8?11 Izzy +8 58 pmps 103 +2 95

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8?11 Izzy ampa 113

Wow, Janet. What a nice, non-bouncy number to wake up to! Great job managing last night's numbers!
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113

I don't feel like I managed anything :lol: I planned on +6 and + 7 and crashed out. didn't wake up until +9 but since she was at 82 I figured I as good until amps.
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. Reduced to 1.25 u. +2 95, +5 64 +6

Here we go again? 56 at +6....should I feel LC food? or let this ride another 30 minutes?
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. Reduced to 1.25 u. +2 95, +5 64 +6

LC is fine if you want.
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. Reduced to 1.25 u. +2 95, +5 64 +6

I am trying real hard to hold off :) and not influence the numbers. I just retested her and she is still at 56
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56

That works too!
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56

A little LC when a kitty is in the 50s or 60s is fine. Sometimes, it causes the pancreas to produce its own insulin so you do need to re-test. If it's late in the cycle, it could e a surf or numbers may start to rise on their own, like you've already seen. I wouldn't stress over it. Izzy is going to do what Izzy wants to do. You're doing a great job of monitoring and I would just keep doing what you're doing.
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56 +8 58

doing a little rise....mom is being patient cause I really need to know this is an ok cycle since I will not be home all day tomorrow.
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56 +8 58

This is a terrific cycle :-D
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56 +8 58

I need to get her back on track for the work week :( I have no idea how that is going to happen! Since I shot at 8:30 am and she is SUPPOSE to be on a 6:30 am shoot for Monday Morning ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56 +8 58

Janet, what is the latest time you could shoot Monday morning?
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56 +8 58

well if I want to be on work on time...6:30 am. I am suppose to start at 7. Clearly I will be calling in late with a headache :o and getting to work around 8:30 am.

I am thinking I can move her up to 8:pm tonight ( I shot at 8:30 last night and this morning) and 7:45 in the morning? Is that too much of a move? Still doesn't get me close to a 6:30 am shoot for Tuesday morning..gah!
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56 +8 58 pmps

The normal routine for adjusting time is "30 minutes, once per day, or 15 minutes each cycle".

So yes, you can shoot 30 minutes early tonight. (8pm)
And then 15 minutes early in the morning. (7:45am).

If someone else sees this, I have a few questions too.

"An early dose acts like a dose increase"
"A late dose acts like a dose decrease"

I understand that they "act like". What I don't understand is "to what extent"? If I shoot an hour early, how much of an increase does it act like? Can I shoot a little bit less to compensate? I imagine it's going to be an ECID thing. And that the size of the regular dose would play a part in how much to shave off. But is it something that can be (or has been) attempted by people?
 
Re: 8?11 Izzy amps 113. +2 95, +5 64 +6 56 +7 56 +8 58 pmps

Carl & Bob said:
The normal routine for adjusting time is "30 minutes, once per day, or 15 minutes each cycle".

So yes, you can shoot 30 minutes early tonight. (8pm)
And then 15 minutes early in the morning. (7:45am).

If someone else sees this, I have a few questions too.

"An early dose acts like a dose increase"
"A late dose acts like a dose decrease"

I understand that they "act like". What I don't understand is "to what extent"? If I shoot an hour early, how much of an increase does it act like? Can I shoot a little bit less to compensate? I imagine it's going to be an ECID thing. And that the size of the regular dose would play a part in how much to shave off.
for carl:
it's not so much an ECID thing as it is giving consideration to where kitty is at in the general scheme of things as far as treatment goes (still bouncing all over the place, somewhat regulated, tightly regulated), what kind of cycle we're looking at (beginning of a bounce, flat, bounce breaking), the onset and duration of the dose, whether kitty is a certified PADI diver, etc., etc., etc.

those are just a few variables off the top of my head that will affect subsequent cycles when shooting early or shaving the dose. if one does not understand how or why those variables could affect a cycle they probably shouldn't be shooting early on their own.

Carl & Bob said:
But is it something that can be (or has been) attempted by people?
i'm probably the queen of early and late shots. i rarely shoot on a 12/12 schedule any more. the caveat is i do "know my cat", i fully understand the insulin used, i am available to monitor because my office is in my home, and i'm more afraid of high numbers than i am of low numbers given alex's health/medical issues.

check out alex's spreadsheets. for the last year and a half or so i've been marking shot times with +hours. there's nothing magical about the 12th hour. 12/12 schedules are designed for the convenience of the caregiver. lantus and levemir are more flexible than previously thought. having said that, i wouldn't recommend shooting early without the ability to monitor closely until one feels pretty confident in making that choice.

"knowing thy cat" as well as kitty's response to insulin is imperative any time one strays from the norm.


if one has some flexibility in their schedule, shooting an hour or two early is also a great tool for breaking through glucose toxicity or in the case of a kitty who experiences horrific bounces. in these circumstances, i strongly encourage caregivers to seek out the help of an experienced user who is familiar with all aspects of the technique.



ps --- shooting a full dose early usually doesn't work out too well with chronic early divers and the "normal routine" for adjusting shot times is purr-fect for newbies!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top