been on your condos yet so welcome to Lantus Land!!! I see you've been with us a couple days and I'm sorry I've missed you!
Just a little admin first to help us all. We ask that you post a link from the previous day's condo in the current day's condo. The reason is it helps those of us giving dosing advice...especially if we missed a day or two of your condo...to go back quickly and read what was going on and who said what, special factors, etc. I did go back to all your posts (inc Health) and read through them quickly.
Here is your link to yesterday's condo:
8/10 Condo
Here's directions for posting the link:
1. go to previous day's condo and copy link in browser
2. open a "new topic" and put your cursor in the big text box
3. click on the
URL box above the text box
4. paste your link in between the boxes so it looks like this:
Paste Link Here
If you want to make it fancy, do this:
1. remove the second bracket and put in an =
2. put the second bracket at the end of your link
3. in between the second and third bracket, put whatever title you like....some are like the one above, others are "Yesterday", whatever you like so we know it is the condo from the day before
4. highlight it all and then click on the B in the line above the text box to bold your title. So it looks like this:
7/17 Condo (note: I didn't add the "b" or else it will just bold it and you won't see them anyway) starts working.
Second....you are still using the Alpha Trak? If so, when you do your subject line, it would help for you to add "AT" at the end of the numbers. So it would look like "8/11 Lucky AMPS 406 AT". Also, if you could add it to your signature line in bold letters "Alpha Trak". Why? Because the numbers can differ from an AT and a human glucometer by 30 mg/dl. If I see you have a 60 BG in your subject line and I know you are using an AT, I'm going to be alot more concerned than if you have a 60 BG with a Relion human glucometer.
Third (will the list ever end???), if you could do a
Profile for us. It also helps us immensely because we can look at it quickly to remind ourselves of any special issues Lucky may have going on.
It's good you are doing a curve but I have a little bit of a concern about raising the dose. On the surface, it looks like more insulin is needed and that may play out. But without nighttime numbers, we don't know if Lucky is going low at night and bouncing back up during the day. I've seen my own cat, Gracie, (when she was on lantus), and Sienne's cat, Gabby, start in the 300s, be in the 50s or lower by mid cycle, and then be back in the 300s by the next PS. It happens with more frequency than realized.
If Lucky is potentially already getting there but bouncing back up, then raising his dose is not what you want to do at this time. An example....look at the PM cycle of 8/7. He got down into blue...505 to 185; that's a big drop in one cycle and then he popped back up into the 500s the next morning. He bounced from that 185 or possibly a lower number. If you had not gotten that +7 that night, you'd think he was high all the time, right?
I'm just not comfortable suggesting you up a dose without more data especially if Lucky is finished or soon finishing the antibiotic. It would be good if you could note that on the SS....when he gets ABs.
A curve is just one cycle and if he's bouncing from low numbers at night, you aren't getting a good idea of what's going on. What we really need is more data. I'm not saying you need to test test test because I understand you work and so I'm assuming you also need to be sleeping at night. My suggestion is changing his shot time so you can at least get a +2 number before you leave for work and a test as soon as you walk in from work. And likewise, that you are able to get a before bed test at night that is past the PS and then, if you are up early enough to get ready for work, a +10/+11 on the pm cycle (which would be in the morning). These few extra tests will give us alot more info about what Lucky is doing.
Have you decided which protocol you are following because that also lets us know how fast or slow we need to go on dosing? I believe Sienne put that info on your condo...yesterday?
In summary....while he may ultimately need more insulin, right now, I can't suggest it because I don't know what he's doing midcycle. The TR protocol would tell us with nadirs over 300, to increase the dose by .5u but I wouldn't dare suggest that based on one curve when he could be in the middle of a bounce. That could send him plummeting. Safety first
Please let me know if you have questions. I have to go out for a bit but will check back in when I return. Others may also post.